We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Locanda de' Ciompi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bodoni(Florence)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arizona(Florence)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ariston Hotel(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chiazza(Florence)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveler rating
248
70
7
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
70
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bexcellent hospitalitygelatopastrya wonderful stayspent one nightchange roomsclean towelsnice place to staygrazie millewalking distancestayed for nightsstayed longerbeautiful roomour honeymoonlocation is excellentno lift
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 334 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The hotel is located next to a quiet road where cars are not allowed so rooms were quiet. Location is perfect; not too far from the Duomo but away from big tourist groups. The area seemed to us very safe. Rooms were absolutely adorable and clean. Breakfast was small (but adequate) and tasty, and served directly to rooms. Very friendly staff, they would help you with anything. If ever in Florence again, we would for sure choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jii042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed in room number 2 at Locanda de Compi for five nights in June 2010 and found it to be a very good experience.

After decoding the Florentine street numbering system Fillipo helped us to carry our bags up the the first floor and welcomed us in a very friendly manner including giving us an orientation of the area and recommending some local restaurants.

The room was spotlessly clean and although overlooking the street was quiet due to four layers of double glazing. The bed was very comfortable.

A light breakfast was served in the room. It was perfectly adequate.

The location, slightly to the east of the centre was excellent, with all of the major sites within easy walking distance.

Fillipo, the owner manager was at all times extremely helpful, cheerful and informative.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this small bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

My wife and I spent three nights at this pension and were very happy with every aspect (as mentioned numerous times in other posts): great location just east of tourist areas; very nice spotless room and bath; excellent breakfast delivered in room each morning; superb manager, Filippo, recommended two excellent non-tourist restaurants, was accommodating in every way; close enough for walking to any destination in Florence. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sodalime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

stayed for 4 nights - very peaceful hotel (we were at the back of the building though) on a busy street in the old centre - location was really excellent - a few minutes walk from the main sites. Rooms are nice and large and the bathroom too. The Wifi is free and the hotel owner helpful and friendly; the only minor grouse is that there is no breakfast room so you have to place your order the day before and with a set time to eat it in your room on a small desk.

But overall, the price is very good for such a location and service.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NondaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stayed three nights at Locanda de' Ciompi in May 2010, and found it to be comfortable, friendly, and perfect for our needs. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, the bedroom was of adequate size (not huge, but this is a B&B in a very old European city), and there were (openable) double windows to keep out any street noise. Complimentary wifi was available.

Breakfast is brought to your room at a time of your choosing each morning - you simply let the manager (Filippo) know the night before what you would like and when. As other reviewers have noted, Filippo is very friendly and helpful, speaks excellent English, and provides a pocket map with an explanation of the key sights on arrival. He also gave us a couple of excellent, non-touristy restaurant recommendations.

Located just North of the Santa Croce area, I thought this was a great area to stay in central Florence - just 10-15 mins walk from pretty much anywhere and yet just slightly away from the main tour-group-crammed areas. Walking slightly further East we found a couple of great bars that were affordable and popular with locals.

Overall we greatly enjoyed our stay at Locanda de Ciompi, and I felt it represented good value for what it was; I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich_coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews