We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
370
182
16
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
182
16
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews via san gallo classical music four poster bed honesty bar living room small terrace san marco antique furniture quiet street other guests small fridge yogurt min walk major sites within easy walking distance accademia firenze
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 573 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My girlfriend and I spent 5 nights at Antica Dimora during first week of August 2009. The staff were very helpful (especially Amanda who made dinner suggestions and reservations for us, booked us a taxi for our departure, etc). The breakfast buffet was very well presented and tasty! The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. Our room was right off the breakfast area, and was a very comfy room for us. The B&B was very clean and quiet. It is only a few blocks from the Duomo and other popular tourist spots... close enough to be ultra-convenient, but far enough as to be quiet and private. Highly recommend Antica Dimora if you're visiting Florence for 1 night or 1 month!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2009

Dear Guests,
thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy that you spent such a good time with us and we look forward to welcome you again in Florence.
Sincerely
Amanda and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Lovely place, beautiful decoration, charasmatic and cosy. Our room was small but more than adequate, with tasteful antique furniture and the air con was a blessing as Florence hit 100 degrees!. Breakfast was sufficient, but i would have liked someone to offer to make me a cappaccino rather than have self service filter coffee. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we found it easliy enough by car, although there is no parking and at 20 euros a day Florence is not a cheap place to park. Finding a car park was also quite task, even with directions given by the hotel! Situated in an old renaissance style building at the back of the city, i loved the buidling itself, it has a great atmostphere, a real individual feel and an lovely old stone stair case (lift available too, but not for the claustrophobic!). However the location is 10-15 mins walk to the market/ duomo area, 30 mins to river, which is a lovely stroll on your way into town, but after a long day sightseeing it did seem a very long walk back...i'm sure the heat did not help! Its not a location which is quick to nip back too for a break in the day and i would not recommend for those who are infirm...or maybe i am getting old or the heat got to me! Overall, we could not fault the hotel itself, or its staff, and if you could move it a few blocks closer it would be perfect. As a tip, apart from the usual sights, dont miss the covered market in the mornings, and ZaZa restaurant/bar opposite the market is still my favourite place to eat/ drink/ hang out and i visit it every time i go (the parmesan omlette is particulalry good!)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2009

Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your review. We agree with you that Florence was really very warm during this summer, and our A/C has been a lot appreciated from all our Guests!
We are just 10minutes walk to the Duomo, but in some occasion even the most central seem far away.
Thanks again for your kindness and hope to see you again in Florence.
Amanda and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This was a convenient place to stay as our base for 5 days in Florence. We liked the fact that it was a 10 min walk away from the hustle and bustle of the Duomo area in a more residential location. We tried a couple of good restaurants nearby -"da Tito" and" Vinolio"- which the receptionist recommended. Very good email communication from the excellent Amanda before we arrived- she booked museums and restaurants for us. Also, for those sport fans that can't bear to miss their "fix" an excellent Irish bar directly across the street showing all major British sporting events! Very clean, very welcoming. The only niggles areas follows. As the place is so small (each of the 6 rooms is off the main room where the breakfast is set up ) the arrival of a maid at 6.30am to very loudly set up the breakfast table ( with much clanging of cutlery, crockery and cupboard banging,) was rather annoying as we would have liked to have been able to sleep longer. Room 4, fairly quiet apart from aforesaid maid and receptionist having long, loud telephone conversations while we were tyring to have afternoon siestas. It only has one small window high up so a little gloomy and very compact showeroom with no fluffy bath towels just the linen type which my husband found didnt really dry him very well. Overall good value.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2009

Dear Guest,
we thank you for your kind review and we are happy you enjoyed so much Antica Dimora Firenze and its very good location far away from 'hustle and bustle' streets of Florence. Us from the Staff do all our best for Guest's satisfaction and really glad it worked out well, thank you!
We are surprised for your disappointment regarding the breakfast and receptionist. The maid prepares breakfast starting from 8.00am as we serve it starting from 8.30am and the REception always pays a lot of attention in not disturbing Guests.We are very sorry for these inconvenients and hope to meet you again in Antica Dimora Firenze for making your stay memorable!
BEst wishes
Amanda and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

A nice B&B, 10 min from centre (walking distance). Comfortable room & good breakfast.
Breakfast room small.
Very friendly welcome & helpful for info

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2009

Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your review! We hope to see you again in Florence, best wishes.
Amanda and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My parents, my husband and I stayed four nights at the Tornabuoni House. We were late getting into Florence and staff met us at the apartment late to pass on the keys and give us a quick tour of the place. The location of the apartment was great and there were many good places to eat near by. Some not so great things to note: both bathrooms smelled horribly. The sewer gas leeks were unbearable and forced for quick showers and vanity time. There was little water pressure and only warm (not HOT) water. Even though we had two bathrooms, it was only possible for one person to bathe at one time. When we checked in we were told that the maid would arrive each day at 11 am: the first day she didn't show up, the second she did only after we called, and never showed up on the third day. The place was pretty clean (except for the pair of under garments we found in the pull out couch). A lot of the furniture was in need of repair (lots of wobbly chairs and tables and the arms of the pull out couch actually fell off!). The washing machine was not working either. I did not like paying the full amount up front in cash - I felt we lost bargaining power if we wanted to leave. Would not stay here again or recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank USParisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2009

Dear guest,
to read your review fills us with regret both for the your unpleasant stay and because you never informed us about your disappointment, despite the convenience of a telephone with direct line to our reception that our clients usually use for any needed assistance.
If youhad informed us we could have reminded you, as written in all our emails that the cleaning is done only every 3 days, also we could have sent a plumber to solve the problem of hot water and bad smell, and last but not least, send a member of our staff to explain the use of washing machine that is fully functional.
We give all necessary assistance to our customers without being invasive. The Tornabuoni House is provided with private telephone (free/unpaid) to communicate at any time with us and to inform us regarding any problems.
After checking all the apartment we ask our guests for payment, but after making sure they are happy with the accommodation this because we do not want to disturb again for settlement. The furniture is antique and vintage, not in need of repair , the nice atmosphere of the Casa Tornabuoni is also thanks to the furniture that makes the apartment elegant, cozy and welcoming.
As you mention we pay lot of attention to cleanliness and so we apologize for the minor inconvenience.
We believe that much of your disappointment is due to a lack of communication, and we could have easily avoided or quickly resolved most of the problems you wrote in your review and we are deeply sorry that you do not have a good memory of your stay in The Tornabuoni House. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again for making you appreciate all the attention and kindness we always have with our guests for making them feel at home away from home!
Amanda & all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews