We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, cozy B&B in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Panella's Residence
Ranked #85 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2007

We could not be happier with our stay at Panella's - great location, right in the middle of the city, walkable to all the sites. The house itself and the rooms (we stayed in #43) have tons of charm and character, with old interior details beautifully preserved. Panella gave us a tour of the old artifacts and items lovingly displayed in the building (some of them have been in their family for centuries!). At the same time, the rooms have all the modern amenities - our room was spacious, with a modern bathroom and A/C.
Panella was a welcoming and gracious host - we arrived to the residence late at night after an all day drive and she had called a nearby trattoria (which was about to close!) to arrange a wonderful dinner waiting for us. On our request, she had reserved tickets to Florence museums (the Uffici and Academia) and was very helpful with directions and dinner recommendations during the rest of our stay. Panella and her husband serve a wonderful breakfast in the morning, which includes home made pastries and pies - amazing! They made us feel welcome and very comfortable.
This is a place to stay if you are looking for something more than just a place to sleep at night and can appreciate unquiness and personality of the place and the graciousness of its hosts.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank NewYorkEms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Panella's Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2007

This is a charming place to stay. Wonderful location just around the corner from the Duomo and easy walking distance to much of Florence's attraction. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. Nice size bathroom with shower. Yes, the tv has only one station in English but it's a Florence visitors station so it was informative. Breakfast consists of juices, fabulous coffee, yogurts, cereal, and wonderful baked goods. While there, we had Graziella's apple cake and a mozzarella and prosciuitto phyllo pastry--very good. We also had a few mosquito problems but she informed us that Florence is known for them. We had a very quiet room...great stay. Graziella enjoys her guests and it shows.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpNorthMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

We booked our stay at Panella's Residence based on the excellentTrip Advisor reviews, and we were not disapointed. The house is gorgeous (the underground living room and dining area were amazing!) and the rooms are massive! My brother-in-law's single room was a palace, our double room was smaller, but I think had one of the biggest bathrooms in Italy (although no bath). The rooms were cool and comfortable (thank goodness for A/C even in early April) - but we did have a mosquito problem in our room even though we left the windows closed (the rooms were spotless - so I believe the mosquito's are a Florence-wide problem - nothing specifically related to Panella's).

The breakfasts were delicious, and Graziella is indeed very gracious and helpful. SHe made reservations for us at the Accademia and the Ufizzi, as well as recommending a delightful place for lunch a few blocks away (full of locals on their lunch break made for tasty affordable food). Things are definitely within walking distance - but make sure you give yourself enough time to get through the crowds...

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mobile_Mirandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

I booked Panella's based on the good reviews I'd read and wasn't disappointed. Graziella is a very welcoming hostess. She speaks broken English, which is part of the charm - and it encouraged us to try out a bit of our even more broken Italian. I wouldn't normally eat cake with breakfast, but for Graziella's I made an exception! The chocolate and orange cake was superb. And there was a good range of cereals, yoghurt and fruit aside from the bread and cakes. She made my young son feel very at home, too. We had three rooms on the top floor for our party of seven, including the lovely suite with its own sitting room, and rooftop balcony. My daughters' rooms were also very good, one with what Graziella described as a "biggy biggy biggy bathroom" with an enormous sunken bath. It's right in the centre of Florence, near the Duomo, so perfect for tourists. We loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boswell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

This is truly a residence and the guests treat it as their home! Located off the typical tourist pathways on via della Pergola, this location is ideal for getting around to many of the major sites; Duomo, Museum de Accademia, Palazzo Vecchio, and others. We arrived by taxi from the train station (I would not suggest walking this with
luggage) and our hostess met us at the door. The building dates back to the fifteenth century; the rooms are spacous, the breakfast buffet
is simple yet filling and is ideal for couples seeking a quiet repose'.

Definately made this stay memorable!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2007

Nice place - all brick inside. The breakfast was good, the room was HUGE with a HUGE bathroom, no tub, just shower. Panellas is within a respectable walking distance to everything. The hotel owner booked us Uffuzi tickets, and Academia Reservations which were very helpful, considering the lines are outragous. Florence was my favorite city to shop in. We both wound up with leather coats, it was VERY VERY cold while we were there, and quite frankley, we needed them.

We had to request that the rooms be heated better because of the cold weather, but we "managed" - The cold didn't spoil the food, shopping or wine.

While in Florence, there is a WONDERFUL restaurant we went to twice - La Casa Linga - It's by the Pitti Palace, and you have to cross the bridge (full of jewelry) to get there, and walk about 4 blocks until you are standing right in front of the Pitti Palace, you then turn right down a dark "side street" - something I would never do in Chicago, - but There is a line out in front, and get in it, because this is where the "locals" eat, and was the BEST food we had in Italy. They don't open up the metal outside doors until 7:00 p.m. promply.

Have Fun.

Bill and Dee Thom - Chicago IL

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

We stayed at Panella's in early March after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. I have to say we found the descriptions of the place pretty accurate. Mrs. Panella was very nice and friendly, and she makes delicious cakes!

The room we stayed in (Room 41) was nice with a huge bathroom as expected.

Downsides: The bed was a bit hard, the room a bit cold, and on the first night we were kept awake by mosquitos. The mosquito problem was solved the next day as soon as we told Mrs. Panella. The TV only had Italian channels (a minor issue, of course).

Positives: Florence city center is so small you can walk everywhere, and the location of Panella's is good.

Mrs. Panella was a very good host. She booked us tickets for the Uffizi and Accademia galleries, and a taxi to the airport. She also suggested local restaurants and her recommendations were good.

The breakfast was good (those cakes!).

The room was spacious and nicely decorated.

Overall, I recommend this place to people looking for a nice place to stay that is not too expensive.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank Leenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#163 of 656 in Florence
285 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#18 of 656 in Florence
990 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Il Villino B&B
Residenza Il Villino B&B
#19 of 656 in Florence
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Il Bargello B&B
Il Bargello B&B
#72 of 656 in Florence
409 reviews
Duomo
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
#290 of 656 in Florence
89 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#11 of 656 in Florence
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panella's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panella's Residence

Address: Via della Pergola 42, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $122 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Panella's Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Panella's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panella Residence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing