We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathe of Fresh Air”
Review of Il Ghiro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Ghiro
Ranked #53 of 315 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed June 21, 2011

No joke, this was the best, cleanest, most amazing spot I could have imagined. I have stayed in a few other hostels in Italy and they were disgusting. This place should cost 5x the amount that I paid. The rooms are perfect. You go through a main entrance on a not busy street, then this cute man shows you to your room and gives you a key. The room is clean and completely re-done. The walls are white, the floors and clean and the bathroom is immaculate. I would recommend this to my grandparents if they ever went to Italy let alone ANY of my friends. Please keep this place busy to make sure they are open for the next time I visit. Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Get the new refurbished rooms. AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCarl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 144 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed only two nights but the place it is really nice. The street numbers are a bit odd in Florence with the black numbers referring to Homes and sometimes hotels and the red numbers for shops. In saying that dont trust google maps to pin point number 63 as it places it on the wrong side of the street. Walking down via Nazionale from the train main train station (with train tracks behind you, exit the station on the left hand side) the b&b street is the second street. The maps places number 63 on the right side but it is in fact on the left hand side. 63 is just 50 meters down on the left hand side. The owners are great and very attentive. They were waiting for us while having lunch at a trattoria in view of the building door. We booked a room with private bathroom and toilet and it was fantastic. They actually own a floor with rooms a couple of doors down which was great as they were on the first floor instead of the third floor at n. 63. The place was modern, new and spotless. Free good wi fi. A computer and a kitchen well appointed although we chose to eat out. The room was beautiful ( room 7 ) light blue walls, high ceiling with exposed wood beams. Bathroom, shower and toilet all new. With air conditioning and a small flat screen tv on the wall. Really great value for the price and the central and accessible location. Quiet place but friendly feel. A short walk to the Duomo with plenty of small cute restaurants in the same street. A++++++++++++

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca4121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Il Ghiro for 2 nights while on a whirlwind mini-tour of Europe. We searched in advance for inexpensive, but quality hostels or hotels that would allow us to maximize our stay in each city. Il Ghiro fit the bill perfectly! The atmosphere was bright and friendly, the accommodations were extremely clean... but the LOCATION is what made this place unbeatable. The Il Ghiro "hostel" (i'd liken more to a small hotel) is barely 1 block from the Firenze train station, and within in short walking distance of every major attraction in Florence. Plenty of amazing restaurants and gelaterias are right around the corner. If you're looking for simple and clean inexpensive rooms in the heart of Florence, look no further.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmorta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Staying at Il Ghiro was an absolute treat! They had just finished renovating the new location right next door and we were the first to stay in the "Green Room". The amenities were great and the renovations were done very well. Our room had a private bathroom, queen bed, small flat panel tv with cable, and a large armoir for clothes. Right outside the room was a brand new computer with free internet, a full size kitchen with all utensils, an espresso machine with free coffee pods, and a large flat panel tv on the wall. Free wifi was available, but we couldn't seem to connect with our iPods. I'm guessing this kink has been worked out since we stayed. The owners were extremely nice and helpful during our stay. The location is easy to reach from the train station, and is also very close to the central market. If you stay here, we highly recommend eating at Zaza.

If you're going to stay in Florence and you're looking for an economical/comfortable choice, go with Il Ghiro, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam_reh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Just lovely. Friendly and helpful the moment you cross the threshold into the clean, tidy and extremely home-like environment. It's so infectiously awesome that even the people staying become like the environment itself. Thank you, Il Ghiro. You have made it so much easier for me to fall in love with Firenze!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kopilighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I was upgraded without any additional charge to their new hotel Locanda Bencidormi (2 doors down) because I thought I had booked a double with private bathroom at Il Ghiro. Their new hotel is superb. Nice kitchen with espresso machine (and free coffee and tea), stove, diswasher (no washing machine when I stayed but I think they are thinking of getting one). Free wifi and good computer (no printer). Decent sized rooms and bathroom. Excellent location-pizza joints and gelatarias all around. Less than 5 min walk to the Leather goods stalls, mercato centrale and the Duomo. Above all, I am very grateful to the kind hospitality of Paola & Roberto. If I get a chance to visit Italy again, I will definately stay here.

Room Tip: Ask Roberto for directions to the best gelataria
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelodgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Of all the places I stayed on my european trip, this was the best by far. The staff are wonderful and attended to our every need. The price included a private room with bathroom, free access to internet, kitchen and tea/coffee facilities. The washing machine (also free) was also very welcome after many weeks on the road. Located within walking distance of anything worth seeing in florence, and just a few minutes from the main train station, we couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitzyformoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Angelica
Hotel Angelica
#230 of 410 in Florence
300 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#171 of 410 in Florence
273 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#32 of 315 in Florence
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Casa Billi
Casa Billi
#104 of 315 in Florence
88 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#15 of 315 in Florence
861 reviews
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#49 of 657 in Florence
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Ghiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Ghiro

Address: Via Faenza 63, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 315 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Ghiro is a small Guesthouse just two blocks from the Railway Station of Santa Maria Novella and one from S.Lorenzo market , in a quiet pedestrian street.Credit cards accepted , free luggage storage on arrival and departure. Free WI-FI in the rooms and one PC at your disposal in the lounge, 24/7. Kitchen facilities, coffee maker and water kettle included. TV- DVD SAT in every room and air-conditioning in the ensuite rooms. Laundry available. Complimentary coffee & tea . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Il Ghiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ghiro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing