We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, warm welcome to Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Locanda de' Ciompi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Locanda de' Ciompi
Ranked #43 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
1 review
“Lovely, warm welcome to Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We enjoyed Alessio's Locanda as bookends to our trip to Italy, which began and ended in Florence. He gave us a warm welcome, helped with recommendations, maps, taxis, etc., and made us feel very much at home--we felt grateful to have him as our host. The rooms (we stayed in two) were clean, pretty, and comfortable, with a nice bathroom, small refrigerator, and decent AC (in very hot July). Though the neighborhood stayed active late into the night, the double-layered windows kept out the conversation from the street below. It's located on a pedestrian-only street, with a piazza just across, a sidewalk cafe a few doors down (with free breakfast for guests), and nearby amenities that include a large grocery, pharmacy, and ATM. It's a 5- to 10-min walk to the Duomo and museums(west), to the Arno River (south), or to a newer part of town (east), and we felt safe at all times of the day. By cab, 5-10 minutes from the the major train station (also reachable by a bus that stops nearby), or 10-15 minutes from the airport. We hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    63
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
190
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Alessio and co. made our stay in Florence very enjoyable. The apartment was tastefully decorated, very clean, in a fantastic area ( about 100 meters away from the start of the tourist crush and very quiet), and the service was impeccable. Will return if we visit Florence again.
Apparently the old management turned some people off, but with the new management, I couldnt find one thing to complain about. Beautifull rooms.
Also downstairs is the #1 rated gelato place in florence, do not miss it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucanusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was put off by some of the negative reviews for this b and b-- but have come to realize that they are under new managment and that makes all of the difference. A charming b and b in a less touristy neighborhood with super clean comfortable bed and spacious modern bathroom. The owner, Alessio, was very nice and extremely helpful. There is a wonderful Sunday morning market in the square across the street that we really enjoyed. The breakfast at a lovely cafe down the street was nice, with fresh pastries, juice and excellent coffee.

Loved having the mini fridge for fruit and cold beverages. Easy bus connection from Santa Maria Novella. Bottom line, clean, comfy, charming accomodation with friendly owner at a great price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celticmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Alessio was incredibly helpful and went out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed. He even rode his bicycle to meet us upon our 11:30 pm arrival. The room was immaculate, very well-appointed, an extremely good value. Breakfast included large menu at nearby restaurant. Location may not be as good as others but it's just a short walk to the major Firenze sighs. A definitely value, highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely B&B in April 2013 during our honeymoon. It was very clean and the owner was very helpful and kind. The entrance is very non-descript but the address clearly marked. The only problem we had was that we needed to call the owner to come check us in (since it is a B&B and the owner does not live there, there is not a registration desk as you would find in a hotel) and our cell phones were dead. Thankfully the gelato parlor next door rang the owner for us!

The location was on a square where there is an antique market, so it is busy during the weekends, but little traffic noise, as it is on a pedestrian street. All major attractions are within 10-15 minute walk. If I remember correctly, it was about a $20 taxi fare from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed 3 nights in May, 2013 in this quaint B&B and loved it! The owner, Alessio was very kind, charming and helpful with all our needs. The room was very clean, well appointed and cleaned daily. The beds were comfortable and it was very quiet at night. The breakfast served at a local bar just down the street was perfect with outdoor seating to enjoy the local scene. It is located on a charming residential street across from a historical marketplace. The location was perfect, within a short 10-15 minute walk of the Duomo and all the main sights and wonderful restaurants of Florence. Alessio went above and beyond making us feel welcome, and on our last evening in Florence, took us to a great local wine bar, treating us to some good red wine and appetizers. We enjoyed his company and shared many laughs! We absolutely loved Florence and would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced room in a great location!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamawhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
#29 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
#10 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#42 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Il Villino B&B
Residenza Il Villino B&B
#19 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Santa Croce
La Maison du Sage
La Maison du Sage
#8 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda de' Ciompi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda de' Ciompi

Property: Locanda de' Ciompi
Address: Via Pietrapiana 28 | Via Pietrapiana, 28, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Locanda de' Ciompi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda de' Ciompi is the ideal choice for people who want to taste all Tuscan hospitality and live a pleasant, relaxing stay.This cosy B&B offers 5 romantic and comfortable rooms in the historical center of Florence, a few steps away from Santa Croce Cathedral. Its location is very convenient to reach in a few minutes all the main attractions: Uffizi Museum, Bargello, Duomo are less than 10 minutes walk, and the same for the Michelangelo's David at the Accademia Gallery. The main train station is 15 min. Walking.Locanda de Ciompi is situated in the most vibrant area of the city, with a lot of trattorias, genuine Florentine small restaurants and coffee shops. The famous antiques market (Mercatino delle pulci-Fleas Market) is just in front of the B&B, and you can taste the best typical Tuscan products at the Sant'Ambrogio Market, which is just fifty metres from the Locanda.The rooms are all soundproofed and decorated with natural materials, creating a warm and cosy atmosphere. The antique fornitures give a touch of elegance to the spaces.The young owner Lisa and father Alessio will be more than happy to offer a free reservation service for museums, theatres, and his suggestions about the best and more convenient restaurants in the city. The Italian breakfast is served at the Caffetteria just in front of the B&B. Free wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda de' Ciompi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda De` Ciompi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing