We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a friendly hotel owner”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #276 of 421 Hotels in Florence
travellertony73
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“a friendly hotel owner”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We visited Florence at the end of July from Canada and we stayed there 2 days. The owner Manola made us feel right at home. The hotel was clean and most important, close to all the main attractions in Florence. We spent two wonderful days in this beautiful city. Manola is the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellertony73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
28
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Located a few minutes walk away from the Florence SMN station, and nearby to the other attractions such as churches. There are a few restaurants and bars nearby, so it is very convenient if you are a bit tired.

The room was neat, it was a good enough sleep, although the walls are a bit thin.
There is free wifi, but the signal strength is not great, and it keeps logging you off every 15 minutes or so.
It is good enough if you want to have a quick browse on your laptop/phone. There are a few computers downstairs if you want a better internet experience.

The breakfast was good, the choice was enough, and the dining area was pleasantly clean.

Overall, it is a good hotel for a nice price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Pros : Well located, a few minutes walk from SNM and main parts of the city. Clean room and friendly staff. We rented a room with washroom which was kept tidy enough.
Cons : The wifi did not work in our room though, we had to go to the common room to get internet access. While we were expecting breakfast, the lady told us on the first day that she did not serve it during this period. We did get a discount though on our final bill.
Overall, the price is reasonable for the location and quality.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank YonyK_Ahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked on the 27th May having searched Expedia for wifi included hotels in the centre. On arrival, the first thing the lady told my wife was that the wifi had been down for a month as she was changing providers. Wifi is something we really rely on when we travel as we use it to keep in touch with friends, check restaurants, weather and things to see (blessed TA), so we spent quite a long portion of that evening looking for places that had wifi that worked (the pub next door had wifi what wouldn't let you connect).

In the morning, when we mentioned to the lady that we had booked wifi, she told us we should have read the terms and conditions as it stated there that wifi was not available until the end of June. I checked this out later as I had printed out the contract and there were no such terms when I had booked, so they had been added since I had booked a couple of weeks before (I suspect shortly after my wife arrived the previous evening, but have not asked Expedia about this).

It put a downer on the three days of our trip really, but if you aren't worried about such things, the room itself was basic (no tv) but clean and very well located. It is not really a hotel, but more a hostel with a normal door at street level, but quiet enough and with en suite). I must say, in other respects, the lady was very helpful and also discounted our stay 5 euros a day when we left and appeared to genuinely care in an argumentative sort of way.

We took some time (without the Internet and TA to help us) finding a good place to eat and would recommend the buffet at Cruise Lounge Bar a couple of blocks away. For 8 euros, you get a generous glass of good wine and well prepared cold buffet with pasta, salad, fish, calamari, sandwiches and so on. We found it late, but hopefully this may help someone.

Room Tip: I recommend asking about whether the wifi is sorted (may have mentioned that in my review ;-) )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElGales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRAN
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is located in a good area near to all important parts of florence. However there is no elevator there is a friendly Manola there who always ready to healp you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Samereh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Matteo and Manola treat you like family. This is a nice, simple, conveniently located hotel in the heart of Florence. Hotel Nazionale is perfect for the college student, the backpacker, the budget traveler or anyone who wants a simple hotel with no fuss. The hotel is a quick walk from the SMN train station.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LLBSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#281 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#243 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Albergo Sonia
#292 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#269 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#278 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Hotel Leopolda
#262 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Property: Hotel Nazionale
Address: Via Nazionale 22, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Nazionale 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing