We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a friendly hotel owner”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #280 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We visited Florence at the end of July from Canada and we stayed there 2 days. The owner Manola made us feel right at home. The hotel was clean and most important, close to all the main attractions in Florence. We spent two wonderful days in this beautiful city. Manola is the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellertony73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 64 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Located a few minutes walk away from the Florence SMN station, and nearby to the other attractions such as churches. There are a few restaurants and bars nearby, so it is very convenient if you are a bit tired.

The room was neat, it was a good enough sleep, although the walls are a bit thin.
There is free wifi, but the signal strength is not great, and it keeps logging you off every 15 minutes or so.
It is good enough if you want to have a quick browse on your laptop/phone. There are a few computers downstairs if you want a better internet experience.

The breakfast was good, the choice was enough, and the dining area was pleasantly clean.

Overall, it is a good hotel for a nice price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Pros : Well located, a few minutes walk from SNM and main parts of the city. Clean room and friendly staff. We rented a room with washroom which was kept tidy enough.
Cons : The wifi did not work in our room though, we had to go to the common room to get internet access. While we were expecting breakfast, the lady told us on the first day that she did not serve it during this period. We did get a discount though on our final bill.
Overall, the price is reasonable for the location and quality.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank YonyK_Ahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked on the 27th May having searched Expedia for wifi included hotels in the centre. On arrival, the first thing the lady told my wife was that the wifi had been down for a month as she was changing providers. Wifi is something we really rely on when we travel as we use it to keep in touch with friends, check restaurants, weather and things to see (blessed TA), so we spent quite a long portion of that evening looking for places that had wifi that worked (the pub next door had wifi what wouldn't let you connect).

In the morning, when we mentioned to the lady that we had booked wifi, she told us we should have read the terms and conditions as it stated there that wifi was not available until the end of June. I checked this out later as I had printed out the contract and there were no such terms when I had booked, so they had been added since I had booked a couple of weeks before (I suspect shortly after my wife arrived the previous evening, but have not asked Expedia about this).

It put a downer on the three days of our trip really, but if you aren't worried about such things, the room itself was basic (no tv) but clean and very well located. It is not really a hotel, but more a hostel with a normal door at street level, but quiet enough and with en suite). I must say, in other respects, the lady was very helpful and also discounted our stay 5 euros a day when we left and appeared to genuinely care in an argumentative sort of way.

We took some time (without the Internet and TA to help us) finding a good place to eat and would recommend the buffet at Cruise Lounge Bar a couple of blocks away. For 8 euros, you get a generous glass of good wine and well prepared cold buffet with pasta, salad, fish, calamari, sandwiches and so on. We found it late, but hopefully this may help someone.

Room Tip: I recommend asking about whether the wifi is sorted (may have mentioned that in my review ;-) )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElGales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is located in a good area near to all important parts of florence. However there is no elevator there is a friendly Manola there who always ready to healp you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Samereh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KURNIAWAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Matteo and Manola treat you like family. This is a nice, simple, conveniently located hotel in the heart of Florence. Hotel Nazionale is perfect for the college student, the backpacker, the budget traveler or anyone who wants a simple hotel with no fuss. The hotel is a quick walk from the SMN train station.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LLBSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#273 of 410 in Florence
96 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#261 of 410 in Florence
255 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Sampaoli
Hotel Sampaoli
#320 of 410 in Florence
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#278 of 410 in Florence
53 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#301 of 410 in Florence
242 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#234 of 410 in Florence
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Address: Via Nazionale 22, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $149 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Nazionale 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing