We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would NOT recommend!!!”
Review of Locanda de' Ciompi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda de' Ciompi
Ranked #34 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Ricardo, the owner, was charming, but he was unavailable most of the time and this B&B did not even meet 2star B&B standard! I would neither return nor recommend this place! Where do I begin?

1. Our standard room was lousy! I am not complaining that it had no scenic view, that it was on the street front side or that the building was old - all of this was totally okay with us, but a 1.2 m [4 ft.] wide old bed for 2 people in a tiny room with no bathroom was not enough for the price we paid!

2. Ricardo, the owner, was not available most of the time. We arrived at 11 a.m. on the first day. No one at the reception, not even at the front door! We had to wait on the street. No board, no message, not even a "post me"-memo saying "I'll be back soon" or "call me on my mobile, my number is...". If it weren't for 2 other guests who gave us Ricardo's mobile number, we could have waited for hours on the street.

3. We called Ricardo, who promised to come in 15 minutes time. He arrived late (only a few minutes), and, the truth be told, gave good advice on restaurants and switched our room with no extra cost (No big deal, since the bigger room was available and the "standard" room was substandard, even for a 2 star B&B). We had some laundry to wash, and told him we will be back in an hour or two, he promised to be in the office, but we was not. We called him on his mobile, again. He told us he went to have lunch (Which is totally okay, people need to eat, but a note would have been great!! I don't think it is appropiate to chase your host all the time!)

This scheme continued for our stay. Unavailibility and unreliablility......

We are not keen on luxury and try to stay at real people's places with a personal and local touch as oppose to multinational hotel chains. We were really diasappointed this time.

This place failed! A charming owner does not equal a good B&B!!!

Room Tip: Forget the standard rooms!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciompi09, Proprietario at Locanda de' Ciompi, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear guest, thank you, first, for time you spended in giving us your opinion about your stay at Locanda de' Ciompi.
We are so sorry about your words, but there are few things I would like to specify:

1) The smallest bed I have at Locanda de Ciompi , the one in your room, is 145 cm. The others are 160 cm.; “The room has no bathroom”: it’s not true. Your room had a private external bathroom, less than 2 meters from your room door.
2) You booked through an important web agency and on your voucher the check-in time was clearly specified: it begins at 12:00am: I was at the supermarket, but no problems for me to make you the favour of coming there at 11:15 (or few minutes late…). If I gave you that room instead of another (you never told me you disliked your room), that’s because (fortunately) I was fully booked in that period.
3) With reference to your kind suggestions regarding my availability, I explained you that I work alone at Locanda de’ Ciompi, but probably a misunderstanding has occurred.. I accept your advise: next time, I will leave a big paper at the front door…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 315 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed at the Locanda de' Ciompi in June of this year and very much enjoyed our stay. Riccardo, who I believe is the owner, was very friendly and helpful with finding different museums and restaurants. The B&B is in a great, active location but is still quiet when you want to go to sleep at night. The only complaint I might have (and this is nitpicking) is that we had to get our breakfast at a bakery down the street since the person who usually did it was out sick for the week. Other than that, we had a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for room 2 since it has a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeB-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was a great place to stay, no more than 10 minutes walk from everything. Riccardo really helpful and recommended his fave place to eat PEPO. we eat there on the first night and although good we found better places to eat.
Hotel booked our reservation at Galleria accademy which costs 15 euros each but is well worth the extra 4 euros to save time queuing.

expect to pay 6 to 7 euros for a larger and 5 euros for a glass of wine. found a great little bar at san lorenzo called the fish bar (close to Pepo) which did a happy hour from 4 till 9pm, so you can get a larger for 4 euros (not exactly a bargain but good value for Florence)
wonderful city really worth visiting hope to visit again sometime and would defo stay here again..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Ricchardo was wonderful. At check-in, he sat down with us and asked us what we wanted to do, where we wanted to go, and what we wanted to eat; then, he marked a map that we used almost exclusively. He also gave us suggestions for restaurants (his favorite was Pepo and we loved it, too) and Florentine dishes (such as Ribolitta and trippa) that we would have been too nervous to try if not for his encouragement.

The location was perfect, we could see the Duomo from our street and everything was in walking distance (supermarket, Billa, one block away).

Room was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom also large with a good shower. Allergy note: There is a strong scent of potpourri when you enter and also a floral scent to the linens. I thought is was nice but those with allergies may want to beware.

Breakfast at La Loggia was excellent. I still long for their cappuccinos and cornettos. Delicious.

Taxi to the locanda was 10 euro from Termini. We did not use public buses (not necessary as everything was so close).

One note: Towels were not changed daily. I'm told this is typical at locandas, but I didn't know at the time and kept dropping them on the floor, then finding them hung up later. I guess I was being a wasteful American.

We chose this locanda because it could accommodate 3 in a room AND because of the great reviews. We were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonjourSGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I booked this b&b without expecting such a nice stay there. Philip is so nice & helpful, even my room was updated to a large one ----- extremely large!!! Nice bathroom, good breakfast.

And cannot forget to mention it's great location, only a few minutes walk to Piazza de Reppublica, and since Firenze is such a concentrated place, so everywhre you could go by walk.

Ask Philip the local restaurants he would give you very good suggestion, nice food with fair price, I love!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed here for almost two weeks and couldn't have asked for any more! The staff were fantastic and Philippe was extremely helpful with directions, bookings for attractions and museums, etc.

The location is great. No more than a 10 minute walk to most of the main attractions such as the Duomo, Michelangelo's David, the Uffizi, shops and restaurants.

Also a very easy walk to the station for any trips outside of Florence.

Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and felt as if we were in a local area with locals! The rooms are simple but, clean and comfortable. Reception was easy and friendly and we were given details of some fantastic places to eat. We walked everywhere easily.

Breakfast is included but, we had to go to a local cafe. We were a little peeved about this at first until we took our token to La Loggia. A fantastic cafe a very short walk with a great atmosphere and full of locals. Choosing from a fantastic array of filled rolls, pastries and cakes. Oh and really good coffee.

Almost over the road is a wondrful little square full of antique stalls. Further down the road was one of the best italian restuarants I've ever eaten in called La Ghiotta.

We were chuffed to not be in the "hotel district" and loved every minute. Great place, people and food. Our airport taxi was arranged too. The hotel is on a street with no cars. Thanks Richardo

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparkxMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Bologna
#153 of 410 in Florence
340 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mia Cara & Spa
Hotel Mia Cara & Spa
#117 of 410 in Florence
478 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#58 of 410 in Florence
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Oblivium
Soggiorno Oblivium
#32 of 659 in Florence
162 reviews
Leone X Guest House
#25 of 659 in Florence
248 reviews
Home in Florence B&B
#78 of 659 in Florence
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda de' Ciompi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda de' Ciompi

Address: Via Pietrapiana 28 | Via Pietrapiana, 28, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $55 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Locanda de' Ciompi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda de' Ciompi is the ideal choice for people who want to taste all Tuscan hospitality and live a pleasant, relaxing stay.This cosy B&B offers 5 romantic and comfortable rooms in the historical center of Florence, a few steps away from Santa Croce Cathedral. Its location is very convenient to reach in a few minutes all the main attractions: Uffizi Museum, Bargello, Duomo are less than 10 minutes walk, and the same for the Michelangelo's David at the Accademia Gallery. The main train station is 15 min. Walking.Locanda de Ciompi is situated in the most vibrant area of the city, with a lot of trattorias, genuine Florentine small restaurants and coffee shops. The famous antiques market (Mercatino delle pulci-Fleas Market) is just in front of the B&B, and you can taste the best typical Tuscan products at the Sant'Ambrogio Market, which is just fifty metres from the Locanda.The rooms are all soundproofed and decorated with natural materials, creating a warm and cosy atmosphere. The antique fornitures give a touch of elegance to the spaces.The young owner Lisa and father Alessio will be more than happy to offer a free reservation service for museums, theatres, and his suggestions about the best and more convenient restaurants in the city. The Italian breakfast is served at the Caffetteria just in front of the B&B. Free wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda de' Ciompi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda De` Ciompi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing