We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveler rating
370
180
16
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
180
16
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia san galloclassical musicfour poster bedhonesty barliving roomsmall terracesan marcoantique furniturequiet streetother guestssmall fridgeyogurtmin walkbreakfast roommajor siteswithin easy walking distanceaccademia
Filter
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 571 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Have just returned from fabulous honeymoon trip, and had a great 2 night stay in this lovely B & B in Florence. Our room was very attractive - great bed! Would suggest trying to stay on non-street side - the scooters and traffic in the morning are loud. We had the room off the eating area, and found fellow traveller's words easy to hear! The breakfast was fresh, and the staff SO helpful and concerned. Our lost baggage became their problem to help with, which they did admirably. Uta, our main contact, was a delight - she also gave us a nice bottle of wine to ease the pain of the lost bags, as well to celebrate our honeymoon. Her tips were great for shops and touring the city - she recommended going to see The David at 5:30PM - when there are NO crowds - she was right!! We loved a nearby restaurant called Tito's, another not too far away called Za Za. We would stay here again, and look forward to trying the Il Poggiale outside of Florence next time too.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MrKins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2006

After booking a stay at their sister hotel in Tuscany and being delighted with their customer help, we decided to book a few nights here as well. Before we arrived, our hostess, Uta, spoke fluent English, was very gracious and GREAT at responding to email. She booked us our reservations for our Accademia and Uffizi visits and helped us make reservations at a restaurant my sister recommended. They provided excellent directions, but due to the one-ways, and streets sometimes being closed (as they were for our visit), I wouldn't recommend trying to drive there yourself. We tried this, and although we came close, decided to head back and return the rental car first and cab it to the hotel. We're glad we did. The street was pretty narrow and parking was sparse. Having driven in the city center - we had to register our rental to avoid a fee...and Uta was quick to help us with that as well.
Our room was quaint, clean, and spacious. Being that she knew we were coming from the countryside, she booked us in their room with a porch. Although the porch didn't really look out on anything spectacular, the sunlight made the room nicer. We tried to actually go out on the porch once, but had some trouble with the door. We didn't want to force open and damage anything so we gave up on that idea. No biggie.
The hostess provided us with a map and all the information we needed. We borrowed some DVDs for our stay and although the hostess wasn't around late night, we felt catered to either way.
The walk to the Duomo was about 10-15 minutes and we even walked back from the train station to our hotel one day (about 20 minutes). We never minded the walks, it served as a great way to walk off our fantastic meals! The hotel / apartment is on an upper floor, but they do have an elevator (small) that'll help with luggage.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. Make sure you're prepared to settle your bill in cash as (as of our stay) they don't accept credit cards.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyndec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

Wonderful spot. After seeing how highly rated Antica Dimora was on Trip Advisor, my 2 friends and I booked 3 nights in a triple room. The third bed added to the room was essentially a cot, which wasn't ideal, but given how tired I was at the end of each day, it didn't make much difference. The experience really was delightful and felt like we were more in a home than a hotel, but I'll make a few comments which may be of interest:
the hotel is on the second floor, so there are about 4 flights to climb. There is an elevator, which in true European fashion is tiny and rickety, but at least you can get your luggage up and down. The hotel does not take credit cards so be sure to have cash or traveller's cheques to settle up. The distance into the centre of Florence is not dramatic, though at the end of an exhausting day, don't underestimate the value of excellent walking shoes. On one occasion there wasn't hot water for a shower, though I have come to expect hiccups like that in small places. (The shower had great pressure.) There is one room that you enter from the lounge area, and while we didn't stay in that room, I wondered whether it might be noisier with people coming and going (though with 6 rooms, how noisy could that really be?). Staff leave the hotel after 8pm or so, which was fine with us, but if you prefer to have someone available at all times, this won't be the place for that.
The breakfasts were great and you always have the ability to make tea or coffee. DVDs are also on hand to watch in your room if you like. I wouldn't hestitate to recommend it.....

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Googlehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

This was a wonderful place to stay! The staff were incredibly helpful and spoke fluent English. They explained the city to us with their map, showing us where many of the sites were that we planned to visit. They made excellent, local suggestions for dinner and even called restaurants for us to make reservations. Our room was very quiet, very pleasantly decorated, good hot water, adequate air conditioning, firm bed. They gave us a bottle of wine as it was our honeymoon. Breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, a fresh pastry each day, bread and cereal. Good location, about a 10 min. walk from the train station (with luggage--sidewalks are narrow!) We highly recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

My family and I had a great stay for four nights in early June 2006. We enjoyed two large, comfortable rooms, one of them having a small balcony overlooking an interior patio. Reasonably priced. The bathrooms were very good with lots of hot water. The place is very quiet and restful at night; one does not notice the other guests. Everything is squaky clean.
The breakfast, included in the price of the room, was very good and generous, including fresh fruits, cheeses, breakfast meats, hot and cold cereals, coffeecake, etc. Coffee was excellent and is available thoughout the day. At night one can have biscotti with vino santo as a nitecap.
Location is very good; all major sights are nearby, e.g., 5 minutes to the Academia; 10 to Piazza de la Signoria. One can also walk to Santa Maria Novella train station, about 20-30 minutes.
Staff is friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Their recommendations to good, moderateley priced restaurants nearby proved to be accurate.
Their web site is user friendly and presents faithfully the reality of the place. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OdiseoPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews