We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best B&B In Florence!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Panella's Residence
Ranked #99 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best B&B In Florence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

My partner and I stayed at Panella's and were very impressed. The B&B is centrally located around a five minute walk from the Duomo and is utterly charming. It is cosy with a lot of character because of the building's long history. Every room is spotlessly clean with great bathrooms and comfortable beds. But best of all was the hostess Graziana who made every effort to make us feel welcome, from encouraging our hesitant Italian, to recommending and indeed booking restaurants for us. This kind of hospitality is priceless and was the icing on the cake of our stay in Florence. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B as I am sure that other guests would enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    25
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
151
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2008

Graciella and Joseph were excellent hosts who went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Staying in this location puts you in walking distance of everything in a residence that has been in the same family for many generations yet has the most modern bathrooms you can hope to find in all of Florence. The hotel has 6 rooms and our group used 5 of them- all are different and all unique. Some are larger than others and there are several floors.The lower level which is used as reception and breakfast area also allowed our group to gather every night for a glass of wine etc before heading our to one of the many restraurants that Graciella can suggest. Being Americans we eat earlier than the Italians and Graciella was able to get them to open the restaurant early just for us our first night in town. Another night we only wanted to spend a certain amount of money and she negotiated a set price for a 5 course meal for us including the wine that was much less than the menu prices at a really nice restaurant. When we arrived, the owner was arriving to make sure his staff knew we were to get that price and good service and then he departed leaving us to enjoy a wonderful evening.
There are stairs as there are in most locations in Florence and there is no elevator but the day we arrived someone was there to help us with the luggage. We left very early so we had to get our own luggage down but that was a price that we would all pay again to stay in this locations.

  • Liked — Locations and hospitality of the owners
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

I can't begin to say enough wonderful things about this residence. First, the accomodations were great and so was the price. It is very centrally located to everything. I passed by many of the other hotels I had considered staying at as I walked to Panella's and was so glad that we had chosen her place. It was a bit further from the train station but incredibly close to the Duomo. It was so simple to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Second, the room was spacious, spotless and the shower very hot and strong. The breakfast was fabulous, even featuring a homemade pastry made by Panella herself. Finally, perhaps the best part of all was Panella herself. She was a delight to talk with but not too intrusive, and she eagerly handled our reservations to see David (in advance) and for dinners (try Zio Gi Gi's for a great local experience). She even brought out family pictures to share. We really got a taste of Tuscan living during our too short stay. I would definitely stay there next time.

  • Liked — Panella
  • Disliked — trouble with phone to U.S.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank las22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in Florence then look no further: Panella's Residence is wonderful! The home was built around 1100 and offers lots of history. In addition it has very clean, roomy bedrooms and beautifully updated bathrooms. Graziella and Joseph are the owners and wonderful hosts. They offer a beautiful continental breakfast with coffee, tea, juice, pasteries, fruit, and procuitto. The home is located around the corner from the Duomo Basillica. I found it the perfect location to walk anywhere. Graziella and Joseph and very helpful and have maps and suggested restaurants on hand. We loved our neighborhood restaurant Zio Gi Gi's! If you are looking to have a great time with a large or small group and enjoy great Florentine Cooking then Zio Gi Gi's should be on your list of to-do's. Their prices are very reasonable and the food is delicious. Tell Graziella and Joseph and they will help with your reservation.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No opinion
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmlBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

Our stay in Florence was wonderful and this was insured by Graziella Panella. The bed and breakfast is clean, charming and well situated. When my wife and I arrived, our luggage was delayed in the States. We flew into Milan and immediately took a train to Florence. Graziella went out of her way to make sure our luggage arrived from Milan to Florence. She also booked advance reservations for us at the Academia and Uffizzi.
Breakfast was good with fresh cafe au laits and espressos, a nice choice of pastries, yogurts, fruit ,and the hostess bakes a fresh pastry or make a salad daily.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

This accommodation absolutely matched up to its description on the internet. We stayed in room 43 which was very large but nontheless, comfortable, welcoming and highly romantic. The en suite shower room was modern, spotlessly clean (as was everything) and functioned to a high standard. It is certainly within easy walking distance from all of the main attractions of Florence.
So this is just the hard description. What sets it aside from most hotels that you might stay in is that it is run by the nicest couple of people you could hope to meet. We were welcomed very warmly, all our requests, whether to make bookings for the galleries, or to make recommendations and bookings for restaurants, or to hold on to our luggage for the day of our departure were met with friendly and enthusiastic assistance. Panella Residence is a perfect place from which to explore Florence and the Panellas are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank whyhaveaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

although this was one of the more expensive places we stayed during our travels in Italy, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Panella's. The Owner, Graziella, is a total character, very helpful (making phone calls on our behalf in Italian) and a wonderful hostess all around -- morning breakfast was excellent (homemade cakes and breads!!) in the cozy cellar. B+B has a great location, very close to Duomo, internet cafe just around the corner, and just 15 min walk from train / bus station. Rooms and bathrooms are huge, 4 m high ceilings and a step back in time -- really nice!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumbling_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Residenza Il Villino B&B
Residenza Il Villino B&B
#19 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Duomo
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
#239 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#134 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#169 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#64 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#88 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panella's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panella's Residence

Property: Panella's Residence
Address: Via della Pergola 42, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Panella's Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Panella's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panella Residence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing