We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't come in here”
Review of Hotel Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Donatello
Ranked #267 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

rude staff, dry-walled rooms full of dust, you can hear almost everything from the hall and the other rooms, they charge you 20 euros per day for the parking, also the wifi is 20 euros per day, the breakfast is terrible, bread is so old and hard you can use it as a weapon, if you are thinking on leaving your suitcases at the hotel and walk around the city the last day, think twice, as they charge you 2.5 euros per suitcase, this is one of those hotels you just want to runaway from

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Javierccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 604 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

My rule of thumb of booking a hotel is that the hotel should be near to the central train station.
This hotel is less than 15 mins away from Santa Maria Novella station and there area many interesting places you can explore by foot around this area.
The hotel is an old apartment with very spacious rooms having high ceiling and comfortable bathroom. The biggest bathroom I've ever saw in an affordable hotel in Europe, that is.
Breakfast is OK but you can skip them and have your breakfast in nearby eateries instead.
I think I would stay in this hotel again because I'm smitten by the Tuscan charm.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank DigitalOption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is a good one but only for a overnight stay to when travelling to another destination.There is charge for everything in this hotel. From Internet service to luggage storage. The breakfast was not up to the standards of a 3 star.The breads were not fresh neither were the cheese. Most of the guests who were at the time of breakfast just tasted the food and left it on their tables and left the room.The hotels.com mentions during the booking as FREE WiFi, but it is not so. The charge is Euros 3.20 for 20mins of usage.
Luggage Storage charges EUROS 2.50.(Per Bag)
City Tax.EUROS 3.00 per head per night.(it is more than what we paid for when we stayed in Venice and Rome)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmukeshbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is about 10 minutes away (by foot) from Santa Maria Novella train station and not far from Duomo. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was ok. The value was great! i will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sosyetik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed as part of a group. Our room was spacious and well decorated - in keeping with its location. In one or two areas the decoration was a little tired.
Breakfast was good/adequate but the the room was rather cramped at busy times.
The staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I didn't liked this hotel. Its a kind of old with very dark corridor. The rooms are big, but my bed was a lot of noisy.
Don't expect a lot of the air conditioning, they are controled by the reception!! Wifi is not free and they charge the turism fee at the check-in what is not very polite.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had booked the hotel for a party of three couples - with a little reticence in view of recent reviews.

Having flown to Pisa we took the Terravision coach service to Santa Maria Novella railway station. It was a fairly easy walk from the station to the hotel, even with cases, once we had found Via Nazionale.

Check in was easy (I had advised late arrival) - the lady Receptionist was fairly abrupt, but I didn't consider her rude as mentioned by previous reviewers. We had to pay the extra Toursit Tax of € pppn, despite having prepaid for the whole stay.

The "welcome" brochure in the bedroom was rather abrupt - and could be considered rude by some.... In the room there must be NO:
Ironing
Eatin
Drinking
Cooking in Mini Oven
Clients food and drink in the mini fridge....!

In addition there was a charge for WiFi and and extra charge for leaving cases at the end of your stay (€2.50 per case)


Having taken on board the restrictions, the room was good. Clean comfortable large bed with sheets changed daily, a TV (limited channel choice) bedside tables and lights etc. Bathroom (or rather shower room) was fine with towels changed daily. Our friends had a much larger room with an enormous bathroom (large corner bath), separate w.c. and shower enclosure.

Breakfast was more than adequate by Italian standards...hot and cold drinks, bread and cakes, cereals and yoghurt, ham and cheese. The breakfast room was rather small for the number of rooms and hence got rather cramped at times.

Mosquitos - yes we all got bitten - some of us severely. I think the hotel needs to look into this.

Staff we met at other times (particularly breaksfast room staff and Sergei from Kiev) were very helpful.

Despite the above I would be happy to stay again - it was an easy stroll to the majority of historical sites for which Florence is famous.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the newer extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kule Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Malaspina
Hotel Malaspina
#291 of 410 in Florence
458 reviews
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#229 of 410 in Florence
436 reviews
Hotel Panama
#243 of 410 in Florence
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cimabue
Hotel Cimabue
#341 of 410 in Florence
504 reviews
Select Hotel
#334 of 410 in Florence
493 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Le Due Fontane
Hotel Le Due Fontane
#254 of 410 in Florence
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donatello

Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 23, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $54 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donatello 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing