We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic!”
Review of Il Ghiro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Ghiro
Ranked #55 of 317 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed October 21, 2009

What a wonderful place, brilliant location - minutes from the station. Lovely spacious room, clean and comfortable with a lovely view to the hills. A nice touch to have a DVD player as well as the television in the room. A great bonus was access to a kitchen which was brilliant if you fancied a hot drink and cook yoursel, free internet access 24/7 on the reception pc and free wi-fi too. Francesco and Paola were so accommodating.

This was our second visit to Florence and was so good we can't wait to visit again, we will definitely stay here again.

Via Faenza is a perfect location as there are plenty of nice eateries within the street (Trattoria Nerone we tried a few times and loved), the market, bars and plenty of shops and relatively traffic free.

Can't praise it enough, great place, great people, great location. Don't hesitate - stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ispyita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2009

The best things about Il Ghiro were the location, the internet and Francesco who was extremely helpful. However there are 4 flights of stairs with no lift and the place has a really strange smell. The rooms were basic but clean. There is no breakfast provided, just rooms - but considering some other breakfasts we had in Italy it wasn't a bad thing.

Think this may be a little over priced for such basic accommodation but Italy is expensive!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

The Il Ghiro is in an excellent location only a few minutes from the station and all the main attractions with a couple of good restaurants (particularly Lobs Fish) in the same street. The rooms are reasonably furnished and clean, however, I would actually recommend room 1 which has a bathroom shared with 1 other room over room 5 which although en suite is very dark and claustrophobic as it has no proper window. It is also directly off the main office/reception area so very little privacy. Overall though a good hostel giving value for money with no concerns at all about safety/security either within the hostel or the neighbourhood it is located in.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rorycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

It was great located, clean, with atmosphere like at home. Thank for all to F and P, we had a great time! Maria

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianna_wro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The location was the best thing about Il Ghiro. It was just a 5 or so minute walk from the train station, but the street was safe and there were two restaurants nearby which had people eating outside even at 9 or 10 at night. Florence is small, so all the sights are walkable.

The room was simple but clean. I had a little difficulty adjusting the right temperature for a shower but that was probably just me. It was quiet, and the air conditioning was effective. However, don't put luggage underneath it since there was a problem with dripping water from the AC on two occasions.

The staff was nice and accommodating... we weren't able to arrive during office hours, and they helpfully set up a way to let us in with ease.

There was free Wi-Fi, and one computer in the common area that had reliable internet connection.

I would definitely stay here again if I visit Florence in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowerstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Il Ghiro is a backpacker/budget traveler's dream. Very close to SMN train station, walking distance to all sights in Florence, excellent restaurants and markets nearby. Staff is the best----incredibly helpful with everything you could possibly need. It is very quiet all the time, with internet and wifi. Great for the money, you cannot go wrong by staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corndog09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

On a last minute budget trip to Florence, my husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Rather than switch rooms, we stayed both nights in a room with a shared bath. The room was clean and comfortable, the management very helpful, it did still seem much more like a hostel than a hotel. For the price, I can't complain, but be prepared.
The girls in the room down the hall came in quite late, hung out in the common area and the bathroom was down the hall a bit.
The area was perfectly located. We were close to the train station and everything else.
The highlight of our trip was the food, and Florence had the best. And the best of Florence was right down the street. Pizzaria Narone. Try the trio of soups! Yum. We ate there both nights!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Angelica
Hotel Angelica
#230 of 410 in Florence
300 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#166 of 410 in Florence
273 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#32 of 317 in Florence
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Casa Billi
Casa Billi
#103 of 317 in Florence
89 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#17 of 317 in Florence
862 reviews
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#48 of 657 in Florence
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Ghiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Ghiro

Address: Via Faenza 63, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 317 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $48 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Ghiro is a small Guesthouse just two blocks from the Railway Station of Santa Maria Novella and one from S.Lorenzo market , in a quiet pedestrian street.Credit cards accepted , free luggage storage on arrival and departure. Free WI-FI in the rooms and one PC at your disposal in the lounge, 24/7. Kitchen facilities, coffee maker and water kettle included. TV- DVD SAT in every room and air-conditioning in the ensuite rooms. Laundry available. Complimentary coffee & tea . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Il Ghiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ghiro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing