We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence La Contessina
Ranked #56 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Riga, Latvia
1 review
“Unforgettable hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Location of the Residence is just perfect, appartments are tastfully furnished, personal is very friendly and helpful. But most impressive is warm atmosphere of care for visitors created and maintainted by the family running the Residence. We really hope to visit Florence again and we would stay here without any hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fedor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us following your reacent visit in Florence. We are glad that you fell good with us. We always try to make our guests feel at home and we are happy that we succeeded with you. Thanks again for your lovely words. Sure to see you again in Florence.
Greetings to all and we take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    201
    38
    14
    7
See reviews for
342
224
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We found a great rate through booking.com just before New Years, and decided on a whim to head down to Florence for a couple of nights from Switzerland. This was our 5th visit there, but we hadn't really looked around this part of the city, near the train station. Lots of great restaurants and shops which are cheaper than those close to the crazy part of town. The room was very spacious for all 5 of us, and the beds were generally comfortable. Only a 10 minute walk to the Duomo. The reception was very helpful with finding restaurants and other tourist advice. Breakfast was free--a great deal considering the range of food available. The only downside--the walls are a bit thin and the second night there was a bit of noise coming through the walls up until 1 am.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiefguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us. We are glad to know that you appreciated our services, location and breakfast . We look forward to welcoming you back to the Residence La Contessina on a future visit in Florence.
Best Regards and we take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very welcoming family run hotel with good room facilities,home made delicacies for breakfast and convenient location. A highlight of our a European trip. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We found our self-contained room private and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 234Hampton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on the site for us following your visit in Florence. We are glad to know that you appreciated your stay with us. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our stay was in mid-Oct. driving with another couple. Found hotel on side street off a main street, narrow entryway into courtyard. Nice parking area for car right by hotel. Rooms were small apts., living area with dining table, bath, and sleeping room upstairs, overlooking LR. Kitchen along wall, but costs extra to use stove. We just used refrig./freezer for ice. Outside door, indoor courtyard, with tables/chairs for drinks in evening....also cards. Location of hotel good, walked to museum to see "David", also walked to nearby self service laundry. Owners very helpful with info about restaurants nearby, called taxi when needed. Breakfast was extensive, terrific buffet. Only negative, if you need the bathroom at night, must go down the stairs. be sure to have a good nightlight. A good value for the money. We will return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chsteelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are glad to know that you feel good at the Residence La Contessina and that you appreciated our services. Pending to see you soon by us.
Our Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here because of Interval International. It was the first time we had used our membership. We honestly did not know what to expect. My husband and I stayed for 6 nights. The room was very large for European standards. It was a studio apartment with a kitchenette, living room and bath room downstairs and bedroom upstairs. It was very clean. The shower was adequate. All of the people who worked their (the family that owned the Inn) were all lovely, friendly, and very helpful. Breakfast was included and it was lovely. My husband needed a massage while we were there and they booked one for him - which was very helpful since we speak no Italian. I hope to return to Florence, as I had a wonderful time and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following you stay with us. We are glad to know that you feel good at the Residence La Contessina and that you have appreciated our structure and services. Thanks again for all your lovely words. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back here on a future visit in Florence.
Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We fellt very wellcome and we were impressed from the kindness and the proffessionalism of the personell. The apartment was tastefully furnished and very clean ,the breakfast was covering our expectations. The location of the hotel is perfect only few minutes form the SMN train station very close to all important places. With pleasure we will stay again in the residence la contessina if we will come back to Firenze.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kosta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on the site for us following your reacent visit in Florence. We are glad that you fell good with us. We always try to make our guests feel at home and we are happy that we succeeded with you. Thanks again for your lovely words. It will be a pleasure to have you at the Residence La Contessina one more time.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wonderful complimentary breakfast, free wifi, perfectly located (half a block from major transportation centre)
Also very close to Duomo (10 min walk) and city centre.
Staff is helpful and onsite 24/7.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us following your reacent visit at the Residence La Contessina. We are glad to know that you feel good with us and you eat well at the breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in Florence.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Contessina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Contessina

Property: Residence La Contessina
Address: Via Faenza 71 | From Via Cennini to Via Nazionale, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Florence
#10 Family Hotel in Florence
#11 Business Hotel in Florence
#40 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence La Contessina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aristocratic and Bohemian, classic and comfortable, residence La Contessina is a fresh and dynamic alternative to a hotel for a stay in the old town center of Florence. With an elegant and comfortable assortment of studios and full apartments, residence la Contessina is ideal for a lovely vacation but is also equipped for events and meetings. A multi-purpose hall, services and closeness to the Santa Maria novella train station, the conference center and Fortezza da Basso make residence La Contessina very attractive for family and business stays, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence La Contessina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Contessina Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing