We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasantly surprised- perfect, simple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Universo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Universo
Ranked #221 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised- perfect, simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great location near the train station but surprisingly in a more quiet area. Right next to a beautiful Santa Maria Novella Piazza and some little bars and shops. Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and the free breakfast had plenty of good options. The location is what made this the perfect place. We were within 10 minutes walking of almost everything (Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Piazza Republica) yet we were slightly away from the hordes and crowds of people. I would definitely stay there again as the price was right!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coley9117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    199
    95
    52
    32
See reviews for
68
234
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We chose this hotel for its location and were not disappointed. We needed to be close to Santa Maria Novella train station because we arrived by train from Venice, and were visiting both Pisa and Rome by train too. The train station is so close to this hotel. Santa Maria Novella Basilica is a few steps in front of it. The Duomo is a short walk away, and so are many other tourist attractions, restaurants, shops, transportation, etc. We were upgraded to a much bigger room for three though we were two; with a view of the Piazza San Maria Novella and the courtyard. This room was not too colorful or dark at all, and I liked waking up with the views of the church and it’s Piazza. I also liked watching the activities around the church from my windows. It was always busy and interesting in the Piazza, even at night. The room was very clean and comfortable. The service was very good and we got all the assistance we needed from the staff in every way. The elevator is very small but our luggage was always carried for us so that did not matter. I did not spend much time in the common areas except the breakfast room. Breakfast had enough variety for me to choose from. All in all, we had a good stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Since this hotel is reasonably priced, pay more for a bigger room if you want more space. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FabGlobetrotter03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The staff were very helpful. Everything else - the room, breakfast, the common areas - was a bit tired and stuffy. But I guess Florence is a hard place to find a good hotel for a good price. The location was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located just a few meters away from the station. The check was quick. The lady at the check in counter Suzana was very courteous. The room was spacious and comfortable beds. Breakfast was also good. Overall liked the place. The entire staff at the hotel was very good n helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amitlapasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Location is perfect. We did everything in the hisorical center just a few minutes away walking. Windows are sound proof, very useful when staying at SMN square (specially at Notte Bianca night).
Our double bed was actually two separate single beds moved next to each other, which separated if you moved to the middle gap. There is no wardrobe or drawers for clothes, just a few hangers stuck to the wall. Tables in breakfast are shared with other guests and food replacement was quite flawed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a great localion but smell bad and the bathroom is very small and noyse. The bed is good. The breakfast is fine. No free wifi. The Piaza were located is nice, with lots of bars and restaurants. The room rate was fine. 120 euros. To park your car 35 euros a day. I think that there is cheaper options around the city to park your car.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ropires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Peninsula of the San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a modern hotel right on one side of the piazza Santa Maria Novella, making it maybe a 5 minute walk from the main train station in the city. And the major sights of the Accademia and the Uffizii were only 10-15 minute walks away. The room was typically european small (by USA standards) but was clean and quiet. This was the only hotel of 7 we have stayed In during a two week trip that was going to charge us for WiFi access in our room. As I had a portable hotspot with me I must pulled that out and used it to access the Internet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherpadad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#104 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#120 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#250 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#129 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#70 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universo

Property: Universo
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing