We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, different to being in a hotel”
Review of Residenza Giotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residenza Giotto
Ranked #123 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed at the Residenza Giotto for four nights in May. I found the owners Silvia and Georgio to be very pleasant and helpful. The location was perfect, right next to the Duomo. I had an excellent view from my room as promised.

The only thing to note (not necessarily a compliant) is that it is not quite the same as an hotel. As the name suggests, this is a residence rather than a hotel. They operate on the top floor of a building in which locals live. They do have a older style lift but sometimes i found the stairs quicker and if someone forgets to shut and lock the door, you can get the lift to move. (if you are traveling with someone who has foot and/or knee issues you may want to think about what happens if the lift stops working.

The owners work a normal 9-5 shift and so you have to bring your keys everywhere with you and let yourself into the building, the residence and your hotel room if they have left by the time you return.

I like my room, it was very spacious and comfortable. The value for money on the room (considering the location) was excellent! I did have a bit of an issue with the toilet in my room but the owners were very attentive in getting it fixed as quickly as possible.



It's nice place to stay, just a little different from being in a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 415 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We felt like we stumbled upon a real gem in Florence. The location is excellent.
Rooms are spacious and have A/C! Let owners know your travel itinerary ASAP, so they can be there to let you in to your room. We thought the bells in the morning would bother us, but were actually quite nice.

Room Tip: We had a stunningly great view of Il Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnonUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wow what a fantastic little hotel. Outstanding customer service throughout our stay, perfect room with all the amenities you could ever need including a kettle, tea and coffee. The room was beautifully decorated, spotless and a really good size. Nothing can beat the views from the balcony. We were just amazed at the views and how private the terrace was. Thanks to the bottle opener in the room we sat and enjoyed a peaceful private drink on the terrace at night enjoying the view. The price of the room at 90Euros was incredible. Why stay in an expensive chain hotel with no views when you can stay here!! We couldn't fault the place and would recommend it to anyone. Just PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10AJC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This place is literally on the corner of the Piazza Duomo, next to Gucci. The rooms are beautiful, with antique furniture. And the photos of the view of the Duomo from the breakfast room/ terrace are accurate. The location is perfect for exploring Florence. The owners were really helpful too. The room was bigger and nicer than I had expected for the price. We had room #1, which had a dressing room as well as a good sized bedroom. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here as the Georgio was very helpful upon check-in giving us directions to places to see and restaurants for lunch and dinner. The room was very clean and comfortable. The air conditioner worked well. Very basic but just what we needed -- and at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The view from our room was stunning! the room was large and the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The staff were extremely helpful. I'm not sure what the breakfast was like as we never went. You are so close to the duomo and the bells go off a lot and start early in the morning so you might want to consider this if your not a morning person and want a sleep in. It was quite hard to figure out our way in, thank god for cellphones. I would go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaBraunias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Before starting our trip I contacted the hotel to ask for advice on restaurants and making reservations. They kindly helped with both so I was happy before we got there but oh my were we in for a treat.

Situated next door to and above Gucci the entrance is very impressive with motorised double doors and an exposed elevator which takes you to the fourth floor. We were greated by Georgio who was very nice and provided us with some great information. The rooms are very elegant and clean and far exceeded my expectations for such a great price in an amazing central location.

As you can see from previous posts photos the view from the terrace is very impressive and the photos do not do it justice. Had the best two nights sleep here out of my whole trip. We were on the entrance side of the building and to say it was a Friday and Saturday night it was very quiet. I will definatley be recommending to friends and family.

I do not have one bad thing to say about this place. Its Excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodLoverStead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#228 of 409 in Florence
754 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#187 of 409 in Florence
425 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#60 of 409 in Florence
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,835 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#184 of 659 in Florence
289 reviews
Duomo
Soggiorno Battistero
Soggiorno Battistero
#48 of 659 in Florence
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Giotto

Address: Via Roma 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $98 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza Giotto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n the very heart of Florence... six bedrooms elegantly furnished with genuine and antiques, provided with all comforts and a terrace with a breathless view of the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Giotto Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing