We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Florence Italy May 14-17”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Universo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Universo
Ranked #248 of 421 Hotels in Florence
dtw
2 reviews
“Florence Italy May 14-17”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed with husband, sister and bro in law in May, 2013. Great location, close to train station and Duomo, the city center. The room I had was okay, though a little dim and there was mold in the shower. My sister's room was very small with a wall pattern that would make you dizzy. We requested a change, and the staff was very accommodating and gave them a much more acceptable room. The breakfast wasn't very good, yogurt and sweet breads. Wifi was six euros. The hotel is small and in very vivid colors. The gentleman at the desk was very nice and friendly. I probably would not choose to stay here again, but the location could not be beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    216
    102
    63
    37
See reviews for
77
254
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Location is great. I must say that one of the hotel staff (Tony) is very polite n helpful compare to the ladies at check in counter. The walls are rather thin,you can hear if your neighbours are talking too loudly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Good:
- Good location, a few mins from Santa Maria Novella Station.
- Fairly clean rooms.
- Staff helpfulness vary. The 2 female staff in the checkin table was not welcoming nor helpful. During our checkout there was a man in the checkin table and he is by far friendlier and helpful.
- Decent buffet breakfast which is re-filled promptly

Bad:
- Very dim lighting, felt like a love hotel
- Room smelled like someone is smoking
- Bathroom is dirty with rotten wood in the shower. Shower drainage poor, really easy for the water to spill out into the room.
- Wi-Fi internet extra at 6 euro a day
- Hotel constantly under renovation, very noisy in the morning.
- Fairly thin walls in the rooms.

Overall, the lack of attention to detail made this an average experience. Would personally book a different hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKSpring2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
SALISBURY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Pros: A stones throw from SM Novella and a few blocks of the major attractions. Friendly staff and in house breakfast. Do take the city map from the front desk.
Cons: Dim rooms. Erratic wifi for which you pay 6 euros a day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you go ahead and read my reviews you can see that I am not picky, that I understand price range of the hotel. If you choose a 3 star hotel, you expect clean room with breakfast. And I did.

I don't understand how is it possible that this place got 3 stars, like someone said this is a hostel.

I read reviews and people kept talking about it being dim and dark, but others said it is due to wall paint so I thought people were being picky.

Don't be fooled, it has nothing to do with the color of the walls but with the lack of natural light. We had room in the back, on the third floor with small window looking between two parts of the building. It was damp, cold place, that smelled, health hazard, and next day even our clothes begun to smell.

So, my advice is if you choose to go anyway ask to see the room first before you check in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarayka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location is great, the hotel itself- not so much. feels more like a hostel to me. weird, old and badly renovated, keeps on being renovating (worked there during our stay).
the staff was nice.
No wifi, nice breakfast.
The shower had almost no stream in it.
Just felt weird, didn't like it so much, but it was OK... Guess u get what u pay for, right?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotem Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is located very conveniently on the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella, which is situated in historic center and yet very close to Bus and Train Stations. Duomo is just 5 minutes away so as Ponte Vecchio and other attractions.
The staff is VERY friendly, speak English and super helpful.
Rooms very very clean and nice, although it would be nice to have a full size mirror in the room. not a stylish zig-zag in which you see almost nothing. The design of our room was very sleek and elegant.
The breakfast is good (although is the same every day), you can ask for additional cappuccino or caffe latte from the waiter, which was nice. Water for tea is also available on request.

The only huge downside was the noise from the street. It wasn't regular city buzz, but just plain torture: teenagers and drunk people laughed and talked loudly until 4-5 am, then at 6 cleaning machines started to wash the Piazza and around 7am construction works in the shop next to hotel started... of course the sound of ambulances, buzzing Vespas and other rollers, cars etc in addition.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#121 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#110 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#125 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#111 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#194 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#244 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universo

Property: Universo
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing