We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Cheerful for Canadian Couple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antica Dimora Firenze
Ranked #79 of 649 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and Cheerful for Canadian Couple”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at this charming place for 3 nights during our stay in Florence. It is centrally located, while still being on a quiet street that was easy to drive up to and unload our car. The staff remembered we were on our honeymoon and had a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us in our room! The hotel is an apartment with 6 rooms and a common living room, making the place feel more like a home than a hotel! This may be unusual for North Americans as its a bit unassuming and on the 2nd floor of a building, making it a true "hidden gem."

We had a little balcony with cafe table to enjoy the wonderful continental breakfast. The living room was warmly lit with cake left out if we needed for an afternoon snack, as well as coffee and adult beverages. The room was spotlessly clean and classically Italian. It had a great shower. The room was quiet, making it easy to sleep in.

All in all, a great experience, and we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
We are happy that we participated in some positive way to your honeymoon, and we will be glad to have for future anniversaries to discover in depth the notra beautiful city and everything else is' graziea still around and see you soon

Staff

michele
michela
giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    173
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
86
309
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

As I am writing this review, my parents are being harassed by the staff of Antica Dimora. Soon after check-in, a sum of Euro 500 was stolen from their room, and the hotel staff refused to co-operate or call the police. What is more, they're refusing to refund the reservation amount paid to them, so we can check in to a different hotel. I'd highly recommend that visitors stay away from this hotel, or in case you decide to stay, please be extra careful about your belongings. Needles to say, we are highly disappointed with our experience at Antica Dimora

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug_S27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Proprietario at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
It 's our practice to respond to any criticism with kindness and give thanks for the tips that are useful to improve

This message written by the son of the gentlemen ... not this incident, it is absolutely false.

1 there is no evidence that the money was stolen in our residence
Two staff worked up, as always with grace and kindness, despite the arrogant behavior of parents and never collaborative
3 also false that we did not call the police.

And now how things went:
lords, arrived in the late morning from the station, were accompanied in the room and immediately came to the reception for check-in.
Returned to their room immediately reappeared at the front desk beginning in an extremely offensive and rude to rant against staff present (2 and 1 reception for cleaning) indicating that they had stolen from their bag 500.
One of the employees called me and asked me to speak, I immediately went there.
I immediately realized that I bring there was no possibility of dialogue, the staff was in shock at the allegations unjustly obtained, at which point I decided to personally call the police (which we prove)
The lords and staff were present at my call, I explained what had happened praying to intervene directly on site and see for themselves that no one had stolen money.
I was asked if the gentlemen had seen who had carried out the theft, of course they had not seen anyone.
There being no real evidence, I was told that the gentlemen could make a complaint against unknown persons going in person at the police office.
I explained to the gentlemen what I had told the police what they could do, given their address of where to go for making the complaint, but refused to do so.
Instead they asked me what I was willing to do for them, I replied that I was sure of the absolute innocence of my own money and that, if stolen, misappropriated or they were sure to be on the train which had arrived or on the street while came from us.
Having to stay with us 2 nights, I proposed that they pay a single night, only to soften a difficult situation, but not because ritenessi no responsibility of what my staff.
The men were immediately accepted.
I end this way:
I do not allow anyone to accuse people who work with me for years and know that the skills and integrity, without any evidence of theft and only with an unbearable arrogance and rudeness

I regret that the lords have never considered that the theft had occurred before we arrive.

The owner
Johanan Vitta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at Antica Dimora for 2 nights and would certainly return. It is centrally located, a short stroll from all the major attractions, but away from the tourist hubbub on a quiet street. It was a thoroughly relaxing place to return to after a day's exploring and the staff were friendly and helpful. There were plenty of nice little touches: tea, coffee and biscotti were available for self-service throughout the day and night at no extra charge and there was an 'honesty bar' for anything stronger. The breakfast room is small, preventing all visitors from eating at once if the rooms are fully-booked, but there are trays available to carry one's breakfast into one's room. This is a very nice option regardless and we enjoyed eating al fresco on our little balcony. Thoroughly recommended on all counts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
thanking you very much for the words he wanted to leave nosto sian in the guest book here, and make sure it is early yet surely our hostess, we are happy that your stay was short, even if you enjoy the next ....

michele
michela
giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Antica Dimora Firenze is a wonderful property for a reasonable price, by Florence standards. It's in an ideal location for experiencing historic Florence. Rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. The property at 72 Via San Gallo has an added bonus, an inviting, fully stocked living room ideal for socializing or relaxing with a book. The staff could not have been more gracious, providing us with directions, arranging transportation, and making reservations. We highly recommend Antica Dimora Firenze!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txtlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
thank you for your words that make us full satisfaction, we take our customers satisfaction is what matters most, I hope to see you again very soon in our little home, and give you even better services

michele giovanna e michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at Antica Dimora for 5 nights in order to explorer Florence and the Toscany region. This place is a flat in a residence building right in the middle of Florence. It is about 10 minutes walk from the train station Santa Maria Novella. We were greeted by Michela who made us feel very welcomed. She showed us our room which was nicely appointed, and they provided us with a complimentary half wine bottle and some cookies. Daily breakfast was good with coffee, juice, danishes, bread, jams, ham cuts and cheese, and yougurt. We asked Michela for restaurants that she would recommend close to the residenza and around the city, and she provided us with at least 7 places. We tried at least 4 of them, and the food and the atmosphere was great in all of them. She also booked us a one-day tour to Siena, San Gimmignano, and wine tasting in Chianti, which was a great tour. Since, breakfast starts at 8:30am and we needed to be at the train station to meet our tour, Michela provided us with a breakfast tray in our room as well as milk and juice in the fridge the night before, and coffee was ready to brew, we just needed to press the button of the coffee maker. We enjoyed Florence very much, and we would like to go back and we would definitely stay at Antica Dimora again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MVS-DC-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
what to say after reading what you wrote, first a big thank you truly from the heart, by Michela and also from all other (michele and Joanne), I sincerely hope to see you again very soon to see other beautiful places in this beautiful land called Tuscany and Florence, of course. thanks again
michela
Joanne
Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimborne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

excellent hotel, with good service and accommodation, good continental breakfast.
In a quiet location, but within easy reach of the major sights

Room Tip: all rooms appeared to be of an excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thanks again for your simply but great special and sweety words.....i hope see you soon for other special time...

Michele
Giovanna
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurangabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is the 1 BHK flat. The kitchen, bed, bathroom all are excellant. Internet is free. The person responsible for this property is extremly helpful, but does not speack English.
Moreeee than worth for the amount paid. Only doubt I got is regarding safety, as you are staying in new country in seprate flat! But seems okay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
I'm glad you were well into our House Market, see your written words make me happy with my work, will try to improve with regard to cech in taking a person who speaks English to make your journey enjoyable, thanks again and I hope to see you soon in our little house

Staff

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Antica Dimora Johlea
Antica Dimora Johlea
#29 of 649 in Florence
433 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 649 in Florence
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Galletti
Palazzo Galletti
#147 of 649 in Florence
244 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residenza Castiglioni
Residenza Castiglioni
#60 of 649 in Florence
318 reviews
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#53 of 649 in Florence
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora Firenze

Property: Antica Dimora Firenze
Address: Via San Gallo 72, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 649 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Dimora Firenze is a very special and charming Guest House located in a quiet residential area of Florence next to the historical center at an easy walking distance of the city’s main sites. All rooms have a special florentine decor taking making you feel at home away from home! Friendly staff provide a warm welcome when you arrive, and are full of excellent advice for special tips about restaurante, tours, museum reservations and any advice can be helpful for your stay in Florence! Tea, coffee, biscuits, free WI-FI and laptops are available all day, you can help yourself to drinks from The complimentary and honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookAssist, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Antica Dimora Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Firenze Florence
Antica Dimora Firenze Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing