We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Universo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Le Vigne(Florence)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rosso 23(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fiorentino(Florence)
View Hotel
Bonciani Hotel(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Hotel Lombardia(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveler rating
110
235
116
73
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
235
116
73
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza santa maria novellagreat locationtrain stationdecent breakfastroom was spaciousdouble bedminute walkan easy walkon footvisiting florencecroissantssquarechurchluggageelevatorsusannaattractions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 575 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The good:
- As many have mentioned, it is a stone's throw from the main train station. Note that there is another train station further away (Firenze Campo di Marte).
- Relatively large rooms and bathroom by Europe standards.
- Rooms are decorated in a modern and boutique-style manner. Ours had bright orange walls and a pink ceiling.
- English channels (BBC & CNN) are available on TV.
- Receptionist lady allowed us to check-in at 12pm (officially 2pm) when the room was ready. Wasn't particularly friendly at first but warmed up as the day went by. Perhaps she's not a morning person :)
- Food can be round easily around the hotel. There's a McDonald's round the corner if you need something familiar.

The not so good:
- Room is very dim. There are no light options for white/bright light so the room is constantly dark. Guess it can be romantic for some but not very practical if you are trying to pack or find stuff in your luggage.
- Severe lack of hooks/shelf space in the bathroom! There was no space to hang 2 bath towels properly, let alone hooks to hang your toiletries bag, etc.
- Wifi is chargeable. (We got round it by simply buying a prepaid card at Tim, one of the telcos round the corner. 23eur for a week's use of unlimited 3G.)
- No safe in the room.
- No wardrobe. There's an open rack with hangers provided though.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_ene22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It is a good hotel and good location, but we were in a rental car, ERROR!!. Florence is crazy for driving and parking. We could not access the hotel with the car until 19:30. The car parks are very expensive there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Jesus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We recently visited this hotel in January 2013. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, free wifi and breakfast is included. The bedrooms are a good size and everything worked perfectly. The most attractive point of this hotel is the location, it is a 2 minute walk to the train station, 5 minute walk to the duomo cathedral and from there all attractions are only minutes away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HolliejS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in August, during the hottest heat wave since the 1940's. The room looked nice when we first opened the door. We were initially happy to be there, but quickly we realized the aircon only blew out a tiny bit of hot air. We later found out the hotel was trying to save electricity costs as every other room had the same problem - except for the reception area which was beautifully cool and comfortable - great for the fat lazy hotel staff but hell for the guests who were not provided with any relief from sweltering heat (total false advertising). Could not sleep at all. We covered ourselves in wet towels in an attempt to cool down. When we told staff about the faulty aircon, they really didn't seem to care at all. They just wanted us to go away. Eventually we were given the keys to another room, but it had the same problem: the aircon blew a little hot air out of the vent, but that's it. So we tried another room. Same problem so we just stayed in the original room we were given. We were so frustrated we thought about dragging our mattress down to the nicely chilled reception area!
Breakfast which was included was also very budget - barely any food or variety available.
To top things off, when we went to check out, the hotel staff tried to double charge us.
The staff at this hotel do not care about their guests comfort. They only care about making sure the staff are comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located in the hurt of the historic Florence. The breakfast is very good and the rooms are well heated.

The staff is very friendly but the special mention is for Tony, really helpful and nice with a very positive attitude.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustavo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews