We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Florence Room B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florence Room B&B
Ranked #96 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Florence Room B&B was fairly good. It had an EXCELLENT LOCATION, meaning it was walking distance to all the major attractions. The room was clean and decorated with traditional Italian paintings. When we arrived, we could send our car to a GARAGE.
Though it was not included in the price.The saff were friendly and the room had FREE INTERNET. But the BREAKFAST WAS REALLY BAD, luckily, we had our own food. So i suggest, if you would like a basic, good priced accommodation which is close to everything in Florence, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spatzile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    21
    16
    9
See reviews for
21
52
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

To be fair, this review is of a stay from almost 1 year ago, after reading the more recent ones, I suspect that a few things have changed for the better. But I hope my story will serve as a precaution nonetheless.

Before that, some objective observations: The single room I stayed in was nicely decorated, very clean, the bathroom was also very clean. Yes mosquitoes can be a problem as one reviewer noted, but overall, a really pleasant room that's in a good location. Wasn't served the breakfast so I can't comment on that.

Now the story: I had reserved my room through a hostels booking site. I also emailed Florence Room directly to let them know I had made a reservation just in case (I also did not speak any Italian). When I arrived a stern hostess (who spoke zero English) opened the door and had no idea I made a reservation. She pointed to the computer and said it was not functioning. The price for a single was also different from their listing on the hostel website. I was desperate so I paid. I paid cash and did not get a receipt. Make sure you demand a receipt! The next morning I asked if breakfast was included and the hostess shook her head. A day or two later I changed rooms because I had to extend my stay, this room should have been cheaper because there was no bathroom, but I nonetheless was asked to pay the same price. To make a long story short, I later got in touch with the manager with this complaint, and to my surprise, he said the hostess had explained the room and meal options and prices to me (impossible since she spoke no English and I understood no Italian) and blamed *me* for not taking the room I was 'supposed' to take! The hostess had completely lied about how things had happened.

After reading the information from the manager about their rates and options, I realized that I had been ripped off because I should have received breakfast the first time and the second booking should have been cheaper since I was in a smaller room. I demanded a refund for the amount that I was over charged. Fortunately, the manager believed me and agreed, but it was just horrible to have to go through all this.

BE CAREFUL if you are a female traveler visiting here on your own and do not speak Italian. I suspect this may be one reason why I got ripped off. Like I said at the start of the review, it sounds like things have improved in the past year, but my experience was awful and I personally would strongly advise against staying here.

  • Liked — room furnishings
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi26nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

We paid about 100 Euros a night for our double room. This was relatively cheap compared to other accommodation we looked at in Florence. The location was great, less than 5 minutes from the train station, and a five minutes walk to the centre of the city.

The room was clean, as was the bathroom. The bed however was quite small for 2.

The breakfast is served in your room at the time you request. You get tea or coffee, and a crossaint, crispbreads and biscuits each. It's not the biggest breakfast, but enough to get you through to lunchtime.

The staff spoke good enough English to make our stay easy.

The only downside is the noise. We had a street facing room and the bin lorries came at 5am and made a lot of noise!

I would recommend this B & B if you're on a budget and would stay here again myself (and ask for a non room facing room).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from street
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank christineGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2007

The Soggiorno Berlini in Florence, Italy is located on Via Fiume 1....only a 2 minute walk away from the main train station. It´s a run of the mill hostel, doesn´t offer services apart from lodging and bathroom facilities, but for 17 euros a night and comfortable beds...we were a happy group of four in the large bedroom. The area has many affordable restaurants and fast food places and of course...if your train pulls out at 6 am...you don´t have to get up too early as the hostel is right next door. It´s not luxury, and the bathroom is shared...but we had no complaints as all we wanted was a decent place to repose our weary bodies after hours of sightseeing...We´d stay here again for price value.

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — Lacking in beauty....
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myspurrfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2007

We were supposed to stay at another hotel but it got flooded so we were put up in Florence Room for the same price which was decent.

PROS -
*Very close to the main railway station
*Close to street markets

CONS -
*The reception people spoke no english... wait, i lied.. she could say "No uh ummm speaka uh Inglese" so that made things a little difficult - luckily i speak a bit of Italian so we could communicate a bit. What annoys me is that their website (not that i looked at it til just now - coz why would i before when we weren't even meant to stay there) is in English and says that they speak English - they don't! At all!
*On to the room - Well... the room was TINY, but that's ok - what could be expected.
* There were mosquitos GALORE in our room. It was winter but yet the mozzies came. In the first night we killed 9 mozzies. We had bites all over us. We barely slept because of the mozzies eating at us all night. We had the windows closed so god knows where they came from. The room was EXTREMELY warm - would hate it in summer. I was sleeping in knickers and a singlet in winter.
*There is a cafe or restaurant or something outside the hotel and all we could hear until about 1am was plate banging, hoses on, stuff being thrown on the ground - the restaurant people wash their plates and stuff with a hose in the court yard around midnight - hard to sleep with all the noise.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KTraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2005

Great position near the Santa Maria Novella station, just in the centre of the city and few minutes from the Duomo. Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff, large breakfast.
Very good value as we only paid 70 Euro for a double room in December, no frills but comfortable!

Helpful?
3 Thank LittleOphelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#167 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Angelica
Hotel Angelica
#184 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#270 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#208 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#279 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Room B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Room B&B

Property: Florence Room B&B
Address: Via Fiume 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Florence Room B&B 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Florence Room B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Room Hotel Florence
Florence Room Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing