We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it used to be”
Review of Il Ghiro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Ghiro
Ranked #50 of 302 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This B&B is in a great location. The kitchen was nice and the coffee great. However, the internet is only available in the lobby (not in our room), we booked a room with two twin beds and they tried to put a cot into a room with a double bed- that would NOT have worked as there would be no walking room. The three flights of stairs is really 6 in my mind, but Lorna helped us up that last flight. They decided to paint the bathroom while we stayed there, which meant when we wanted to use the only bathroom, they had to remove the painting materials and sweep so we could use the toilet.

We had to ask for clean towels when we wanted them, there were no towels or floor mats in the bathroom - no means to dry hands. Never did find the DVD player or in room hair dryer, but didn't want to ask because the host did not speak much English. When asked where the nearest ATM or bus is, she was not sure. There were many posted notes thanking Francesco for his great hospitality. Unfortunately Francesco left in August of 2013 and we never met Paola, so I think this place lost much of its charm. The doors on the rooms are noisy to shut as well.

This is only the second B&B I've stayed at in Italy. Maybe I was just spoiled by the first one?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    47
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
87
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Il ghiro is only a five minute walk from the station and five minutes from the Duomo. The rooms are cleaned everyday and the kitchen is fully equipped. Francesco is fantastic, he gives great advice and very eager to help! I unfortunately left my jacket in Venice and he made so many phone calls for me to try and get it sent over to England! Due to the amazing service and lovely rooms, Il ghiro feels like a home from home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked a double ensuite. Location is great. Just 5 min walk from the station. And a large supermarket nearby so we made good use of the kitchen! A fully equipped kitchen is important for us coz we're on a budget. Room is large enough for our large suitcases. Everything's clean and bright. Host is nice. In the open area, there is a board covered with many thank you notes from people who stayed here. It's not really cheap but value for the money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ghostofjealousy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I found this hostel very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Comfy beds that were nice after a day walking around the city. Very good service. The rooms were nice, clean and simple. Location was very central. Very affordable great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahGraham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The rooms were very spacious , teh best part was the kitchen where one can have a cup of coffee. Paola was very helpful...she took the trouble for cancelling my reservation for one of the places in Italy. The hotel has all the ameneties like restaurant , grocery shop downstairs and is very near to the railway station

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayur120175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in B&B Il Ghiro for two nights and it was a really nice experience. The room was very nice and cosy, with enough space for our luggage and everything. The whole house was so colorful with a lot of details and it felt just like home. The big bed was just what we needed after a long day trip. The bathroom, which was intended to be shared with one more room (but at that time was only ours), was more than clean. The house is 20 minutes walk from the city centre which was not a problem because the neighbourhood seemed really safe and nice. Our lady host was very helpful, she gave us the city map and pointed all the important things to visit, gave us restaurant recommendations and answered all our questions. When we woke up in the morning, the breakfast was waiting for us in the living room and it was like we were having breakfast at our home. I rememeber a big choice of tea bags in a nice colourful box. And in the end we were sad we had to leave this lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

From booking until departure the host was extremely helpful and friendly. A detailed invoice of payment and an accurate description of how to get there is sent out after booking. Upon arrival Francesco provided us with maps, things to do and recommendations of where to eat. The accommodation is independent meaning someone is not there all the time but they can be easily emailed or contacted if you need them.. not that you likely will. Rooms were a fair size, clean and basic. There is a small kitchen and fridge which is not found in many guest houses. Wifi works well and from in the rooms and there is also a computer available for use 24 hrs if you need it. Il Ghiro was accurately described in the descriptions and nothing was not as described. Free coffee every morning which was a treat and there are plenty of reference books around. The location was tops for us as we were often travelling by train which was only minutes walk away and very close to the center of town and famous sites. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms to chose from I think they are all similar. We had one with the share bathroom (whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamBell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#20 of 302 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
San Lorenzo
Albergo Bencidormi
Albergo Bencidormi
#128 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#25 of 302 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Nuestra
#61 of 302 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#15 of 302 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
San Lorenzo
Bed and Breakfast Locanda di Mosconi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Ghiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Ghiro

Property: Il Ghiro
Address: Via Faenza 63, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 302 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Ghiro is a small Guesthouse just two blocks from the Railway Station of Santa Maria Novella and one from S.Lorenzo market , in a quiet pedestrian street.Credit cards accepted , free luggage storage on arrival and departure. Free WI-FI in the rooms and one PC at your disposal in the lounge, 24/7. Kitchen facilities, coffee maker and water kettle included. TV- DVD SAT in every room and air-conditioning in the ensuite rooms. Laundry available. Complimentary coffee & tea . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Il Ghiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ghiro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing