We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value lunches in Artigiana centre - why pay more?”
Review of Oltrarno

Oltrarno
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.19*
and up
4-Hour Oltrarno District Food Walking Tour
Ranked #79 of 631 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the city's left bank, this neighborhood preserves the past.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
196 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Best value lunches in Artigiana centre - why pay more?”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

It is difficult for me to say when I visited the OLtrarno because I live here on the "Other side of the Arno" which was considered of little interest until Eleonora di Medici bought the Pitti Palace from the 'bancarotta' (bankrupt) Luca Pitta as a healthier place to bring up her ever growing family. The property prices then, as now, were lower and also the cost of food - and this is oof interest to the tourist of today - visit Il Bordino, il Diladdarnio, Il Brindleone or even a single course from the much lauded Il Santo BEVITORE for the best priced (presso fisse) menus in town - you might never want to eat in the historic centre again! want to

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank penny_howard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    63
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Artisans, Great Food, Fewer Tourists!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We went to Oltrarno twice during our 3 days in Florence and really loved it. Really, Oltrarno made the trip in Florence for us. Florence is small and packed with tourists but you cross the Arno and Oltrarno has a completely different ambiance. There are immediately fewer tourists and more locals, less English and more Italian, less tourist tricket shops and more artisan crafts. We wandered all through the district, looked at shops, and sat in Piazza Santo Spirito. We bought some ceramics and watercolor paintings and enjoyed a delicious, authentic dinner. If you are going to Florence and want to get outside of the central tourist area, this is your place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay here next time we are in Florence”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Florence was a bit disappointing to me, with it's crowds and packs of tourists jostling for every picture and underwhelming meals. Then we crossed the Arno- and it changed. It is still touristy, but not with the "bus loads of day trippers" touristy. And the shops and restaurants and views are magnificent. We will definitely stay in the Oltrarno from now on.
Piazzale Michelangelo is not to be missed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BrendaDan438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Need an entire day here for a Florentine experience”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

What I liked: authentic shops, the chance to get happily lost, delicious food choices, more authentic shops, lovely street artists...
What I did not like: nothing

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachnimbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
292 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“The 'quiet side' of Firenze”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

In visits past, I went walking on adventures over to this side of the river, it was not crowded or popular with tourists, but it was full of interesting artisan work shops, local small food markets, quiet piazza's to sit and reflect in; I was hard pressed to find any English spoken. This trip I found it to be very discovered! Visitors young and old and in between have crossed the bridge to see what's on the other side.
This trip, we again meandered onto many little streets, poked into shops that do book restoration, wooded furniture recovery, frame shops, but best of all ... food. The restaurants are more family style, fresh and basic. Slow food is easy to find. And the small local markets provide the basics for home meals. We stayed on this side this trip, so it was easy to fall out the door and take a long or short walk and 'discover' a new street, an amazing gold artist, or run over to whatever square the market was in that day.
The downside to any city life is the constant sound... at night, even with the newly installed sound limiting windows the sounds of 'happening' drift in. And then of course there is the no drive areas, and the issue of having a car in the city limits ( find a garage!), and the ever changing direction of street traffic - just because a street tracked one way 2 weeks ago, don't count on that this week! But that said, it is a beautiful part of Florence, full,of it's own history, culture, breath stopping church art, architecture and... Food.
Cross the river and go beyond the Pitti Palace or Boboli Gardens. Stroll onto quiet streets. These are neighborhoods of the city.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank babbettandcaptbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oltrarno also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Oltrarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing