We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Residenza del Proconsolo
Nearby Hotels
$299
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$258
$201
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$331
$303
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$523
$481
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$418
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$357
$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
$340
$332
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
$189
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$657
$634
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
134
52
15
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
52
15
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleonardo roomhigh ceilingsevery morninglong flight of stairsyogurtperfect locationliterally stepsdouble doorsbreakfast is servedincluding the train stationwould definitely stay here againlarge roomhighly recommend this hotelan easy walkponte vecchiouffizimichelangelo
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 214 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We were in Florence for a few days in June 2011.
The stay at La Residenza del Proconsolo was an amazing treat after staying in a few other hotels in different italian cities.
The service here was wonderful, staff was extremely nice and very accommodating (Lorna always made sure we had everything we needed)
The interior was authentic, airy (high ceilings!) and clean (without somewhat typical for b&b unnecessary "shabby-shic" clutter).
Our room was very private & spacious, facing the Duomo - couldn't be more romantic.
We loved :
the superb location,
phenomenal view from our room,
security & privacy,
spacious bathroom with working(!) jacuzzi tub,
& breakfast in bed.
Before we got to Florence I sent an email asking some questions and Mariano was really helpful. He also booked us tickets for the Uffizzi - saving us hours of queuing or paying extra on-line.
As for other posts mentioning the noise - keep in mind that this is a busy center of a quite popular city, filled with tons of loud tourists, so just close the windows at night.
Also this is a Residenza - not a hotel, so do not expect the regular hotel services.
In overview - we we would stay there again if in Florence, not only because of prime location, view etc, but because of Mariano and Lorna who made our stay really special : )

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gosia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed in La Residenza del Proconsolo for 2 nights a few weeks ago. Florence hotels are so expensive and we just wanted somewhere clean and central to rest our heads.
We had a spacious room on the first floor including a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. We could hear the chimes from the Duomo nearby which we loved, however, to those who don't like such a wake-up call I'd recommend earplugs.
Breakfast was delivered to your room and a pre-arranged time which was great.
The location/proximity to the Duomo is fantastic and all of the sights are within walking distance.
I felt La Residenza del Proconsolo was fantastic value for money and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welshjetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

You can see the Duomo from the front door to the building, the Uffizi Gallery is 10 minutes away on foot, the street market with crazy shopping is two minutes away - it was an ideal location for what we had planned.
As other reviews have said, breakfast was quite fine and was delivered promptly on a cart to our bedside. The room itself was incredible. Period decor, low cielings with original beams, immaculate bathroom.
Our price range for rooms during our two weeks in Italy was 100-150e / night and this was at the top end of our range. It was worth every penny to be in the middle of everything we wanted. More than worth the price.
Can't speak for folks travelling from other countries but the laptop (new macbook) I had with me for work wouldn't connect to WiFi anywhere through Italy. Not the fault of the inn. I believe this is a tech. spec. issue that would involve adjusting some settings in my computer. Though I tried and am very technologically adept, I was unable to connect to the WiFi anywhere through Italy. (Had no trouble in France).
iPhones had no trouble connecting to the WiFi. There is an internet cafe about 2 blocks from the inn if you need to sort anything more involved.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaliTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had a great stay at the hotel.Every morning we were greeted by Lorna with breakfast served in our room.She was always helpful with our many questions.. and the hotel even made our museum reservatios for us before our arrival. Because of the location, we were able to come back to the room to take a quick nap or just change shoes! Just a super spot!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I weren't lucky enough to have the room with the view but what a perfect location! The room was clean and very quiet for sleeping. In fact, the best sleep of my two weeks in Italy was at La Residenza del Proconsolo.
We were greeted by Lorna and her wonderful smile!
She assisted us with any need that we had. Breakfast was exactly on time to the minute. My husband and I had a two night stay in Florence before moving on to other areas of Tuscany. We had planned to stay in a hotel airport for our last evening before flying out but changed our minds. We called Lorna and Mariano to see if by some slim chance they had a room available. Sadly they did not-they were happy to suggest anothe B&B just around the corner and supplied us the number. We were lucky enough to get a room because of a cancellation. This opportunity gave us a beautiful last evening in Florence. Thank you Mariano and Lorna for everything!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the terrace view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianajlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews