We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of everything”
Review of Palazzo Gamba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Gamba
Ranked #22 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in July. Being next to the Duomo which I think is the most beautiful building in Europe was awesome.Only negative was the apartment had a musty smell but we got used to it after the 1st day. Only 5 min from the main trenitalia train station. San Lorenzo market was also a 5 min walk . All the both high end and mid range shops were 15-20 min walk.Luckily we hit the sales and I bought from Luisa Spagnoli (a famous designer-Kate Middleton wears her designs) 3 beautiful leather coats/jackets. 2 of them were marked down from 450 Euro to less than 200 Euro! In Florence, 60-70% of leather goods are fake-tip: read tripadvisor for advice.NOI leather factory 20-30 min walk-supplies some big USA chains.Ponte Vecchio bridge 20-25 min walk.You can see the famous rows and rows of jewellery shops there and please stay and watch the sunset at Ponte Vecchio over the Arno river-breathtaking. there's a great gelato shop near there.Just look for the shop with the most locals lining up.We ate at least 2 gelatos everyday in our 8 days in Italy-especially the fruity ones like mango.Exercising like crazy now we are back in Australia but so worth it! Ask Marco,the concierge, where to eat.He told us about a great little place where the chef comes out and sings Italian songs with gusto.Food was great too.We were lucky that a contemporary dance production was staged free just outside the Duomo the 1st night.Loved it.The apartment has very spacious rooms and 2 bathrooms.The kitchenette had free condiments-oil,salt,etc if you want to cook.Lots of nice little cafes and restaurants nearby.We bought take away lunch and breakfast to eat in the comfortable apartment.Marco was so helpful -telling us what famous florentine dishes to order and even the good shops for clothes.Would stay there again,just to wake up next to the beautiful Duomo and the great location.Marco,you are the best!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 699Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Mrs Christina,

Thank you very much for this review, we hope to see you next time!

Best Regards
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 298 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Palazzo Gamba April 1-4 (Three nights). The hotel is located in the square of Florence and is incredibly close to the Duomo. We had arrived by train, and the hotel is within walking distance of the train station (about a ten minute walk).

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the hotel. For European standards, it is nice to have a spacious living area with a kitchen. The room was also very clean. Because this is an older building, the hotel had to fit an elevator that did not have space for one. With luggage and two people, it was tricky for the both of us to get in the elevator together. The staff is basically one person on the bottom floor to check you in. He was very helpful to us, providing us information on things to do, as well as holding our luggage for the day we checked out and arranging for a taxi to pick us up later in the day.

If there is any downsides (I will be showing my age here), it is that this hotel is in the historic center of Florence whcih appears to be a magnet for College age kids late at night partying. You can also hear the large crowds during the day, but is easy to put up with since the location of this hotel could not be any better for exploring Florence.

All in all, I enjoyed staying at this hotel and would recommend it for people traveling to Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danalxndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again in Florence.

Best Regards
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

There are many good things to say about Palazzo Gamba:
1. Great location--right next to the Duomo and within walking distance of everything.
2. Great views from the windows.
3. Nicely decorated and well kept.
4. Best of all - the staff. They were so helpful, from bringing up our luggage to answering questions and even arranging reservations for museums and tours.
We would certainly stay here again if we ever returned to Florence.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy30736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Mrs Judy,


Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you next time, if you will come back to Florence.

Best Regards
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at this amazing place for two nights and have been babbling about it ever since! Our expectations were high and yet we were overwhelmed by the luxurious feeling and beauty of the apartment (the Donatello suite). Needless to say, the location of Palazzo Gamba couldn't be more perfect and the view from the suite is without comparison.

The staff was so friendly and helpful in every sort of way, making you feel welcome and giving great recommandations for Firenze's sights and restaurants.

The only minor complaint was an ineffective air-conditioning which meant that the nights were quite warm, but we still managed to sleep well.

We recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Firenze - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karinyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Karin,

Thank you very much for your review. We hope that you will come back in Florence and will stay with us.

Best Regards
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at the Palazzo Gamba in June 2012. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom self catering apartment, 'Leonardo', was on the first floor and overlooked the Duomo, about 15 metres away! We walked all over Florence from this central location.
A home away from home with everything you need. The staff, available all day and with an emergency contact at night, were excellent and very helpful-with supermarket locations, laundromat and some excellent restaurant recommendations. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Mrs Sandra,

Thank you very much for your review, we'll be glad to have you again at Palazzo Gamba.

Best Regards
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We are a family of 4, with 2 adults & 2 teenagers, and stayed at Palazzo Gamba on July 10th for 3 nights. What a terrific apartment! Our balcony overlooked the Duomo, which was gorgeous, and the apartment set-up was perfect for our family. The location is ideal, situated close to everything. With the kitchen, we had the flexibility to eat meals in occasionally, or walk to local restaurants. We took the back bedroom and gave the kids the room with the view (back bedroom was also quieter at night). The staff was very helpful. I would highly recommend this apartment!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolyninCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Carolyn,

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation we do our best to feel you welcome here and we prepare the apartments as best as we can. We hope to see you again soon

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We are a family of 5..2 adults and 3 children (13, 12 and 10 yrs old). Palazzo Gamba was the perfect place for our 3 night stay in Florence. It is beautifully maintained and is centrally located. The staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitegarage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

I'm glad that you had good time with us and you where impressed by your experience at Palazzo Gamba. We hope to see you soon

Best Regards
Marco
,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Granduomo Charming Accomodation
San Marco
Residence Hilda
Residence Hilda
#7 of 326 in Florence
541 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#3 of 326 in Florence
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Alfani al David
Palazzo Alfani al David
#18 of 326 in Florence
385 reviews
Duomo
Be One Art and Luxury Home
Be One Art and Luxury Home
#10 of 326 in Florence
245 reviews
PopArtment
#20 of 326 in Florence
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Gamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Gamba

Address: Via De' Martelli 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $108 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Gamba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
His property of luxury apartments and suites boasts an unrivalled and breathtaking location of the Duomo piazza, with Florence Duomo and Brunelleschi's dome almost within a touching distance. Palazzo Gamba offers apartments with view featuring charming Florentine style and all the latest comforts of home and beyond, including extremely clean and well equipped kitchens. Palazzo Gamba is designed to provide all the freedom of a private apartment, the comfort of full hotel services and plenty of space for individual and family vacations or group travellers. Palazzo Gamba apartments are surrounded by Florence's most beautiful attractions, romantic spots like Ponte Vecchio and some of the world's most important museums like the Uffizi Gallery, as well as internationally renowned boutiques, the most refined wine bars, restaurants, clubs and typical outdoor leather and food markets. Classic Apartments, for 2 persons, or Comfort Apartments, for 2-4- personsand Penthouse Suite 6 persons, all consist of a bedroom, a living room with kitchenette and bathroom. Apartments offer: Fully equipped kitchenettes with refrigerator, cooker, oven, microwave and dishwasher. Flat screen satellite TV (International channels available), Free WI-FI internet connection, direct dial telephones, air conditioning and heating, courtesy kit, bed linen and towels, air dryer and safe. Important information: the reception is open solely from 8 a.M. To 7 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Gamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Gamba Florence
Palazzo Gamba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing