We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay in Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panella's Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panella's Residence
Ranked #101 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Excellent place to stay in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

We recently came back from Florence where we stayed 3 nights at the Panella's Residence. Although you cannot tell from the outside, we were pleasantly surprised of the warmth, beautiful décor and of the size of our bedroom. The room was 2 flights up but that was offset by the comfort and how quiet it was. The residence is very conveniently located and walking distance from the Duomo and most important Churches and Museums.

Graciella was extremely helpful in assisting us with reservations, recommendations and transportation to the airport on our last day. She even was nice enough to call the local American Express office to find out where they were located and their normal office hours so that we could complete a currency exchange transaction.

In the morning she had the typical Italian breakfast ready and made sure everyone in the dinning room was comfortably served and felt like home.

Our stay in Panella’s was a wonderful conclusion to a 2 week trip through Tuscany and we would definitely recommend this facility to everyone we can – not to mention stay here the next time we are lucky enough to travel to such a lovely city.

Grazie mille Graciella !

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Disliked — That I could not stay longer
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JHandCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    25
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
149
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2008

There cannot be a better Bed & breakfast in Florence! Panella's Residence is just superb. The Suite we were given was delightful and so spacious with a bathroom to die for! ( Warner Brothers did a bathroom scene in it the day before we arrived - it's fantastic)
The situation is a few minutes from fabulous Duomo, but is quiet and very charming. It is in an old Convent of Florence, and the host, Graziella has used her talent and own personal style to turn the stables into a delightful breakfast area. We were there over the New Year and every nook and cranny was decorated in tasteful Christmas decorations and Graziella lit 1500 candles on New Years Eve to celebrate (along with her Sangria and exquisite italian cooking )
Breakfast was in the Italian style, and as many cappucinos as you like.
Graziella also organsed our tickets for the Academy and her restaurant suggestions including Pap Gigi's just around the corner were great.
We stayed for 4 days and were treated like one of the family. There are many steps, but we didn;t have to carry out cases up and down, her husband did that for us.
It is truly a welcoming, great value and delightful experience to stay with Graziella Panella and we would recommend it highly for people wanting cleanliness, friendly, warm and totally charming accommodation in Florence.

  • Liked — The Cleanliness & Graziella
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DownunderAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

My husband and I loved our 3 night stay (Oct 23th, 24th, and 25th) at Panella's Residence in Florence, Italy.

Panella's Residence is located on a very quiet street, but surprisingly it's in the heart of Florence.

Our room number was 44 and it was very large. The size of the bathroom was huge (see pictures), even by American standards.

My husband and I are in our fifties and didn't mind walking up stairs to our lovely room. There is no elevator at Panella's.

Grace Panella is a wonderful host. She booked dinner reservations for us at fantastic restaurants that were not listed in any of our guidebooks (not Rick Steves or Frommer's).

We met several other tourists who were staying in the center of Florence and extremely disappointed in their lodgings because of all the noise. We referred them to Panella's Residence for their next visit to Florence.

We definitely plan on returning to Panella's Residence the next time we find ourselves in Florence, Italy.

  • Liked — Location, Quiet, Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kimika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

With so much to choose from, looking for accommodation in Florence can be a daunting experience. My husband and I recently stayed at the
excellent Panella's residence. Once a convent, it is centrally located, just a few doors away from the Theatro Pergola and 5mins walking distance from the Duomo and central Florence. Each room is unique in character. We stayed in Rm 41- spacious accommodation at the rear of the building and so very quiet. A welcome relief after the hustle and bustle of central Florence. Graziella is a wonderful hostess and only too willing to help with guiding you to the right spots around town. She even managed to reserve some tickets to the Academia for us (so we avoided the long queues). There are several excellent restaurants on the next street (Egidio)- the recently opened and highly recommended La Cantina at no 10, which is run by the dynamic Alberto. A (fairly substantial!) 5-course tasting menu is bargain at 22 Euros- highly recommended if you are after something
tuscan with a twist. Also run by the same team is the Oil Shoppe just down the street- great sandwiches, salads and soups at very reasonable price. It would be remiss not to mention that, as the name suggests, they also have a great selection of fine oils and balsamic vinegars (found at no 10). Also on the same street, again excellent novelle cuisine but slightly more expensive is Cantina Barbagianni at No 13.

  • Liked — Central location, great hostess
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BAKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2007

We have recently stayed at MSN Suites Panella and whilst I agree with some of the comments made by other visitors, my husband and I didn't have such a good experience. We were in room 42, a room with no window, just a door leading on to a narrow passage way with pipes and a ladder. Breakfast was adequate but nothing to rave about. Wouldn't stay there again if I returned to Florence. I feel it would be useful to have reception available for longer periods during the day.

  • Liked — The owner was friendly
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

My mother, my sisters and I spent three nights at Panella's Residence in late-September, and I can not speak highly enough of the rooms, the location, and the warm and welcoming service provide by Graziella. The B&B is located on a quiet street within easy walking distance of all of Florence's highlights, and Graziella gave us very thorough directions (with maps) to anywhere we needed to go. Previous reviewers have described the spacious rooms, and the inn's overall overall charm, and I have to agree with it all. As a travel agent, I research hotels for clients every day, and I have to say that I could not have found a better (more reasonably priced) choice for my stay in Florence!

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

We booked Panella's Residence based on reviews on Venere.com and our expectations were more than exceeded. The location is central Florence and with a good map it is easy to find. Only a 10-15 min. walk from the train station and 5 min. from both the Duomo and the Accademia, on a quiet side street. We were warmly greeted by Mrs. Panella and immediately felt her sincere Italian hospitality. She gave us maps and helpful info about sight-seeing and places to eat and shop. The rooms were spacious (a palatial ensuite bathroom!) and very clean and quiet at night. Everything the website indicated was included. We absolutely loved her breakfasts, a little different every day, but with a variety of fruit, pastries, cheese, yogurt and more. She even had candles on the breakfast table; it felt like a cozy bistro. Her cappuccino was outstanding! Mrs. Panella was a gracious host and made us feel very welcome; she really enhanced our stay in Florence and went out of her way to be helpful. I would recommend her B&B to anyone, as long as you are able to walk up one flight of stairs ( no elevator ). We loved it!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank CanadaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Residenza Il Villino B&B
Residenza Il Villino B&B
#21 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#128 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Duomo
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
#236 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Residenza Giotto
Residenza Giotto
#150 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
#8 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#65 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panella's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panella's Residence

Property: Panella's Residence
Address: Via della Pergola 42, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Panella's Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Panella's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panella Residence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing