We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palazzo Gamba, Positively Gorgeous!”
Review of Palazzo Gamba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Gamba
Ranked #20 of 301 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kuranda, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Palazzo Gamba, Positively Gorgeous!”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Staying at Palazzo Gamba was the highlight of our recent trip to Europe. Nora (the manager) was incredibly helpful and friendly. She was full of great suggestions and nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was stunning with windows looking directly out to the Duomo and St John's baptistry. You really can't get any closer to the centre of Florence than this! The beds were bliss, fabulous kitchen with everything you could want including a coffee machine and dishwasher! Amazing frescos on the ceilings and lovely (but compact) bathrooms. We were blessed to spend Christmas at Palazzo Gamba and we even received a beautiful Christmas present from them on the day! I would have expected apartments of this quality and proximity to the Duomo to be much more expensive. It doesn't get any better than Palazzo Gamba! Stay there, you'll love it!!!!

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartments are enormous and a bit more luxurious than the one room ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your Positive Rewiew. We hope to see you again, and thank you very much for the Photos! Best Regards
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    52
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
148
60
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

When you first walk in the door don't panic !! Check-in area is small but not important. Just grab your key and go up and you will be amazed. To open their gorgeous windows and look out at fabulous wonders, the Duomo is right there almost touchable. Only mistake was mine by not understanding how HUGE these suites are. We could have stayed days and relaxed. Can't explain how huge and wonderful these rooms are. If we ever go back I will not even consider another place, I may even paint my ceilings to remind me of what a great place it is.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, here they will know which you mean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much, We hope to see you again longer at Palazzo Gamba, and Thank you for your photos on Tripadvisor, I loved it.
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Very well presented 2 bedroom apartment smack in the middle of Florence. The veiw from the main bedroom was of the Duomo. Left turn from the front door and 75 meters and you are at the front door to the Duomo. Can't get any closer. Inside the property was very well equiped and very clean. The Cherubs on the ceiling make Palazzo Gamba even more special. It is a short walk to just about every thing. Manager Marco Pomponi was great, very welcoming and attentive to any of our needs. If you are driving it can be tricky as we found ourselves in the middle of the Plaza after a wrong turn much to the Police's disgust.
A stay is highly recomended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for you rewiew, and we hope to see you again! Thank you for my personal "rewiew", We'll do always our best, Marco Pomponi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Palazzo Gamba took my breath away literally in terms of its beautifully preserved architecture and modern and well equipped apartments. Its a 5 min walk from the main train station in Florence (Santa maria novella) and is smack in the middle of the main Duomo square...so much so that you can almost touch the duomo from your window. I was given the beautiful Vasary suite on the topmost floor (6th ) with a fully equipped kitchenette (microwave,espresso maker,dishwasher,stove,crcokery,cutlery,wine glasses..the works) and 2 beautiful and tasteful bedrooms with 2 bathrooms. There was even a bottle of Chianti wine and 2 bottles of water compleentary.
I loved my stay here and after a long day of sightseeing would retire and relax...also becos is is 3-5 mins away from the main museums Uffizi and Academmia and the main shopping district as well Piazza Del Repubblica...you can always pop in and take a quick break...theres a lovely cafeterria just downstairs, a vodaphone store across the street and a tabacchi downstairs where you can top up your italian sim card.
The only thing you need to be aware if is that the main doors are closed early morning ( i arrived at 10 am) and it was not open and u have to call the number mentioned on the door outside for someone from inside to open it...also when they give you a key to open it yourself incase you are late in returning in the evenings or have a early morning tour...the main doors are stuck and the key would not work- thankfully i had my italian phone and i could call the number listed on their main door for someone to try and open it from the inside) .
An absolutely delightful stay...perfect for a solo traveller like me though i was spoilt with space to accomodate a whole family of four!!
Dont miss staying here if you want something more out of your Florence trip!,

Room Tip: Ask for the Vasary room. Also let them know if you are checking in before 10 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndaluciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive rewiew, we hope to see you again in Florence and enjoy your stay at Palazzo Gamba

Best Regards
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I can't begin to tell you how impressed we were with Palazzo Gamba. It was very easy to find as it is located in the square of the Duomo. Don't waste your money on a taxi if you are coming from the Firenze SMN station. It's an easy 7-10 minute walk.

Marco and his staff were excellent hosts. Pay particular attention to Marco's recommendations for restaurants, especially the one for Toscana beef. You won't be disappointed.

We were travelling as a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenage daughters) and stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The view from the balcony couldn't be beat. You could almost reach out and touch The Duomo it was so close. Mornings and night time were so nice sitting out on the balcony with a caffe looking at the very impressive Duomo. The apartment had everything we needed including espresso maker and the beds were very comfortable. Marco will direct you to some grocery stores that are very close and convenient.

Firenze wound up being our favorite place in Italy on our 2 week trip and a large part of that was staying at Palazzo Gamba. It was so centrally located that it allowed us to go see stuff in the morning, have lunch, take a little rest back in the apartment and then off to do more in the afternoon and evening. The Uffizi and the Acaddemia were both less than a 5 minute walk away.

We will definitely be returning to Italy again and when in Firenze we will not stay anywhere else but The Palazzo Gamba.

Marco, grazie per la vostra splendida ospitalità!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for you terrific rewiew!, this was a declaration of Love! We wait for you next time Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Our family of myself, adult son, adult daughter and 12 year old grand-daughter stayed for 5 nights in the 5th floor apartment overlooking Il Duomo in Firenze's most famous square.
The rooms were huge and conmfortable, the property managers were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrftymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I find it difficult to uncover good value and good location accommodation in major tourist destinations. You always compromise. So the Palazzo was a genuine surprise really as I had little or no expectations that it would be so good. It is in the pedestrian mall less than 100 metres from the Duomo. The staff go out of their way to be both helpful and kind. They organised car parking through a valet service that was easy on the pocket. The rooms are spacious, the aircon works and the kitchen lacks for nothing - including an expresso maker. Despite being in the centre noise was minimal and it was incredibly good value. Highly recommended. But to stop car drivers from going nuts I suggest you insert the navigation directions for the hotel into your GPS. My Tom Tom had a nervous breakdown finding the hotel's street name. Or do as the hotel staff advised and insert Piazza della Liberata then enter Via Cavour. The Hotel is in an extension of this street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastersretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#185 of 411 in Florence
388 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#46 of 411 in Florence
326 reviews
Duomo
Granduomo Charming Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#5 of 301 in Florence
560 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Ruspoli
Palazzo Ruspoli
#131 of 641 in Florence
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Gamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Gamba

Property: Palazzo Gamba
Address: Via De' Martelli 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 301 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Gamba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
His property of luxury apartments and suites boasts an unrivalled and breathtaking location of the Duomo piazza, with Florence Duomo and Brunelleschi's dome almost within a touching distance. Palazzo Gamba offers apartments with view featuring charming Florentine style and all the latest comforts of home and beyond, including extremely clean and well equipped kitchens. Palazzo Gamba is designed to provide all the freedom of a private apartment, the comfort of full hotel services and plenty of space for individual and family vacations or group travellers. Palazzo Gamba apartments are surrounded by Florence's most beautiful attractions, romantic spots like Ponte Vecchio and some of the world's most important museums like the Uffizi Gallery, as well as internationally renowned boutiques, the most refined wine bars, restaurants, clubs and typical outdoor leather and food markets. Classic Apartments, for 2 persons, or Comfort Apartments, for 2-4- personsand Penthouse Suite 6 persons, all consist of a bedroom, a living room with kitchenette and bathroom. Apartments offer: Fully equipped kitchenettes with refrigerator, cooker, oven, microwave and dishwasher. Flat screen satellite TV (International channels available), Free WI-FI internet connection, direct dial telephones, air conditioning and heating, courtesy kit, bed linen and towels, air dryer and safe. Important information: the reception is open solely from 8 a.M. To 7 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palazzo Gamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Gamba Florence
Palazzo Gamba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing