We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a pleasure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Giotto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residenza Giotto
Ranked #143 of 638 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed 5 nights in Florence at this property and were so pleased about the quality of service we received, the central location of the hotel, the expansive Italian breakfast, and the overall value for our money. Silvia and Barbara were exceptionally friendly and helpful; I felt that they were part of our family. I will be recommending this B&B to anyone I know heading to Florence. It was fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyscarbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    94
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
251
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I chose this hotel based upon its location. And it was perfect. Right in the middle of Florence around the corner from the Duomo. The staff was super great, helpful, knowledgeable, and very friendly. I will definitely stay here on my next trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Residenza Giotto for 6 nights at the end of a 1 month visit in Italy. It was a perfect end to the trip. Our windows opened to a view of the Baptistry and Il Duomo. What a site! The B&B is located steps around the corner from the square of Santa Maria dei Fiori. It is minutes away from most anything in central Florence and a 10 minute walk from the train and bus stations.

Barbara and Silvia were absolutely wonderful. They were warm, welcoming and very helpful. They had recommendations for food, sites and other things, and made reservations when needed. The breakfast was not extensive but very adequate. Of course, fresh cappuccino every morning. The room was very clean and quite large. Air conditioning was available, and necessary. The bathroom was small but totally fine.

We highly recommend Residenza Giotto and would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose on of the rooms with a view of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I would say that the location, the terrace and the host Sylvia make this place fabulous! We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip. We arrived late afternoon on a Sunday and Sylvia met us at the b & b. Our luggage did not make the flight and Sylvia was instrumental over our 2 day stay making phone calls and even giving her personal phone number to the airlines to try to track down the luggage. I shudder to think how long it would have taken without her help. Thank you Sylvia(and yes I still have more questions....but now I can directly address them to the airlines!). The location was great--close to the train station and with a fabulous view of the Duomo. We were in a Duomo view room based on tripadvisor recommendations---it was fine...I wouldn't pay extra for that again. The terrace is open if you want to have a view. The breakfast was nothing really to write about....cheese, yogurt, bread, coffee, juice...it was fine. Everything was within walking distance and Sylvia made museum reservations for us in advance so we didn't have to stand in lines. I would definitely stay again and recommend to family/friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WELOVE2TRAVL4FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

As soon as we stepped in the door i realized I had left my passport at the airport...without hesitation Sylvia said she was headed that way and would pick it up for me. She and the rest of the staff were absolutely perfect. If you want a nice place, centrally located, with staff that make your feel like you are staying in their house, and a great breakfast, then this is the place. I had made my reservations well in advance so I got the best room with double doors that open to views of the Duomo and bell tower from our bed. It was perfect. Everything was within easy walking distance. Breakfast on the outside patio was unforgettable. If we go back, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Room with double doors to the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Advantages:
- service by the host, Sylvia, is excellent. If you go and need to make dinner reservations, ask her for her recommendations. We did on both nights of our stay and her choices were outstanding - the sorts of restaurants that local Italians go to with exceptional food, service and value. The sorts of places that aren't even well known on trip advisor! She made the reservations for us happily.
- terrace is great, nice for a drink and breakfast.
- breakfast is great - I had muesli and yogurt and toast, and my husband had a croissant. We both had a cappuccino made by Sylvia.
- location right next to the Duomo and shipping precinct, short walk to the famous bridge.
- rooms are spacious and clean, and bed is comfortable.

Disadvantages:
- slightly noisy with street noise, but didn't keep us from sleeping.
- rooms and bathroom are not modern, but still good value and clean. Has all you need.

In short, I would recommend to a friend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
191 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This b&b is so close to where you need to be, that it is just perfect. The rooms are nice size, firm, comfortable mattress, and decorated beautifully. The breakfast room is small but adequate. The reception people are friendly and helpful. The view from the breakfast room terrance is fabulous.
But bottom line the best thing is the location!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#188 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#184 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Duomo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#128 of 638 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Soggiorno Battistero
Soggiorno Battistero
#118 of 638 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Duomo
Il Salotto di Firenze
Il Salotto di Firenze
#62 of 638 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Duomo
Il Bargello B&B
Il Bargello B&B
#81 of 638 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Giotto

Property: Residenza Giotto
Address: Via Roma 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 638 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Giotto 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n the very heart of Florence... six bedrooms elegantly furnished with genuine and antiques, provided with all comforts and a terrace with a breathless view of the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Residenza Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Giotto Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing