We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Market House - Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antica Dimora Firenze
Ranked #86 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Umberto gave us such a very warm welcome to this special little apartment and it was a pleasure to call it our home for a couple of days. The apartment had everything we needed, was really comfortable and in a great location. (The apartment is situated close to all the main attractions, an easy 10 minute walk but not right in the heart of it. Florence can be very touristy in its centre and it was nice to get away from that and see another side to the city in the area around the Market House.) If we are in Florence again we will definitely stay at the Market House and would be happy to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaccaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2009

Dear Guest,
special thanks for your wonderful review about our apartment The Market House. For sure it's the perfect stay for discovering Florence!
Best wishes from Florence!
Amanda and all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 551 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2009

The staff were so friendly from the moment we walked into this unassuming gem off a quiet Florence side street. We were made to feel at home and had a wonderful four poster room with gorgeous antique furniture. We only stayed a couple of nights but could have done with longer!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redtractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2009

Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your review! Yo have spent lovely words for Antica Dimora Firenze and for all the Staff..thank you!
Best wishes and hope to see you againin Florence.
Amanda and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Finding Antica Dimora Firenze was a delight. I stayed there for 6 days and the support and friendliness of the staff was incredible. Breakfast was simple and always fresh. The hotel was great about leaving a tray out for the mornings I had to leave for tours before breakfast was available.
The recommendations I received from the staff was excellent for restaurants, sites to see and tours to take. The recommendations were not just a standard recommendation but based on questions the staff asked about what I wanted. The staff was also very helpful at making reservations for museums as well as for restaurants.
I appreciated the free internet and the netbooks they had available for the guests to borrow. It was great not to have to bring a computer with me and still be able to read my personal email.
I felt as if I was staying in the home of friends, with the advantage of not having to do my room and with plenty of friendly support and advice.
I am looking forward to returning to Antica Dimora, maybe in the winter and exploring more of Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violeta59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2009

Dear Violeta,
your stay in Antica Dimora Firenze has been for us so nice! and we are so happy that you spent good time too. We like when guests feel at home, and it's just how you felt, great!
We look forward to meet you soon again in Florence.
All the best!
Amanda and all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

My friend and I really enjoyed staying at Antica Dimora Firenze. The hotel is not a big one, with 6 rooms, and so similar to a bed and breakfast kind in the U.S. The rooms are cozy and clean, each with its own charming decor. The hotel is well managed and guests get prompt attention and helpful service from the staff. Their support in arranging day tours to explore the Tuscany area and recommendations for sights and restaurants had made our trip to Florence a memorable one. There is also free wi-fi, not that you would be checking your emails while in Florence, but helps to get info if needed. Would definitely come back to stay and recommend to my friends :-)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickson_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2009

Dear Mr. Dickinson,
thanks so much for your nice note. We are really happy that you enjoyed so much your stay with us. Hope to see you again in Florence.
Best wishes
Amanda and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

My family of five, my fiance and brother's girlfriend spent the most wonderful ten days in Florence, mostly as a result of where we stayed. In the short time that we were there, Antica Dimora really came to feel like home and yet had all the hassle free brilliance of a holiday! The rooms were beautiful, and clean, all with welcome air-conditioning, the breakfast table was tempting and there were refreshments for quiet evenings in if we wanted them and the staff were absolutely delightful. Special thanks should go to Amanda who ordered taxis, recommended great places to eat and see and made us feel like friends. She also spoke very good English and was patient with our feeble attempts at Italian! I cannot recommend Antica Dimora highly enough - you have to go to believe just how lovely it is and its central location makes it the perfect way to see this magical city.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashirelass54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2009

Dear Guests,
your stay in Antica Dimora Firenze has been very nice for us. All your family is very kind and nice. Thank you for your review which we very much appreciated. Our guests thoughts are very important for us!
We hope to meet you again in Florence.
Best wishes to you all.
Amanda and all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Had a great stay in Florence...this place was a find...loved the lounge and the balcony....great to come back to after a hard day sightseeing!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
Thank anneinhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2009

Dear Guests,
we so much appreciated your nice review: Mille Grazie! All the best
Amanda and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My girlfriend and I spent 5 nights at Antica Dimora during first week of August 2009. The staff were very helpful (especially Amanda who made dinner suggestions and reservations for us, booked us a taxi for our departure, etc). The breakfast buffet was very well presented and tasty! The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. Our room was right off the breakfast area, and was a very comfy room for us. The B&B was very clean and quiet. It is only a few blocks from the Duomo and other popular tourist spots... close enough to be ultra-convenient, but far enough as to be quiet and private. Highly recommend Antica Dimora if you're visiting Florence for 1 night or 1 month!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2009

Dear Guests,
thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy that you spent such a good time with us and we look forward to welcome you again in Florence.
Sincerely
Amanda and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 409 in Florence
2,383 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#84 of 409 in Florence
1,191 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 409 in Florence
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Antica Dimora Johlea
Antica Dimora Johlea
#30 of 659 in Florence
443 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Duomo
Palazzo Galletti
Palazzo Galletti
#116 of 659 in Florence
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora Firenze

Address: Via San Gallo 72, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $71 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Dimora Firenze is a very special and charming Guest House located in a quiet residential area of Florence next to the historical center at an easy walking distance of the city’s main sites. All rooms have a special florentine decor taking making you feel at home away from home! Friendly staff provide a warm welcome when you arrive, and are full of excellent advice for special tips about restaurante, tours, museum reservations and any advice can be helpful for your stay in Florence! Tea, coffee, biscuits, free WI-FI and laptops are available all day, you can help yourself to drinks from The complimentary and honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antica Dimora Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Firenze Florence
Antica Dimora Firenze Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing