We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Florence with car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence La Contessina
Ranked #81 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 7, 2013

In case you plan to go to Florence with car, it is usually difficult to get a secure parking place. This nice family style hotel offers a hidden yard with a (limited) number of parking places in mid of old town between the cathedral and the conference center, albeit not easy to find in those narrow old streets even with a navi. The appartment-style tall rooms have a kitchenette downstairs, and a double bed on a veanda-style floor above the spacious bath room. Really great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente,
grazie della sua recensione sul TripAdvisor. Per arrivare da noi più facilmente è necessario impostare sul GPS - Via Bernardo Cennini - e alla fine di essa girare a destra.
Sperando che torniate presto a trovarci le porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 832 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here as part of a round the world trip from Aus. Staying for 7 nights (Which after the first day there, we thought would be a big mistake as we were going to run out of things to do, but we were very wrong, seven days had passed and still lots to do)

We had an Apartment for 2 (A Tri level unit, and the internal space is unbelievable for the money compared to all the other countries and cities we have stayed in). We have included lots of photos of our room (Ours was Room 219, which from outside the front steel door gives the impression of a prison cell, but wait till you get inside, it is simply heaven).

The room is roomy.... The staff are so helpful and friendly, and the location is so close to the train station and the major sights (minutes to Duomo, and we went there a couple of times).

The taxi fare to the hotel from Firenze airport is just over 20 Euro, and though they do not tip normally in Italy, we rounded it to 25 on each leg of that trip, and the taxi drivers get very smiley and happy about tips. I was way too scared to hire a car, after seeing the width of the streets, and the way that the locals drive. I think I would need a valium after driving there (Not just because they drive on the wrong side of the road. LOL )

The provided continental breakfast was really not to our liking, as we prefer a cooked breaky (Cold boiled eggs, cold meats, cereal and milk etc..), but as we had a full kitchen in our apartment (which they charge 25 Euro if you use it at all, and for a seven day stay it is well worth the extra money) we made our own breakfast using the provided Gas hob and electric cooker.

We were not fans of the local bread which is made without any salt. That may sound OK, but it was very dry and bland for our taste. But just pop to the local supermarket round the corner (A CONAD supermarket chain store), and they sell what they call "American bread" in packs for about Euro 1.50, both white and wholemeal pre sliced and very soft. Made similar to what you expect in USA or Aus, and they sell butter (Called BURRO) which is also unsalted only. They have a thing about salt.

Anyway, moving on about obsessing about food without salt.

The front of the hotel would be so easy to pass by without seeing it, as they do not have any large hotel sign hanging out the front, but our taxi driver knew the place and got us there in under 15 minutes from the airport. Pictures attached of the front entrance off Via Faenza.

The kitchen has a full fridge with freezer on top (Hides in kitchen units), provided with electric kettle for boiling water, and plenty of cutlery and plates etc..

The double bed was very firm as someone else said, I think it is a firm foam mattress, but we both got a good sleep each night. The bedroom is upstairs, overlooking the living and kitchen, and the bedroom is actually over the roof of your bathroom.

The bathroom has a cosy shower (I banged my elbows lots in it while washing), sink, toilet and a bidet (Never used one of those here in Aus, not sure I want to try, if I could figure out how to use it anyway).

As you enter the unit, there is a cupboard next to the front door, this has a safe and room to put laundry if you want a professional to wash your clothes. (Or you could just use one of the local coin laundries on Via Nazionale, which crosses Via Faenza. They charge about Euro 2.50 for a ten kilo wash).

There is a patio style wooden door/ window to the rear of the unit, which overlooks the parking area of the hotel (Toward the front of the hotel). We made sure we opened this huge window every time we made our Findus Cod fish fingers in our kitchen (From Conad). Wish we could get those Cod fish fingers in Aus...

The WiFi in room was fast for us, and we had no issues listening to "Sydney Zoo" digital radio every day, while there using our tablet (Well, we wanted to bring a little of home with us). No connection drop outs for us, and the fastest connections we had had out of all our hotels.

Anyway, if you are heading to Florence, stay here, you will not be disappointed. And pay to use the kitchen, nothing like making the odd meal here and there that you miss (Though we could have brought some Gravox gravy powder from Aus to make gravy with... We could not find any gravy or cheese sauces at Conads, but may not have been looking hard enough).

If you want to have a little extra fun while in Florence, you will notice lots fo street signs that have been altered to something funny, attached some photos of the work (But still showing same vehicle control sign), the local Police tolerate it as it attracts tourists (Local artist, cannot remember the name of the person, but they have been very busy)

Room Tip: Get an apartment for the extra space (Room 219- room for 2 is great)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark-Andrea-Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente,
la ringraziamo tanto per le sue parole. Che possiamo dire di più, ha fatto una bellissima spiegazione. Vi ricordiamo con simpatia. Sicuri di vedervi nuovamente da noi.
Un caro saluto da tutto lo Staff del Residence La Contessina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The location is unique, we can walk to visit enteire city and also to go to the railway station and to the rental car companies.
The apartment is spacious and confortable and the service was great.
Two years ago we stayed in this hotel and the quality was manteined.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank champangne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013
Google Translation

Caro Ospite,
la ringraziamo del suo commento e siamo contenti che abbia scelto nuovamente il Residence La Contessina per il suo soggiorno a Firenze.
Sarà un piacere riaverla da noi la prossima volta.
Un arrivederci a presto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked a one-apartment - (room 201). It's a big space (contained a double bed, 1 single bed and a double sofa bed). It's clean and well kept. Has a kitchen (25euros per stay to use) and the hotel wifi is free [for 1 login/PC per stay]. Over 100 tv channels [None in English]. Great service [inc. very good dinner recommendations]. Good shower (always hot). Great location. No in room safe/box.

It's a very Continental breakfast - That's fine but we found the coffee very poor (very disappointing when in Italy).

The biggest gripe was the room noise (we could hear everything that is said in the reception area).

Overall worth a stay but bring some ear plugs!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovinTheGoodStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente,
la ringraziamo per averci dedicato il suo tempo e per la parte contenente le belli parole.
Ci dispiace se il suo sonno non è stato dei meglio.
Riguardo alla cassaforte ogni appartamento è dotato di una. Nel 201 c'è.
Riguardo al caffè, è vero che abbiamo una macchina automatica, ma siamo provvisti di bar con macchina da bar per caffè, cappuccini e altro. Un ospite ha la scelta della macchina automatica o del bar, si deve solo chiedere.
Saremo lieti di ri-ospitarla nuovamente da noi facendo tutto il possibile per soddisfare le sue aspettative.
Un cordiale saluto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a unique hotel located close to the main railway station and central to many of the attractions. Also very close to a variety of lovely restaurants. The apartment was spacious, clean and very well set up. The staff were friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. A good breakfast was served daily. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite,
la ringraziamo per averci dedicato il suo tempo. Le sue parole sono un incentivo a fare sempre meglio. Ci sta a cuore la soddisfazione dei nostri clienti. Sperando di averla in futuro come nostro ospite.
Un cordiale saluto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and found this hotel very pleasant, spacious and clean. The settings were better than some photos's we had seen online. It was very central to the train and not that difficult to bet to when you worked out the street numbering (TIP - use the black/white street numbering in Via Faenza for this Hotel and not the terracotta colouring!) All attractions within short walking distances of the hotel. Staff were one of the friendliest and accommodating we have come across in the last 6 weeks.

Breakfast was reasonable and like others we didn't have a need to use the kitchen given the number of restaurants around. We had an early Cinque Terre tour and although after the event the staff let us know that they would prepare breakfast for us if we needed to go out early.

The only criticism we had which we fed back during the stay was that the beds in our room were rock hard and like sleeping on a wood panel - we didn't sleep at all the last night nor did the kids...might be just the luck of the draw but the mattresses and pillows in #212 need replacing as we suggested.

We would stay here again if the bedding is attended to.

Room Tip: Tip 1 - Use black and White street numbering for the hotel on La Faenza! Tip 2 - Room 212 bedding i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjencait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite,
è bello leggere le sue parole, cerchiamo sempre di offrire ai nostri clienti un servizio di qualità facendoli sentire come a casa. Ogni suggerimento è sempre bene accetto.
Nell'attesa di rivederla presto.
Cordiali saluti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The apartment was a good size for a family of four. The room was cleaned very well each day. The location was great with lots of restaurants in close proximity. It was easy walking distance to the sights of Florence. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndrewcHammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite,
la ringraziamo per il suo commento. Siamo contenti che il soggiorno al Residence La Contessina sia stato di suo gradimento. Nell'attesa di rivederla presto.
Cordiali saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#75 of 410 in Florence
1,318 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 410 in Florence
1,078 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 410 in Florence
2,417 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Contessina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Contessina

Address: Via Faenza 71 | From Via Cennini to Via Nazionale, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Florence
#10 Green Hotel in Florence
#11 Business Hotel in Florence
#40 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $90 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence La Contessina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aristocratic and Bohemian, classic and comfortable, residence La Contessina is a fresh and dynamic alternative to a hotel for a stay in the old town center of Florence. With an elegant and comfortable assortment of studios and full apartments, residence la Contessina is ideal for a lovely vacation but is also equipped for events and meetings. A multi-purpose hall, services and closeness to the Santa Maria novella train station, the conference center and Fortezza da Basso make residence La Contessina very attractive for family and business stays, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence La Contessina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Contessina Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing