We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing. Dirty, noisy and, fruit flies everywhere.”
Review of Cimarosa Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cimarosa Harmony
Ranked #71 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I spent three nights here second week of August 2011. While it is affordable, our stay is thankfully over. The bathroom was filthy (mold, mildew and, hair) when we arrived and it is not cleaned by the staff during your stay. The walls are very thin so you get to enjoy the sounds from the other guests in the middle of the night. This morning our room was filled with the smell of cigarette smoke ( windows were closed and the AC was on). Bring your own towels unless you are comfortable drying off with tea towels (that you must wash yourself). We did save money here (159 Euro for three nights) which is key in Firenza. However, I would never stay here again on a return visit.

Room Tip: Dirty, noisy and fruit flies in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stahl_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cimarosaharmony, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Cimarosa Harmony, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

we apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced: you booked a room "low cost level", that does not provide cleaning the room during the stay of three nights, as clearly highlighted in the reservation form. We are very sorry if the solution more economic that you choose did not meet your good rating but please take note of the extremely convenient price of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

For what you pay, it was pretty good. Clean and spacious, private bathroom, working A/C, free wifi, nice outdoor patio area.

It had no character, and the armoire took up waayyyy too much in the bedroom, but it makes no claim to the contrary.

The bothersome thing was the lack of basic kitchen things like nice sized mugs, teapots, or kettles. They had lots of Italian stove-top espresso makers, but nothing for tea. We were only there for one night, so it was no big deal, but if staying for a few days it would've gotten on my nerves. But they made sure someone would be there for check-in and check-out, and we were able to check-in in the morning and not have to pay an extra day.
I would consider staying here for our next visit, but a kettle would close the deal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The room was a very generous size and the hostess was very valuable with knowledge of the city. However cleanliness could have been at a higher standard, for example, there were some fruit flies around the sink and some areas of the room were dusty. There was no full length mirror, which could be bothersome for others. For the cost of one night, it was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasdandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed with two friends for three nights in one room. (we booked late) Stefano was great, very hospitable and provided us with a map and all must see Florence locations. We were able to go to almost all of them during our time there, including his favorite gelato shop- Carabe. Delicious! The room and bathroom were both very clean and inviting. We enjoyed having the shared kitchen and patio space as well as wireless internet. Cimarosa is about a fifteen minute walk to the city center, or you can take a bus. Very easy to get around either way. Definitely check it out if you are looking for a comfortable and affordable place to stay in Florence!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The owner was very welcoming and gave us some great information to make our time in the city enjoyable. He gave us a map and circled the most important things to see and tips on how to get there. He also reccommended where to eat but there is a basic kitchen for guests and a lovely outdoor area to eat in if you would rather chill out. It is a walk from the city centre but my parents and i were fit enough to make the 25 minute journey and it meant we were away form all the hussle and bussle.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimzt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2006

The people that run this guest house are extremely friendly. The rooms have been newly refurbished. The common areas were still under refurbishment when we stayed (but that did not interfere with our comfort or enjoyment at all). The rooms are large and nicely decorated. The ensuite bathrooms are clean and modern. No breakfast is served but there is a small kitchenette available for use by guests (but there are so many inexpensive little coffee bars and cafes in Florence to save you the trouble). It was a little noisy as our room overlooked the street, but I'm sure they would have let us change rooms had we thought to ask. The wooden floorboards and heavy doors mean that you can hear the other guests coming and going, and I would suggest that the management consider making the common area out of bounds after hours (we were disturbed by guests that sat up talking out there late at night). The location is not so great as it is a 10 minute walk from the train station - but there is a bus stop right nearby which has frequent services running until late making it easy to get to and from town.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank matteo964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Uffizi
Uffizi Harmony
Uffizi Harmony
#189 of 662 in Florence
53 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 333 in Florence
2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,960 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cimarosa Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cimarosa Harmony

Address: Via Domenico Cimarosa 16 | Vicini Alla Fortezza Da Basso, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $60 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cimarosa Harmony 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cimarosa Harmony is located in a residential area of Florence, just a short distance from the Florentine historic center, the Fortezza da Basso and Santa Maria Novella central station (1,1 km ).Cimarosa Harmony is the ideal place for holiday or business trip to Florence. Recently refurbished, has five large rooms, ideal also for families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cimarosa Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing