We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Till now the worse place we ever visited”
Review of Abatjour B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abatjour B&B
Ranked #414 of 641 Florence B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Till now the worse place we ever visited”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Looking for the place to sleep in Firenze, we have desided to stop in Abajour `cos of the comfortable position and "good" price. Thiswhat we found was disappointing: broken floor in the room, dirty, quitching bads, unimaginably old and broken furniture in the room, broken roof-windows. We booked B and B, but this what they sell you under the name of the breakfast is really a joke: packed in plastic breads and and marmelades that wait for you in the room already the day befour. We went every morning to buy the breakfast fresh bread and milk, butter and so on, on our own. It is really one of the places where you are happy to go away. although all this negative things, the owner was a nice friendly man, who was all the time happy and ready to help.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    52
    23
    15
    8
See reviews for
20
73
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bursa, Bolu, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Paola is very helpful about explaining the city.

The bed was very uncomfartable. The room smell smoke althouhg I want a non smoking room.

There is no lobby area for sitting and drinking. It can be found 3* Hotels around this hotel's price

Room Tip: Single room is not comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alper A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is walking distance from all the sights in Florence (Duomo, Piazza della Repubblica, Ponte Vecchio). I stayed with a friend and we had a queen size bed (which was 2 twins pushed together) and a twin sized bed. The bathroom was a good size with a good shower. Breakfast was included and was brought to the room the evening before so you did not have to wake up early to make it in time. They provided instant coffee, but since we were in Italy we decided to forgo that. There is a cafe right down the street. The owner, Paolo, was very friendly and helpful with booking tours, etc. There is a computer in the main area that guests can use, as well was free wi-fi. My only issue was that the location was right next to the train tracks so if you slept with the windows open you could hear the trains all night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The receptionist was extremely helpful, gave us a map and told us about the tourist attractions. Our first impression of the room was cosy, yet not like the pictures on the hotel website. As we had time to settle in there were a few things that came to our attention. The tiled floor was worn in one area and cracked, which I noticed when I caught my foot on it. There were several lights that had blown previously and were not replaced during our stay, one of the main ones in the bathroom. The microwave was dirty inside and one of the hob nozzles had been lost making it difficult to use. After spotting these few problems other became more apparent. The bin did not not work. The shower was in the middle of the bathroom, making the whole room a wet room. Which would have worked in a bigger space however when used it soaked everything from the toilet to the washing machine. From the photos I was expecting a neat and well kept room and found myself disappointed. The other rooms were to a higher standard however we were unfortunate not to be in one of them, there for I recommend if you are to stay in this hotel that you request not to be in the attic.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clemerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

A great place to stay in Florence, only 10/15 minutes walk to train station. We were a group of 6 and the three bedrooms were excellent, very clean and with private bathroom. We arrived an hour late to the B&B and the owner was right there to welcome us, he even suggested a very good near by restaurant. The experience to have a place like this made the visit to Florence even more special. Thank you very much Paolo.
Raul

Room Tip: The second room in the aisle left of the office is larger, with a nice extra space with a sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Me and my husband were on vacations in Florence in the middle of August 2012 and had a great time, for which we also give our thanks to hotel Abatjour B&B! It was a really great stay, clean and nice renaissance equipped rooms, breakfast in room (coffee, tea, croissant, bread, marmalade, juice) and we were really happy about air condition in room, considering that the temperatures were really high at that period of our stay.

Especially we would like to thank Mrs Nataša, young lady which work in reception of the Hotel Abatjour, for making our stay comfortable and welcome and also for giving us all the tips what to see, how to get there, where to eat and where to shop!

Thank you once again, we will definitely come back again!

Zdenka & Damir

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zdenka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Staying at Abatjour felt like we were not complete strangers to Florence. Although it was not easy to find and no elevators to the 3rd floor, the personal reception we got from the owner and staff made up for it.
We arrived at the train station at night and couldn't find the bus that would supposedly take us to the abatjour so we took a taxi instead. The owner came on a bike and personally assisted us to our room at the attic, which i think was the only one available for 4 pax. He gave us instructions how to settle our bill in case we didn't see each other anymore, and where we can rent bikes, walk to get transportation, restaurants nearby, etc. We were provided individual snack trays for breakfast the next day. It was nice to be received personally and be given an orientation like that which made me feel confident enough not to get lost. Having something to snack on that night, especially since we came from a long train ride and didn't know our way around yet, was a plus too ;)
If you're looking for a budget accommodation without the frills of room service and other amenities, then this is a good deal ;)

Room Tip: If you have huge luggage, then the attic would be a bit of a walk up. Communication with owner prio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank istop4streetfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 411 in Florence
247 reviews
Ape Rosa Relais
#245 of 641 in Florence
173 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
La Corte dei Principi
La Corte dei Principi
#288 of 641 in Florence
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais Firenze Stibbert
#93 of 641 in Florence
520 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Antiche Armonie B&B
Antiche Armonie B&B
#174 of 641 in Florence
152 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
#388 of 641 in Florence
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abatjour B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abatjour B&B

Property: Abatjour B&B
Address: Viale Dei Cadorna 12, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 641 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abatjour B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abatjour B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing