We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and charming rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Howard Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Howard Guest House
Ranked #193 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location and charming rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had a great time staying at Casa Howard in the Twin Left Room which was one of the smaller rooms but still very charming, clean and well kept. It is conveniently located near Santa Maria Novella Piazza and train station. There is a great pizzeria and gelateria on the block too!

Thanks to Sally and Mylene for their friendly and professional customer service. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivianhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    111
    50
    25
    17
See reviews for
67
225
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our stay at Casa Howard was a delight! We stayed in the The Oriental Room, with windows facing both the sunlit road and the cloister of the S.M. Novella perfumery (an incredible place not to be missed – their toiletries are also found in Casa Howard’s bathrooms). The room was a warm and welcoming space offering much sensorial indulgence. The bed was surprisingly large and comfortable; the wooden floors were painted black (we were told that the linseed paint took three months to dry..!), ancient fabrics adorned the walls (brought from TienTsin by Jenifer Howard’s mother) and a very spacious shower… All quite cool and comfy. And it should be mentioned that the service was great, considering it isn’t even a hotel. And I almost forgot to add, the location is exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

When we arrived in Florence it was at night and quite dark. We had difficulty trying to find the hotel as there is no large sign,just a small gold placard. It is about opposite Hotel Rivoli. When we first got there we rang the bell and the front door unlocked. We then met a gate inside the door and didn’t know what to do. After ringing the bell about 5 times a lady yelled down to us to come to level one but we didn’t know how to get through the gate. In the end she came down to take us upstairs. There is an old manual lift that takes you to the first floor. Our first impression was that it was very eery and not a hotel, but more like a B&B.

The decor was very kooky, rustic and antique looking. I do not recommend this place for people who are clean freaks but for people who want something different. The room and bathroom had wooden floorboards and there were no slippers supplied. There was a kettle and teabags in the room but the teabags were not wrapped up so I didn’t use them. The shower is not tiled, it’s like stepping on cement and the walls were not smooth when you accidentally hit it whilst showering you could graze yourself.

There is free wifi with no password needed. There is no mini bar in the room, everyone has access to a fridge and you write down what you take. Also you have access to a free Nespresso Machine and fresh walnuts in the shell in the foyer at the bottom of the stairs. I found it quite cold in the room as you cannot change the temperature in each room. The beds were not the best and the pillows were flat but they gave us two per person so we stacked both of them together. The bedsheets and towels also smelt a bit funny. The TV reception also kept cutting out.

All in all I wouldn’t rate this hotel highly but I may stay here again due to location. It was so central we would drop off our purchases at the hotel during the day. It’s very close to the Central Station and Piazza Santa Maria Novella.

Room Tip: We had the Camel Room which was the first room as you go up the stairs. I wouldn’t recommend this ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franger28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We did not enjoy our stay here. The Oriental Room may have been the mistake, as it was small, dark, and had a bathroom/pipes odor throughout our stay. Amenities are next to zero here, so would recommend bringing your own preferred shampoo and conditioner. Hand towels were really thin also. Location was decent as it was close to Santa Maria train station, but our room also faced the street which you could hear noise throughout the night. It's not a hotel, which I understood when booking, but nonetheless was disappointed with the lack of cool, comfort or luxury.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagreb
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Dear friends at Casa Howard I would like to use this opurtunity to thank you for a very pleasent stay at your houses in Florence and Rome especially for finding for us a beautifull hotel in via Gregoriana.

We send special regards to very kind and friendly owner Cristina because she showed that she cares for her customers.

Distinti Saluti

Room Tip: we would recomend black and white
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank el tarik m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

My cousin and I traveled italy last June 2011. In Florence, we initially booked a lousy hotel whose name I already forgot. It reeked of rotten strawberry and the AC didn't work.

We had no choice but to look for better accommodations. This is when we found CASA HOWARD! The courteous Filipino staff led by Cristine made our stay worthwhile. Casa Howard is a small bed and breakfast near Farmacia de Santa Maria Novella. Each room in Casa Howard has a unique theme. We were lucky enough to stay at the Library Room. The room is big. It has a view of Via della Scalla. We barely heard the noise outside.

As for the amenities, there is a Nespresso machine in the communal area. It is free for guests. Also, the toiletries provided for are by Santa Maria Novella. It is indeed a very luxurious experience in one of the best cities in Italy.

Further, the staff were more than willing to assist us in getting reservations at restaurants. They were able to point us to hole-in-the-wall restaurants which served authentic Tuscan cuisine at cheaper prices. My hands-off to them.

To anyone, going to Florence. I would highly recommend Casa Howard. (mind the small elevator though).

As a note, The Mall and Prada Space Outlet is a 45 minute drive from Florence.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garlicManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed in Fireplace room on first floor. Large and very comfortable although being at the front of the property did suffer from some street noise. Very convenient city location, 5 minutes walk from main railway station and approximately 10 minutes to the main attractions. Many good restaurants close by.Staff very friendly and helpful and room kept very clean.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cselmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#151 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#211 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#76 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Howard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Howard Guest House

Property: Casa Howard Guest House
Address: Via della Scala,18 Black, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Howard Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA HOWARD Guest Houses – Rome and Florence The Art of Hospitality. Casa Howard Guest Houses are not hotels. Each Casa Howard is a beautiful private house, in an outstanding location whether an apartment, palazzo or farmhouse, which gives personal service, and where some typically "hotel" ideas, methods and services have been borrowed. With uniquely designed, cosy rooms it’s like staying in a very relaxed, stylish friend’s home – as guests you get the keys of the house, you enjoy the original furniture and objects, you feel the atmosphere of the house. A mix of quality-to-price ratio, uniqueness of location, private home heritage and introduced guests approach deserved Casa Howard many featuring on the international press. Last but not least, CH are now in the bestselling 1000 Places to See before You die !!• A SENSORIAL EXPERIENCE : how different is the feeling of spending some days in a real private house rather than in a public grand hotel, in the top art city of the world! LUXE: we may not define CH a luxury place, rather a true exclusive place (nonetheless we are featured on most of the luxury guidebooks in the world, like the LUXE city book of Grant Thatcher or the LOUIS VUITTON guidebook). Casa Howard (Florence) is located close to Santa Maria Novella, Casa Howard (Rome) close to the Spanish Steps – the ideal spots for accessing the city’s profusion of architectural treasures and shopping! Urban chic close to the action. Suave and surprising, the Casa Howard is located close to the Santa Maria Novella – an ideal spot for accessing the city’s profusion of architectural treasures. This is a Guest House, it is not in the hotel category (e.g. they do not have a concierge, nor do they provide porters etc); it is a private family’s houses partially opened to introduced paying guests. Former guests have a priority booking channel. A mix of quality-to-price ratio, uniqueness of location, private home heritage, and introduced guests approach deserved Casa Howard some awards and many many featuring on international press. It is an intriguing mix of private mansion and hip hotel, providing guest accommodation in stylish apartments. Eco attitude : see down *All the original floors and ceilings have been maintained, there are flourishes of pure silk taffeta at the windows, and many love the chic designer touches such as the occasional black silk sofa, sunken marble bath, full-wall padded bed head, mosaic inlay or 18th century French writing desk. For relaxation after a day’s exploration along the Via Tornabuoni, unwind in the hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Howard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Howard Guest Houses Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing