We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, decent price”
Review of Pucci Suites

Pucci Suites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pucci Suites
Ranked #616 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, decent price”
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We enjoyed our stay here. The location was great (across the river in Oltrarno), room was spacious and the price was reasonable. A small complaint: the shower could have used some paint and maybe a better scrubbing. We loved the location because it was in a quieter part of town, away from the hordes, next door to the Boboli Gardens and up the street from some great restaurants. We are city dwellers used to walking, so it only took us 10 minutes to walk to the Ponte Vecchio, 20 minutes to the Accademia Museum. Our room had a kitchenette, which was nice, because I took a pasta making class one day and I cooked the pasta for dinner. It was also economical to store snacks and drinks in our small fridge.

Warning: Ignore the staff's restaurant suggestions -- they sent us to a horrible tourist trap.

  • Liked — location, big rooms, decent price
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauainut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

Stayed 1 night early October 06.

The main appeal was the parking, however, it is tucked down a narrow street, and the entrance is small and obstructed by parked cars so it is difficult to get in and out of. We saw a few cars with nasty scrapes from the kerbs or walls!

Our suite was huge, everything was fine but I wouldn't say it was lovely. The reception staff were friendly but didn't seem overly organised.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2006

Like the last reviewer I can't understand any negative feedback for this place. We travel frequently in France/Italy and can confirm that this is one of the best presented and maintained properties we've stayed in at any price - and this was a bargain!

Not luxurious or a fake palazzo - but good clean, contemporary with everything you need.

This review might be coloured by the fact that we arrived in Florence to discover that our booked accomodation with a private Scottish owner was dreadful - filthy, hot, badly equipped and poorly (dangerously) maintained. Just a few yards up the same street we found this amazing air-conditioned (yes you can adjust that too, unlike most US accomodation) haven. The price was good anyway but negotiable and included free parking and breakfast.

The negotiations were interesting as they were conducted in poor German (at least mine was poor!) It helped to break the ice if there was any.

Only downside for us was the stairs - but hey that guaranteed a relaxing view of the Boboli Gardens and the rooftops of Florence. Location was great for seasoned travellers as mentioned before, a real local feel to it but easy, easy walking distance to the centre!

We stayed for 6 nights and it became a 2nd home.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2006

I am a little disapointed at other reviews here as when we stayed we found it to be extremely good value for money. The rooms were beutifully designed and clean (this is not always a given) An excellent bed, probably the best in our 2.5 months of travel. A huge unexpected bonus was the little fold away kitchen. The room was warm and we were able to adjust the heating within our room. Breakfast was outstanding, even the coffee was great!

The front staff were a little aloof but this was something we recognised as normal when traveling through Italy. We found if we made a little effort they warmed quite well.

The only down side was the walk into Florence, as it was a good 10/15mins to the river.

An excellent choice and a asolute bargain at 80 euros a night!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cantchose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2006

We were greeted with the words 'you are lucky getting the room at this price, it should have been twice the price, I made a mistake'. She explained there was a fashion show on in Florance that week and she could have charged whatever price she wanted as rooms were being snapped up. We were made to feel unwelcome. She was efficient giving us a map of Florence and taking payment, but she gave the feeling we should feel priviledged to be staying at her property.

The room was on three levels, all extremely cold. The heaters were absolutely useless and sounded as though a hurricane was blowing in the room. So we spent two sleepless cold nights.

We will never return.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 30, 2005

My girlfriend and I booked the Pucci Suites for 3 nights in late October and were totally un-impressed. The room was large and clean, but despite it being cold (about 12-14°C during the day) and raining, the room was incredibly hot and humid. For some reason, the air conditioners would not work so we had to sleep with the windows open, which created the terrible problem of being awoken in the middle of the night with an infestation of mosquitoes. There were literally 16 mosquitoes in the room (I counted each one after killing them all in the morning), leaving the two of us with a combined 37 bites over our bodies and faces!

The problem was made even worse when I approached the desk to explain what had happened and ask why the air conditioners in our room would not work. I was told “the air conditioners are centrally controlled and have all been switched over to operate as heaters.” Instead of trying to apologise for the extreme heat in our room or move us to a cooler location, the lady then stated “all of our guests want them to operate as heaters so I won’t switch them back to cooling.” I did not believe this, as given the extreme heat of our room, others must have been very hot also. It was most likely a cost saving exercise and why the air conditioners were centrally controlled was also beyond me.

My totally unsatisfactory experience at the Pucci Suites was cemented when on our second day I was called by my mother to say she had just badly broken her wrist whilst in Rome. She required surgery so I had to leave Florence to go and be with her. I informed the front desk of this situation in the afternoon but was still made to pay the full price for the following two nights of our booking.

In a way, I must admit to being glad to leave this place. There was no way I would have got any sleep and would have ended up having a huge confrontation with the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2005

We spent four nights at the Pucci Suites. We had originally been booked at their other property Residenza dei Pucci, but had to be moved at the last minute. At first I was concerned since the Suites were south of the Arno in the Oltrarno part of Florence. Any reservations we had quickly went away. Lucia at the desk was very helpful and made reservations at dining establishments for us. The room was very clean and well appointed. We had three levels, a small dining area, the bedroom and a small sitting room that led out to a small deck with an umbrella. The Suites were about a 10 -15 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio. A block from the Boboli Garden entrance and about 6 minutes from the Pitti Palace. It was a very safe neighborhood and we had no problem walking back from the center of town after 11:00 pm each night. It was nice to be able to come back from sightseeing and relax before heading out for dinner. A good location off the beaten path and a respite from the throngs of tourists.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jdtaustx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Annalena
#217 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
#50 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Friends Of Florence
#113 of 303 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Terrazza Su Boboli
#87 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Pitti
Convitto della Calza
Convitto della Calza
#347 of 675 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#242 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pucci Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pucci Suites

Property: Pucci Suites
Address: Via Romana 61, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #616 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing