We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Staff, Perfect Location, Great Breakfast,”
Review of Residenza Giotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Giotto
Ranked #133 of 654 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As soon as we stepped in the door i realized I had left my passport at the airport...without hesitation Sylvia said she was headed that way and would pick it up for me. She and the rest of the staff were absolutely perfect. If you want a nice place, centrally located, with staff that make your feel like you are staying in their house, and a great breakfast, then this is the place. I had made my reservations well in advance so I got the best room with double doors that open to views of the Duomo and bell tower from our bed. It was perfect. Everything was within easy walking distance. Breakfast on the outside patio was unforgettable. If we go back, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Room with double doors to the Duomo.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Residenza Giotto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 409 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Advantages:
- service by the host, Sylvia, is excellent. If you go and need to make dinner reservations, ask her for her recommendations. We did on both nights of our stay and her choices were outstanding - the sorts of restaurants that local Italians go to with exceptional food, service and value. The sorts of places that aren't even well known on trip advisor! She made the reservations for us happily.
- terrace is great, nice for a drink and breakfast.
- breakfast is great - I had muesli and yogurt and toast, and my husband had a croissant. We both had a cappuccino made by Sylvia.
- location right next to the Duomo and shipping precinct, short walk to the famous bridge.
- rooms are spacious and clean, and bed is comfortable.

Disadvantages:
- slightly noisy with street noise, but didn't keep us from sleeping.
- rooms and bathroom are not modern, but still good value and clean. Has all you need.

In short, I would recommend to a friend.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This b&b is so close to where you need to be, that it is just perfect. The rooms are nice size, firm, comfortable mattress, and decorated beautifully. The breakfast room is small but adequate. The reception people are friendly and helpful. The view from the breakfast room terrance is fabulous.
But bottom line the best thing is the location!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Sylvia was a lovely and accommodating hostess at this B&B in the heart of Florence. We were less than 20 steps from our front door to the piazza with the Duomo, the Baptistry, the Campanile, and the Duomo Museum (all of which are must-see attractions in Florence.) We walked all over Florence and Residenza Giotto was near to all. The room was small but accommodating, the breakfast was delicious, the cappacinos were great, and the highlight was the balcony where we ate each morning, overlooking the Duomo.

Room Tip: Location and the breakfast on the balcony with a view of the Duomo make this a perfect choice!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drlynn525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Awesome location with wonderful terrace and associated views. Silvia and Barbara were so sweet!! Building has small elevator to avoid stairs hike. Walking distance (15 - 20 minutes) to train and bus stations. Small room and shower but quiet and excellent price. Basic breakfast but did provide a couple gluten free items for my wife.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yoido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to stay in the heart of Florence. The lady who runs it is very helpful and competent. The views from the rooms and terrace are breath taking, and the breakfast served is delicious. Make sure you don't miss out on a cappacino with your breakfast!

1  Thank carrollra17
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#55 of 411 in Florence
879 reviews
Duomo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#222 of 654 in Florence
202 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#162 of 654 in Florence
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Soggiorno Battistero
Soggiorno Battistero
#56 of 654 in Florence
230 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#11 of 654 in Florence
488 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#51 of 654 in Florence
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Giotto

Address: Via Roma 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $111 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza Giotto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n the very heart of Florence... six bedrooms elegantly furnished with genuine and antiques, provided with all comforts and a terrace with a breathless view of the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Residenza Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Giotto Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing