We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Savonarola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Savonarola
Ranked #135 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“charming and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

even if i only stayed 2 nights i can tell that this was a great last minute choice. Friendly english speaking staff, spacious and warm room, good wi-fi and pretty good location. The value was pretty good as well.

Helpful?
Thank toniaguran
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
leonardo c, Proprietario at Hotel Savonarola, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Kind Guest

thanks for your review and for the time you have spent here in florence, with us.
We are very happy that our work is appreciated and we are gonna do more and more to make everybody's stay a time to be remembered.

thanks !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    124
    36
    10
    0
See reviews for
57
124
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms,hot water,very kind staff(they helped us in everything we asked) and only 10minutes on foot to the city center!The train station is 20 minutes far on foot or 7 minutes with the bus no1(1,25? ticket).Awesome choice if you don't want to spend more than 20? per night and all near to this hotel!

Helpful?
1 Thank gipas7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Korce, Albania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

When i got there i thought that was a good pick. They friendly welcomed me and helped me with my lost baggage in Florence's airport . I've enjoyed the free wireless access, the breakfast and most of all the kindness of all the workers. Clean room and perfect english spoke by the owners. It's walking distance from the major attractions too!!. Thanks!

Room Tip: "Ai piani più alti il rumore delle unità A/C è inferiore"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonardo c, Proprietario at Hotel Savonarola, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
thank you very very mcuh for leaving sucha nice opinion on Hotel Savonarola. We have recently started a few renovations inside our Hotel and we are happy that you ahve appreciated our work !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korce, Albania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

" My first intention was to spend as less as possible in town. The hotel is a tiny treasure.
They have very nicely decored rooms, wi-fi free in our room, large tv, clean bathroom and tasty italian breakfast . The reception gave us very good directions and suggestions for trattoria's were excellent. We've been lucky, hoping to go back there one day ! "

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank franceska123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonardo c, Proprietario at Hotel Savonarola, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Kind Franceska

thanks a lot from me and from all our staff.
We've been delighted to offer you our hospitality.

thanks a million !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

I booked this hotel (hostel) online, based from the photos they had posted. That was my first mistake. Aside from the hotel being within 10-15minute walking distance to many of the Old City sights, this hotel was poor. I had requested a private bathroom for our stay, which was disgusting. I would not touch the floor with bare feet, and standing in the shower somehow made you feel dirtier after the shower than before. The room iteself was fine, spacious enough, but also unclean. There was thick dust and grime on everything, and the bedding was stained. Our room was beside the main entrance doors, which there are 2 steel gates, so trying to stay asleep, let alone rested, was impossible. The breakfast is not included in the cost, $5/person, but you'd have better food going to a nearby cafe. The service at the front desk was helpful, pointing out the routes to the sights and nearby ammenities. So if cleanliness and rest isn't high on your prioriteis, then try out Hotel Savonarola, otherwise, stay elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c_frey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

I visited Florence from the U.S. recently and stayed at this hotel at a student discount because I knew some students studying abroad in Florence.

It was my first European hotel, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but once I got over differences in toilet design, I found the place comfortable. I had a twin bed, which is not common, they have nicer rooms. But the service was superb, the desk clerks will go out of their way to make sure you're enjoying your stay in Florence, and yes, they speak English just fine!

The location is about 8 blocks (if you can call the weird streets in Florence "blocks") from the Duomo, which is basically the cultural center of town. You'll be walking everywhere in Florence anyway, so get used to it.

There's a charming modern cafe below the hotel and a supermarket about 3 blocks to the north with cheap food.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NonRevTravelBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

I had booked Hotel Benvenuti, but when we arrived we were taken to Hotel Savonarola in the same building, on the same floor. Same budget price & type of room, with breakfast. We were still within easy walking distance of the Duomo & historical district. The breakfast was good and Dina, one of the front desk workers, was a charming hostess. The rooms are plain, but comfortable with internet access in the room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#166 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#92 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#168 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#122 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Careggi
#191 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savonarola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savonarola

Property: Hotel Savonarola
Address: Viale Giacomo Matteotti 27 | Secondo Piano Con Ascensore, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Savonarola 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Savonarola Florence Hotel Savonarola is a cheap and delicious 2-star hotel in Florence located near the historical city center of Florence. The reception is always open and ready in consigliarvisu how to best spend your stay in the city. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD and a small refrigerator. We have a lounge where guests can enjoy drinks and snacks. We will be happy to accommodate you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Savonarola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing