We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a walking distance to Duomo, bed sheets not clean”
Review of Hotel Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monica
Ranked #251 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a walking distance to Duomo, bed sheets not clean”
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Despite being on a street close to the train station, it is a 15 min walk (there were lots of hotels closer to the city center). Distance to Duomo was 1.3km, so not really a walking distance on a hot sunny day. You can find hotels better located for the same price. Bed sheets not very clean as well. Pick a hotel closer to Duomo, even if on the same street. There were about 15 hotels closer to restaurants and attractions. We had to walk 3 blocks just to find a bar/restaurant (this hotel is the last one of the street, away from the city center).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brazil 26 Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    76
    60
    12
    7
See reviews for
40
96
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Hotel is near the central train station and a 10 min walk from the city center. It was a little disappointing when we realized that hotel is on the first floor of the building, and there was no elevator, but the receptionist carried all of our bags to our room (one floor more). Room was simple but spacious and clean. The bad thing is that there is no shower cabin, so it was a little bit messy after showering in the tiny bathroom. They have a very nice terrace that we could use in the evening. Breakfast is very simple, but enough for start of the day. Receptionist (I`m sorry I don't know his name) also gave us all information we needed about getting around, free city map and even train tickets to Pisa, which were left by some other guests. Overall, great choice for a budget travel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aane70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my girlfriend. The hotel is in a nice, quiet street only a 5 minute walk from the train station. The centre of Florence is only about 10 minutes away on foot. The hotel is clean, has everything you need and is great value. Breakfast is basic but is ideal to start you off for a day of sight-seeing. The staff are really friendly and will provide any help or information you need. Would definetly recommend this hotel for people wanting to explore Florence without breaking the bank!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raw883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I'm glad we chose this hotel but it was hard to find, even through it's only 2 blocks from the train station. Get good directions before you go and DON'T depend on Google maps! It's an easy 10-15 minute walk to nearly everything. The room was fine, the bathroom is tiny, but the walls are paper thin. We could hear coming and going in the hall all night long because of the wooden floors. The price is a bargin, but if you're a light sleeper you won't like it. Otherwise it's great.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Hotel Monica was a great hotel! The staff was extra nice and helpful. The room was rather large and so was the bathroom. It was location 3 blocks from the main train station and about 5 blocks from the Duomo and David. Breakfast was included.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ape2658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Our first time to Florence and we were warmly welcomed and are already planning a return visit. Hotel very good and central to all the tourists spots.Leonardo was helpful by recommending a restaurant which we very much enjoyed.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Sas053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

its in a great area, its only 2 blocks away from train station, and you might thing that that is too close, but in those 2 blocks the scene changes alot. its quite at nite, there is no car traffic, a few scooters. your at the duomo before you know it or want to, we stayed in room 18, ok the room is big enough, and it has the only private door to the beautiful terrace. the only bad thing is that room 18 is on the same floor as the reception and is right next to the breakfast area.... soooo you can hear people early in the am eating... if your trying to sleep in ask for a different room. the owner who works 12hrs a day everyday is friendly and speaks some english. overall the place is fine and i recommend it

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room 18 next to breakfast area
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#153 of 422 in Florence
465 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#147 of 422 in Florence
302 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 422 in Florence
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Careggi
#187 of 422 in Florence
338 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#239 of 422 in Florence
152 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#143 of 422 in Florence
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monica

Property: Hotel Monica
Address: Via Faenza 66, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing