We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Family Run Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence La Contessina
Ranked #56 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coplay, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Family Run Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed at the Residence La Contessina. The location was extremely convenient to the train station and restaurants. The owner's were very friendly and accommodating. Our second floor apartment was nice but a bit difficult for our family. My husband and I opted for the bed instead of the roll out sofa bed (which was quite uncomfortable) on the second floor, which required us to drag all our luggage up to the loft area. The bathroom was also on the second floor and the shower was difficult to stand up in it with it's slanted location. The breakfast was wonderful and again, the owners went out of their way to give us additional service with beverages and storing our luggage after we checked out. In summary, it still was a good value for the 4 of us with great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barb Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you for your comment. I'm sorry yours was not the best experience in Florence, please visit us again and we will let you try another of our apartments so you can change mind. Thanking again to choose us Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    201
    38
    14
    7
See reviews for
342
224
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently stayed in Florence for four nights and choose Residence La Contessina after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We were thoroughly delighted with this family run business, the very friendly greeting we received when we arrived made us feel very special and had a very homely feel about it. We stayed in one of their one bed apartments which was very spacious, very clean and had everything one needed for a very enjoyable stay. The breakfast was wonderful, with a lot to choose from including beautiful home made cakes. This again had a very homely feel with the family going to extreme lengths to make sure everything was perfect. We would certainly stay here again and highly recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: I think for the little extra, staying in the one bedroom apartments is a home away from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bubbybranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderfull words. we try to do our best to give you the best experience in Florence. Our breakfast's cakes are made with fresh seasonal products (in summer apricot and peach cake). Coming soon at Residence La Contessina new services and beauty treatments . We really appreciate your comment and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our room was enormous, which was just fine with us. The furniture and overall atmosphere of the room was nothing to write home about, but does one come to Florence to sit around in a hotel room? This place is convenient to the train station, and most importantly, the staff are super-friendly, hospitable, and welcoming. My wife and I came late to breakfast one day, and after sharing a good-natured laugh with us about our mistake, two of the staff pulled out some of the breakfast items they had just put away...just for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment our staff loves let you enjoy your stay in Florence. Our room's forniture represent a simply and essential florentine life style, to give you a real florentine life experience as in the past. For a little extra we have deluxe apartments with elegant forniture and paintings by a famous florentine contemporary artist. Thanking for choosing us, hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location! close to S.M.N train station, Duomo, Uffizi and Ponte Vecchino (excuse me for wrong spelling). Many good restaurant down the street! The breakfast included is so good! Staff is super nice and helpful! You can even leave stamped and addressed post card to the staff and they will mail it for you. Room is clean and size is generous in terms of Europe. Will stay with them again next time in Florence!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HLee0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on the site for us. We are thrilled to read that you loved the hotel and the staff. We always try to do the best for our guests, but you encourages us to do even better. Thank you once again for your review and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This small family run hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the train station but on a quiet street with a lovely private courtyard where you can sit and relax after a day of sightseeing. All the staff are friendly and helpful in every way. For the price of a hotel room elsewhere, we had a 3-level apartment on the first floor, facing the courtyard, clean and comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was served in a lovely spacious room and had a good selection of food. It was an easy walk to most of the main sights of Florence, or you could take a bus from the nearby train station. The area around the train station was bustling with people and we never felt in the least uncomfortable walking in the area, which has sometimes been the case in other cities. There are lots of restaurants in all price ranges in the immediate area of the hotel.

We had a wonderful week-long stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Florence - great value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us. We are glad to know that you appreciated our structure. Thanks for the words about breakfast and Staff, read your words is a source of joy for us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Residence La Contessina on a future visit in Florence.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a great week holiday is this very comfortable apartment. As stated time and again the staff are amazing, very warm and friendly, along with the big ginger cat and Achilles the little dog we felt at home. Deborah made me a special coffee every morning, I'm fussy.
We walked everywhere, very easy, restaurants everywhere, I really can't say enough about how lovely it was to stay inMichael Angelo's old neighborhood.
Phillip and Linda (Australia). You will always be welcome in our home as well.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Phillip e Linda,
thank you for your lovely feedback on the site following your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to have guests like you. All the Staff remember of you and Debora send to you a big hug. We are glad that you feel here like in your home. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit.
Warm Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

At the outset, we were very pleased with the warm hospitality of the staff and owners of this family run hotel. It is located a 5 minute walk from the bus and train station. (There are buses every 30 minutes from the bus station to and from the airport).
The apartment has a living room with a well equipped kitchen with a breakfast table, two bedrooms, and a bathroom. It also has a washing machine. Free Wi-Fi in the room was an added bonus.
Sightseeing areas were a few minutes' walk from here, and there are several delightful eating places in the vicinity. Breakfast ( included in the tariff) was more than adequate.
Overall, a very pleasant experience. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rajiv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on the web. We are glad to know that your experience at Residence was lovely. We appreciate all your words. The best thing is to know that our guest have been well. We do hope that it will not be too long before you come back to visit again.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Contessina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Contessina

Property: Residence La Contessina
Address: Via Faenza 71 | From Via Cennini to Via Nazionale, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Florence
#10 Green Hotel in Florence
#11 Business Hotel in Florence
#40 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence La Contessina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aristocratic and Bohemian, classic and comfortable, residence La Contessina is a fresh and dynamic alternative to a hotel for a stay in the old town center of Florence. With an elegant and comfortable assortment of studios and full apartments, residence la Contessina is ideal for a lovely vacation but is also equipped for events and meetings. A multi-purpose hall, services and closeness to the Santa Maria novella train station, the conference center and Fortezza da Basso make residence La Contessina very attractive for family and business stays, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence La Contessina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Contessina Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing