We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you have a car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Florence Metropole
Ranked #148 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Athens, GA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place if you have a car”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed here six nights and planned visits to small towns such as Scarperia, as well as a few forays into Florence, which we have visited three times before. It is an easy drive to the hotel from the airport and you can park for free if space is available in the forty-fifty space ground level lot (or for 10 euro in the underground lot if not available). Much better than terrible traffic and expensive parking in Florence. The movie mall next door has a fairly good restaurant, Marlborghetto, which charges only 16 euro for a 1.5 pound bistecca Fiorentina and fries.
If you are doing only Florence, forget a car and stay in town, but for car travel and the occasional bus/taxi trip into Florence, this is a good location and a good hotel. The executive lounge has great views of Florence and the Duomo, and a great staff member in Gabirel.

Room Tip: High rooms on the Florence side have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muchoviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment concerning your stay at our Hilton Florence Metropole.
We are pleased to read about our clients satisfaction and good words, cause we always want to guarantee an unforgettable stay in Florence.
Hoping to welcome you again, we send our

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    842
    376
    132
    62
See reviews for
339
846
70
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

As commented on by numerous reviewers, this property is in the middle of nowhere. It's in a charm-free neighborhood. Even though there is a rather large mall next door, the neighborhood is not inviting. It's not bad, it's just blah and industrial looking. You could be in any small city anywhere, not in one of the greatest cities in Europe. Get past this, and you are at a great hotel.

To begin with, the Hilton has a great shuttle service from Florence's SMN train station. The charge for the shuttle service was 1 Euro per person. When we visited in March, the shuttle was right on schedule. The schedule is available on the website. The bus (a small bus holding about 30 people) is clearly marked with the Hilton logo. It comes a few minutes before departure time, and parks at the side of the SMN station. If you exit the station from the main waiting room, you will be at the side of the station (there is a small newspaper shop there). The bus is usually parked in one of the parking spaces across the way. If you miss the bus, the taxi ride during rush hour was about 22 Euros with tip.

The hotel itself is in good condition. It is modern, light, and airy. The room size was average, but by no means claustrophobic. They have the standard mini-bar, tv, etc. It is annoying that in this day and age of technology, we had to purchase internet access. (Yes, it should be free at all hotels, but that's a separate issue.)

The beds were comfortable with good linen. Everything was extremely clean, and the furniture in good condition. The bathrooms (with a separate room for the commode) have those modern frosted glass doors. You and your companions will become much closer after that!

We had room service on a few nights. While the menu is fairly basic, the orders arrived within a reasonable amount of time and were correct. The prices were average for a Hilton property.

Our rate included the breakfast buffet. The breakfast room was fairly large, with lovely lighting. While the hostess was lovely and charming every morning, the servers were not! While not rude, they gave you the distinct impression that you were inconveniencing them by asking for items not on the self-service part of the buffet. (I don't think hot chocolate is a unique luxury item.) I don't expect fawning service; however, I do not expect to be treated as an intruder either. Breakfast itself was the same every day, but it had enough items on the buffet that you will probably be more than satisfied. (Cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, fruits, breads, pastries, VERY runny scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, etc.) You could also order eggs your own way if you don't mind bothering a server.

Outside of the grumpy morning service, service elsewhere in the hotel was outstanding. Reception was very accommodating, and downright charming.

Another warning - there were large tour groups staying at the hotel. The elevators on our departure morning were packed. But, the groups tend to leave really early in the morning - odds are you might miss them. If not, be prepared for slow elevators and a crowded breakfast room. (It did not affect service in the breakfast areas, but it was considerably louder.)

I could imagine staying in this hotel again. Room rates are great for Florence. However, just be aware of the location. If you are coming in the summer months, and you like dipping in and out of your hotel during the day, this is not the hotel for you. If you want to come back after a day of sightseeing, and step out for dinner close to the hotel, this is not the hotel for you. If you want to save money, have a good, clean, modern, comfortable hotel, and you can work around the location via taxi or hotel shuttle, then go for the Hilton. I would find it hard to do otherwise - even though I hate the neighborhood!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIAChels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your very detailed review on Tripadvisor.
Any constructive criticism is always appreciated in order to improve our performances and try to do better and better.

Our complimentary shuttle bus has 29 seats available and offers the free service every hour.
About other inconveniences, we apologize for any issues but you can be sure we always provide a functional service, with a professional and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms as per guest’s expectations.
Hoping to welcome you again in Florence, we send our

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I'm a regular guest at this hotel when travelling on business. The staff are always extremely friendly and welcoming. Last week my wife joined me and had a relaxing week. The shuttle bus to the centre of Florence is very convenient. The rooms are comfortable, many with views of Florence. There's a good selection at breakfast and for dinner in the restaurant. Special thanks to Leonardo, Antonio, Sylvia and Elisabetta for making my stays enjoyable, they are a credit to the hotel. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RugbyMarkandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Manager at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

we sincerly thank you for your good words and your special review about your stay with us!
We work in order to guarantee an unforgettable visit of Florence and a unique experience in Hilton!

We really appreciate your special thanks to the staff!
Hoping to welcome you again,
Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The room was fashionable and clean. I don't know I could say it was functional but I enjoyed the fashionable interior. The free shuttle bus to center of the town was very convenient but it's better to be bus stop early because there might not be enough seats for everyone. Also it’s better to check the timetable when you check in because it didn’t run very often and there was no bus around lunch.
Breakfast was good.
Good parking and easy to get to from the high way.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovedoganddog122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and for pointing out the advantages of staying in an Hilton Hotel.
Hilton Florence Metropole is a good starting point for discovering the beauties of Florence without sacrificing the peace and tranquility!

we hope to see you soon again.

Best regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbertide
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Quiet Hotel! After a day spent walking in Florence is the perfect place where chill out a while before start again a crazy Florence night! All the staff is educated and professional and the rooms are spacious, clean, and with a big bathroom. I come to Florence really often and after several hotels I've found my corner of heaven!
PRICES: The Rooms are not extremely cheap, we've spent 120€ for one night, but with free parking in the hotel's square! If you have a car you have to remember the crazy price of the parking in the center that can arrive to 100-140€ per day!!! So in my opinion for who has a car stay in Hilton Florence it's a good way to save money!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Manager at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for your particular comment and for your good suggestion to Tripadvisor' users: Hilton Florence Metropole has a very convenient parking facilities, appreciated from our guests.
The external parking is an important and complimentary feature and the underground garage, with an extra charge of 10 € per day, is so convenient for everyone.
Don't forget the free shuttle bus from/to the city centre... comfortable and convenient, isn't it?

Thank you again for your good words.
Hoping to welcome you again in Florence,
Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The hotel is located just outside the Florence ( even if it is still Florence it is really the end or subburb). There is autoroute just close to.
But the hotel have the shuttle bus qhich every 30min in fair period goes to the city center.
The wifi is not free but the price was ok.

The breakfast offer was ok but stil egs from powder.

The hotel is quite high building in modern tody style.
I have business room with nice idea of desk behind the king bed.

The batroom ws ok and not to small.

High floor because it is really not noisy from authorute. The windows are soundproof quite

Room Tip: High floor because it is really not noisy from authorute. The windows are soundproof quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ieasabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind comment on the Tripadvisor website.
I am pleased to read that you had a good stay; guest's positive feedback is the aim of our job!
I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Florence Metropole very soon.

Best Regards

Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zychron Yaakov, IL
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

great breakfast, large rooms. A little far from the city even with the shuttle. The service was very good and very nice executive lounge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivette23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all I really thank you for your comment.
We always want to provide an excellent service, with a professional and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms as per guest’s expectations.
Hoping to welcome you again in Florence, we send our

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Starhotels Tuscany
#100 of 412 in Florence
750 reviews
Italiana Hotels Florence
#167 of 412 in Florence
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 412 in Florence
1,046 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 412 in Florence
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Florence Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Florence Metropole

Property: Hilton Florence Metropole
Address: Via del Cavallaccio 36, 50142, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Florence
#87 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#134 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Florence Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Florence Metropole is a contemporary hotel with a strategic location adjacent to all important traffic hubs. It is only 3 km (10 minutes) away from the Florence International Airport and the city business district. Hop on our complimentary shuttle bus from/to the city centre in order to reach in only a few minutes Florence major attractions like the Uffizi Gallery and the Duomo Cathedral. The 15-floors building offers, from the Executive Lounge’s terrace, a breathtaking view of Florence. It has 212 guestrooms - including 32 Executive rooms, 22 deluxe and 4 suites. Each guest room is furnished with a warm, contemporary style; wooden floor and spacious marble bathrooms can ensure maximum comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is provided of complimentary parking facilities: external parking (50 boxes) and covered garege (80 boxes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Florence Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Florence Metropole Hotel Florence
Florence Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing