We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, quirky place but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Howard Guest House
Ranked #72 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed at Casa Howard for three nights just after Christmas. While the location, close to Santa Maria Novella church is excellent for exploring the gorgeousness that is central Florence, the room (the Garden Room) was tiny - so small it couldn't accommodate a proper wardrobe - and the bathroom (well ensuite shower to be precise) even smaller. For €170 per night, we didn't expect to be charged a further €12 per person for breakfast and so passed, as even in the majestic Gilli a few minutes' walk away, we could eat handsomely for under €5. Casa Howard claims to offer parking but the reality is that they directed us to the nearest public carpark. There was no special rate and we were stung for €81 for under 3 days parking which was extremely steep. Overall, we weren't overwhelmed - Casa Howard's interesting, well located but nothing more than a glorified B&B charging hotel prices

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Casa Howard Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 491 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2010

This guest house is the perfect Florence lodging to experience the Italian architecture and ambience

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trails2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We spent two nights at Casa Howard, staying in the Terrace Room (€220 per night). We had a delightful experience and would gladly stay at Casa Howard again ... I hope we do!

The room itself is large and looks exactly as portrayed on the Casa Howard website. The bed (actually two twins hooked together to form a king) is extremely comfortable. As the room was also very quiet, sleeping was great. Because of the temperature at the time of our stay, we used neither heating or air conditioning. Also, do get the feeling that the Terrace Room is only for dog owners. We did not have a dog and would not have noticed that dogs use the room, except for the dog bed stored on top of the wardrobe.

The terrace is lovely and large. We did not order the breakfast; we thought the price was a bit high and my partner does not like the breads/cakes that you normally get for breakfast in Italy. However, having breakfast on the private terrace would have been delightful and may be worth the money.

The location of the hotel is great. You can find properties closer to the centre, but it was only a 10 - 15-minute walk to the Duomo, and a little more than 5 minutes to San Lorenzo. And, it's only about a 5 minute walk to the train station; we did not need a taxi either when arriving or leaving.

The two housekeepers - mother and daughter - were delightful and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We did not ask for much, but when we enquired about train time to Pisa, we quickly received a printout from the internet with all the information we needed.

The 'honor bar' concept worked well. Soft drinks were €2 and the bottle of perfectly acceptable white wine we drank one evening was only €10.

I would gladly stay again ... I think I will try the Camel Room next time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iskaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

My husband and I took a chance with Casa Howard and it paid off. We had the Fireplace room in the Florence guest house. We were very happy with the room. It had a King size bed, very comfortable, large closet, flat screen tv and a huge bathroom for European standards. There was even a claw foot bathtub in the center of the bathroom with plenty of room to move around, not to mention a flat screen TV in the bathroom. I have to say that the woman who takes care of the place, Christine, was very helpful, made us feel comfortable and answered all of our questions. We had a small issue with the hot water at about 8:30pm. We were skeptical that it could be fixed anytime soon and figured we wouldn't have hot water that evening but it was fixed immediately. Another great thing about the hotel was the location. It's about 5 minutes walking distance from the SMF train station and the Santa Maria Novella church. Florence is fairly small so it was also easy to walk to everything. I heard they are trying to open a Casa Howard in Venice and we are looking forward to staying there as well as returning to Casa Howard Florence some day.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed at Casa Howard with our twin daughters. The hotel was beautifully decorated and the staff very personable and helpful. It is not so easy to find a reasonably priced place to stay with kids, but we were all very comfortable and our girls (8 years old) loved the climbing wall in the room. The hotel was very central and the staff even helped us walk our luggage to the train station. We would definitely recommend to others.

Thank dpendleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

we (my wife and me) stayed for 3 days at casa howard in florence. I made the reservation through the internet and check in as well as the appartment (with balcony) just was perfect. The landlords as well as the staff were very very friendly and helpful in any case. The appartment was very quite (even though in the center of florence), air condition with a lovely balcony. Breakfast has been served to our appartment. We also got the chance to take a look at the other appartments which were individual designed -all by the owner.
In summary: We highly recommend casa howard - the service was perfect and we never met so lovely people (staff). It makes a romantic stay (even though I had to work too) in a beautiful city perfect. We will come back!
Many thanks to Howard Casa
Birgit und Stefan (mannheim, germany)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMannheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

My relative from South Africa told me that she had a very pleasant stay at Casa Howard in Florence. I know Florence quite well, and usually stay with friends outside the city; this time, however, I needed to be in the center, so I decided to go to Casa Howard. It turned out to be a wonderful experience: marvelous, friendly service, a lovely breakfast, a beautiful, clean, tastefully decorated room, and the great convenience of being able to walk everywhere from this central location. I am sure that I will go back many times.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pusele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#80 of 411 in Florence
1,483 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#184 of 411 in Florence
699 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#86 of 411 in Florence
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#164 of 411 in Florence
395 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#73 of 411 in Florence
1,640 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#15 of 656 in Florence
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Howard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Howard Guest House

Address: Via della Scala,18 Black, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $76 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Howard Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Guest House - Casa Howard is neither a hotel nor a B&B. As the door will open, you will step into an eccentric guest house that will make you feel at home and will inevitably capture your heart. The Guest House is a large family house that is only partially used as such. Each room recreates a different setting, where the well-finished details emphasize the experience for the traveller. Casa Howard is the perfect alcove for couples who dream of a romantic retreat, as well as the most comfortable solution for families travelling with children or domestic animals. Choose one of the rooms with a view and seize all the emotions that transpire while looking at the rooftops of the Renaissance neighbourhoods. A stay in Florence has never been more emotional, sophisticated and enchanting. You will be given the house keys, and you will be able to live the city as local inhabitant. You will realise that this Guest House is the ideal starting point to discover the wonders of the city centre. Its location is at a walking distance from Santa Maria Novella and from many other major touristic sites, such as the David of Michelangelo (at the Galleria dell’Accademia), the San Frediano borough, the Mercato di S.Ambrogio and of San Lorenzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Howard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Howard Guest Houses Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing