We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than only two stars.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Lorenzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Lorenzo
Ranked #326 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Angera, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than only two stars.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just for a week-end but very pleasent place, close to main city attractions. Walking through main streets of shopping you can watch better historical corners of this ancient town. Close to the hotel you can also have a tour into Cover Central Market, you can find all better typical foods of Tuscany. Just close to the hotel you can have a magic tour with Pepo' restaurant cuisine.
All people we found was so friendly, Florence is a young city with multiethnical culture.
Better visit it with NO CAR, better with train and local transfers.
Good idea the taxi-biked, only for two people, but .....a great way eco-sustainable.

Room Tip: room with private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zi0Bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    86
    61
    28
    28
See reviews for
58
114
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at Hotel San Lorenzo for a few days on September 2013. The staff and the receptionist Sanji particularly was friendly and helpful. He has done detailed explanation of the area and assist to upgrade our room for the bigger one. Breakfast included and had a selection from tea, coffee, breads spreads, cereal and more. But, having in my mind our busy day schedule and habits we preferred to buy some vegies and meet from the farmers and combined it with breakfast provided. (The hotel is located just a hundred meters from the market). Sanji and the girl on duty have supplied us with additional plates and cutlery. Hotel has no lift, so be careful if you have some health problems or heavy baggage. We had no problems to jump on the third floor. At least 500 hundred years local residents did it. Have a nice Florentine atmosphere! Before booking call them and clarify your room position and size. I would stay there in a future because of the food market and SMN Train station close by. Best wishes to the staff of the Hotel
Alex and Irina

Room Tip: Before booking call them and clarify your room position and size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at Hotel San Lorenzo for one during our time in Florence. The hotel is located a five minute walk to the Duomo. The rooms were clean and was cosy as there were five of us in the one room. Breakfast was included and had a selection from tea, coffee, breads spreads, cereal and more. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It's just around the corner from the leather market also. Great for a short stay in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma8801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The staff at the Hotel San Lorenzo was extemely helpful and made the Hotel. The location is good for food, attractions, & travel. The drawbacks are the rooms are small, the shower gets the whole bathroom wet (poor design), the hotel is 4 floors up, and the window is to a courtyard. It was a nice value and I'd use the hotel again if in Florance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Strictly backpackers at best. No lift and the hotel starts on the second floor. Given a room with bathroom across the passage for 'your exclusive' use. This lasted one night! Changed rooms with improvements but the air conditioner had little affect as it was in the bathroom! Most fittings were either broken or ineffective. The only plus was the location but that would not make me return or recommend it. A disappointing experience. The manager is too old and not capable of making decisions that are necessary for such a business. The one star is for location only.

Room Tip: Use the filters offered by providers to help eliminate some pitfalls,ie lift, air conditioning. Flor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

134 euro for 5 people, 1 night - we could not have ask for any more that we got at this hotel for this price. We were all in one room, which was cosy, but nice. Breakfast in the morning was included and was tasty. The hotel was a 3 minute walk to the Duomo and find that we were welcomed to another hotel in a 500 year old cellar for a free wine, this was also a great experience. Fantastic place for a short term budget stay - we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

If you are a light packer, traveling on a budget and don't want anything more but a room to sleep in this is the place for you. Location was just a few minutes walk to the main sites in Florence. However you do walk up four flights of stairs, there are no lifts. Maybe not good if you have young children or older adults. You have to pay for parking in a garage and an attendant takes your car when you arrive and brings it to you when you check out so please note you will be walking your whole stay. Also walls are very thin so you will hear all outside street noise and inside hotel noise. This hotel was fine for my husband and I where we were only in our room at night however may not be suited for family travel or comfort travel. I would recommend this hotel but please be realize the type of hotel yoy are booking.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinggirl3623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#264 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#306 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#245 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#255 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#127 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Lorenzo

Property: Hotel San Lorenzo
Address: Via Rosina 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Lorenzo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Lorenzo is a small hotel situated in the central square of florence, the hotel at the second floor offer all the rooms with the private bathroom, tvc, minibar and others many confortable services.the location is very good, only 10 minutes from the train station and in the middle of all the more importants monuments, just in front is situated the famous and historical san lorenzo market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lorenzo Hotel
San Lorenzo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing