We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panella's Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panella's Residence
Ranked #97 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2006

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in Nov. 2006. This was our favorite B&B of the entire trip. First off, Mrs. Panella is great. She is incredibly warm and makes you feel right at home. She loves to talk and it is a lot of fun to listen to her stories. We stayed in room 43 and it was HUGE. This room was more than twice the size of any other room we stayed in during our trip. The breakfast here was also one of the best of our trip. Mrs. Panella baked a fresh apple pastry that was delicious. The location is very close to all the major attractions (Duomo, Academia, and Uffizzi). The taxi ride from the train station cost ~10 Euros, but is definitely walkable if you don’t have much luggage to carry. Our only regret is that we didn’t stay here for more than 2 nights. The only negative thing I can think of, is if you have bad knees or cannot walk up/down stairs you may have problems here because you will have to walk up at least 1 flight of stairs to your room, and down 1 flight of stairs to the breakfast room.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie3_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    25
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
149
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brutus
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2006

On a mother/daughter vacation throughout Italy, we stayed at Panella's for three nights (Nov. 21/22/23) and were completely in love with the experience. We found Panella's on trip advisor and were so glad we decided to stay there because not only is it a wonderful location (right in the heart of Florence), but the B&B can also boast an extremely gracious and friendly host and wonderful rooms and bathrooms. My mother did have one comment to make regarding the rooms: the beds were moderately uncomfortable for someone with a bad back.
As we first arrived, Graziella showed us around the B&B and also provided us with a map with directions to a variety of attractions, good restaurants, and requested items (i.e. internet access points). The breakfast area was charming and has plenty of room for all guests who care to partake. Overall, we liked Panella's Residence the best of all of our B&B's (4 in total) although with all fairness to the other B&B's, which were good, Panella's did cost the most. Thanks to the Panella Family...we will most definitely return if ever in Florence again.

  • Liked — Host/Owner; Size of Room & Bathroom; Location
  • Disliked — The Comfort of the Beds
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at Zio Gigi around the corner; It was our best meal in Italy!!!
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kcalmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2006

My family just returned from a week vacation to Rome and Florence. While in Florence, we stayed in rooms 42 and 45 at Panella's Residence. The rooms were spacious and clean by European standards. The bathrooms were impeccibly clean, to the point that I have to think the rooms must have been recently renovated.

The B&B is loaded with charm as it used to be a convent. The breakfast room is a beautifully done alcove surrouned in brick and Tuscan decor. My only warning would be not stay here if you cannot handle steep stairs as you will have to walk up at least one flight of stairs for your room and down one flight of stairs for breakfast. But if you want a uniquely Tuscan experience, make this your top choice.

Graziella, the hostess, is incredibly friendly! While her English is very basic, you get the impression that she wants to help in any way possible. Take her up on her restaurant recommendations.

The location is steps from the Duomo and within a 10 minute walk of most sites. However, if arriving by train, I recommend hiring a taxi as there is lots of petty crime in Florence, and you don't want to be a target as your navigating the narrow, windy roads, especially near the Duomo.

I cannot recommend this B&B enough. You will not be disappointed. Drink the cappaccino!

  • Liked — Uniqueness, service, location
  • Disliked — Stairs and ongoing nearby construction (can't here but makes street dirty)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank xtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2006

Spectacular B and B in Florence with only 6 large rooms. It is located about 5 minutes from Duomo and Museum Acedamia-8 minutes from Plaza San Croce and Signorelli. We stayed in Rooms 42 and 45. Each was much larger than average for a European Hotel and had a small balcony. The bathrooms were new and immaculate! The location is very quiet and just outside the tourist areas (they are close). Grizella, the owner, is a great source of information and does everything she can to please. Breakfast is typical continental-the coffee is made to order and puts the likes of Starbuck's to shame The property has great character and if you would want to venture away from staying in a hotel you will not be losing many anemities staying here. If you can reserve it- I suggest Rm 46-the suite.

  • Liked — Quaintness and not typical hotel lodging
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — Get the Suite-Rm. 46 if you can
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugar Grove Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2006

Panella Residence is the excellent place to stay in Florence. Just great location and very nice, spacious and clean rooms.

Our family stayed there for three nights in three great rooms (41, 42 and 44).

And what about Panella's hostess....Graziella is just a find and extremely nice and helpfull. She made great recommendations for dinner, and go to La pentola dell´Oro Osteria for a nice dinner. Tickets for Uffizi were booked by Graziella.

Breakfast is delicious - have a tast of her apple cake!

We are really looking forward to go back and we will definitively stay at Panella's. We will absolutely recommend the place for all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nice-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

During a two week trip in Italy (4 hotels) Panella's was by far the best place we stayed. The location is great - you can walk everywhere. The surrouding resturants were also great. The rooms are beautiful (the pictures on the website do not do them justice) and they were so clean. However the best part about Panella's is Graziella the hostess. She was so nice and helpful. After a very bad train experience from Salerno to Florence we were delighted when we were welcomed by her. She made great recommendations for dinner and let us keep our bags there after we checked out while we went and explored the city. Also her breakfast is delicious - my husband is still talking about it. If I return to Florence the only place I would consider staying is at Panella's.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank mayamesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

Spent 1 night at Panella Residence on Sept. 28th. Both room and bathroom were spacious, clean and beautiful. Large comfortable bed. Very quiet. A/C. Beautiful stenciled doors. Old charm B&B, right in the middle of Firenze. Perfect location, less than 10 mintues walk to be the Duomo and Accademia Museum. Graziella can arrange to purchase museum tickets for you prior to your arrival. I was sent my confirmation # and had no lines to wait in the next a.m. Paid for tickets on site at the museum. We arrived by mini-van in the narrow streets, managed to park the rental in a loading area just past the front door of the Residence...and Graziella was a very helpful hostess and arranged for someone to come drive with my husband to the closest parking lot where we left our rental for 2 days. The residence had a few flight of stairs but after spending 4 days in Postiano, Amalfi Coast....it was nothing! Graziella suggested a restaurent one street over for dinner that evening....La Giostra. Do make a reservation! Best meal I enjoyed on our entire trip! Osso Bucco, pasta, and an unexpected sampling of 6 different wonderful antipasto that was complimentary at the start of the meal. We had ordered too much food so we weren't able to even share a Tiramisu which they said was the best in the city! Ambience at the restaurant was very nice. Meal will probably cost you about Euro 100 for 2 with wine but well worth it! My only regret is that we only stayed at Panella's for 1 night....but we'll be back for a longer stay on our next trip to Firenze!

  • Liked — Location and size of room and bathroom
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Residenza Il Villino B&B
Residenza Il Villino B&B
#23 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#127 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Duomo
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
#244 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Residenza Giotto
Residenza Giotto
#152 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
#15 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#63 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panella's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panella's Residence

Property: Panella's Residence
Address: Via della Pergola 42, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Panella's Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Panella's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panella Residence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing