We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The way to go in Florence”
Review of Palazzo Gamba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Gamba
Ranked #21 of 303 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Asia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The way to go in Florence”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location of the apartments is just perfect - next to the Duomo, centre of town and within walking distance from the railway station. We were there as a family and loved it. The kids had their own room and we had a lovely high ceiling room as a couple. The "living room and kitchen" was fairly large and comfortable. The staff - were very friendly and helpful. Great value for money and an ideal base for a Tuscan visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a two bedroom flat. Go for the high celinged floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much, for your positive rewiew, we hope to see you again in Florence. Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    50
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
146
58
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

On our first night when our hotel had water problems, they booked us here instead. We were scared as to what we would find but were pleasantly surprised and did not want to leave!The hotel is located in the heart of Florence by the Duomo. The rooms were large and charming, and they gave us a free bottle of wine! In addition, the front desk staff were very accommodating and super-friendly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your rewiew, we hope to see you again in Palazzo Gamba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The location of Palazio Gamba couldn't be better. Staying at Palazio Gamba you are at the center of everything. The view of the Duomo outside your window is breath taking. The rooms are spacious, clean and attractive. Marco, the property manager, and his staff are so friendly and helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants were superb. They kept my luggage, found a new room for me when I wanted to visit Tuscany and arrange for a taxi to come in the early hours to take me and my suitcases to the airport. It was like clockwork. I didn't have to worry about anything, but to enjoy the beauty of Florence/Firenzia. Please don't tell anyone about this wonderful jewel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic rewiew, we hope to see you again in Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are stayed in the 5th floor apartment facing the Duomo, and it was absolutely amazing. The view was superb, and we can just sip some coffee while people watching. It was a very nice experience. The apartment itself was also very clean and well decorated. The towels they provided were also of good quality.

Location wise, it was unbeatable. Right at the center of everything. Shops, eateries, souvenirs, Duomo, Baptistry, Campanile.

The staff of the hotel was also friendly, helpful, and spoke english very well. Overall, a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the Duomo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your rewiew, we hope to see you again in Florence at Palazzo Gamba.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Grove, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here with a bunch of friends. The location cannot be beat, right next t Duomo. The kitchens were well stock with pots dishes etc. We were able to get some things for breakfast and the odd lunch very close by at the market. The rooms were quiet and well maintained. It was kind of nice being in a place that has such history and timelessness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you veru much for your rewiew, the word "timelessness" is exatly what a guest needs to be impressed, about his experience in Palazzo Gamba.
We hope to see you next time.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We (wife, 13 year old daughter and myself) stayed at the Palazzo Gamba for 3 nights during August. Based on all the reviews we were really looking forward to our stay and we were not disappointed.
We drove from Rome and had arrange parking for our hire car with Nora via countless email (she was great in answering my MANY questions I emailed her) We were told in her email where to park as due to the central location you cannot park outside the apartments. Nora arranged for the car parking company to send someone to me to hand over the car which although I had to wait over 40mins I accepted that August is a very busy period in Florence.
We were given the Michelangelo suite which was HUGE and had a perfect view of the Duomo and the Baptistery.
During our stay we benefited from the central location and the high quality of these fantastic apartments.
Now for the payoff: As stated the location is both central and comes with one of the best views of Florence. However what comes with this location is that during some nights the noise from the local bars and restaurants was loud until the early hours which did keep my wife awake. I on the other hand was exhausted from the day’s heat (41 deg) and sightseeing so slept like a baby :-)
So is you are a light sleeper just bring some ear plugs and you will be fine. Please don’t let this put you off staying here, just come prepared. As in the daytime you will really benefit from this central location. We enjoyed coming back in the afternoon for a drink and loved opening the huge windows to enjoy the fantastic view and to people watch with the AC blowing on our faces..
Overall we all agreed that the Palazzo Gamba is perfect and would highly recommend it to anyone. Remember that you can’t have a central location with fantastic views and then moan about a little noise from the bars and restaurants that you yourself only hours before were enjoying.
Thanks again Nora for your high standard of service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brummy-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive rewiew. We hope to see you again in Florence.
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in July. Being next to the Duomo which I think is the most beautiful building in Europe was awesome.Only negative was the apartment had a musty smell but we got used to it after the 1st day. Only 5 min from the main trenitalia train station. San Lorenzo market was also a 5 min walk . All the both high end and mid range shops were 15-20 min walk.Luckily we hit the sales and I bought from Luisa Spagnoli (a famous designer-Kate Middleton wears her designs) 3 beautiful leather coats/jackets. 2 of them were marked down from 450 Euro to less than 200 Euro! In Florence, 60-70% of leather goods are fake-tip: read tripadvisor for advice.NOI leather factory 20-30 min walk-supplies some big USA chains.Ponte Vecchio bridge 20-25 min walk.You can see the famous rows and rows of jewellery shops there and please stay and watch the sunset at Ponte Vecchio over the Arno river-breathtaking. there's a great gelato shop near there.Just look for the shop with the most locals lining up.We ate at least 2 gelatos everyday in our 8 days in Italy-especially the fruity ones like mango.Exercising like crazy now we are back in Australia but so worth it! Ask Marco,the concierge, where to eat.He told us about a great little place where the chef comes out and sings Italian songs with gusto.Food was great too.We were lucky that a contemporary dance production was staged free just outside the Duomo the 1st night.Loved it.The apartment has very spacious rooms and 2 bathrooms.The kitchenette had free condiments-oil,salt,etc if you want to cook.Lots of nice little cafes and restaurants nearby.We bought take away lunch and breakfast to eat in the comfortable apartment.Marco was so helpful -telling us what famous florentine dishes to order and even the good shops for clothes.Would stay there again,just to wake up next to the beautiful Duomo and the great location.Marco,you are the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 699Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Mrs Christina,

Thank you very much for this review, we hope to see you next time!

Best Regards
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#54 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Gamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Gamba

Property: Palazzo Gamba
Address: Via De' Martelli 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 303 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Gamba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
His property of luxury apartments and suites boasts an unrivalled and breathtaking location of the Duomo piazza, with Florence Duomo and Brunelleschi's dome almost within a touching distance. Palazzo Gamba offers apartments with view featuring charming Florentine style and all the latest comforts of home and beyond, including extremely clean and well equipped kitchens. Palazzo Gamba is designed to provide all the freedom of a private apartment, the comfort of full hotel services and plenty of space for individual and family vacations or group travellers. Palazzo Gamba apartments are surrounded by Florence's most beautiful attractions, romantic spots like Ponte Vecchio and some of the world's most important museums like the Uffizi Gallery, as well as internationally renowned boutiques, the most refined wine bars, restaurants, clubs and typical outdoor leather and food markets. Classic Apartments, for 2 persons, or Comfort Apartments, for 2-4- personsand Penthouse Suite 6 persons, all consist of a bedroom, a living room with kitchenette and bathroom. Apartments offer: Fully equipped kitchenettes with refrigerator, cooker, oven, microwave and dishwasher. Flat screen satellite TV (International channels available), Free WI-FI internet connection, direct dial telephones, air conditioning and heating, courtesy kit, bed linen and towels, air dryer and safe. Important information: the reception is open solely from 8 a.M. To 7 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Gamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Gamba Florence
Palazzo Gamba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing