We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful rooms”
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bavaria
Ranked #151 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful rooms”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Set just off the main square, you couldn't hope for a better location. Despite that, it is very hard to find; and once you've found it, you have to climb 3 flights of stairs to get there (with luggage). They desperately need a big sign out the front; and, failing an elevator, a intercom system so you can ask for a hand with your bags when you first arrive.
Also, for the communal accom, they need a toilet that is separated from the showers (to avoid obvious problems). And, given the Italian summers get well up into the 30s -- air conditioning!!!

That said, the building itself is a gem. A historic beauty with high ceilings, beautiful furniture and decor, and friendly service to top it off. It's lovely that the main area has not been spoilt by a television or computer area - and instead just has a simple wooden writing desk and long dining table. You feel like you've gone back in time. It is the sort of history and style that you would only expect from a more expensive hotel....if only they'd fix up the mod cons.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Sarah_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    207
    69
    27
    10
See reviews for
92
192
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a hard time finding the place. Apparently you gotta look for a BIG BLACK Number which is for buildings (small numbers are for shops). It took a long while for the staff to explain to me the exact location. It seemed none of the staffs speak decent enough English. I've seen numerous guests having trouble in communication.
Hotel is located up in third floor with no elevator. Our shared bathroom double bedroom was tiny but it did have everything we needed. One of the shared bathroom was way too small. I'm around 5' 11" but I had hard time using the toilet or shower. Another one in the dining room was big enough, but had lack of security with its window facing the hallway across, and the door with enough gap to hear everything happening in the bathroom from outside.
Breakfast was not cooked but it was ok.
The hotel wasn't disgusting, but the service was poor with some staffs and not so clean facility. We were disappointed. Location is great. It's less than 5 minutes away from Duomo and maybe just over 5 minutes to Vacchio bridge, but that's where the adventage ends...

Room Tip: I don't know how clean they are, but definitely go for ensuite units if you need to book this pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are enormous with very high ceilings and historic features. Many do not have their own bathrooms and the beds are a bit hard for me but for the feeling of old Firenze it is great. In a good location a couple of minutes from the Duomo and near to most other things you would want to see. Our second stay and we will come back. The breakfasts are basic cereal bread and jams etc. don't expect frills like tv telephone etc it has wifi but well worth it. Room cost €83 but had beds for 4 and room to sleep 12!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It takes you a while to get used to waking up in a room that has 3-4m high ceilings and an average size of 5m times 8m, but other than this, it is an awesome place. Excellent value for money. Cheap Hotel in premium location. The only down side was that there was no fridge in the room and cooking facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a in-room bathroom. There are some rooms with a shared bathroom down the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, right near the Duomo. It was the quietest hotel room we have ever stayed in, with a very comfortable bed. We stayed in the very highest room at the top of the stair. If you stick your head out the window, you can see the top of the Duomo. Very lovely. This is a bed an breakfast type hotel up many flights of stairs with no elevator. It isn't visible from street level with no signage, and is hard to find, but once you do, and if you are ok with carrying your luggage up quite a few stairs, you will not be dissapointed. Lovely litle hotel. Service is excellent. I will not stay anywhere else when I go back to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveller007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Three of us stayed in a quad room for three nights in late September. Two flights of stairs to reach the B&B and then we had an additional half flight in order to reach our room - keep that in mind if you tend to over pack. Our room was huge. No AC but a fan was provided. Mosquitos were not an issue but could not leave the window open at night due to the noise each night. It seemed like there were block parties outside our room each night!
Our room was next to the shared toilet which always seemed available although it appeared that someone kept smoking in there.
There was a sink and a tiny shower in the room. Awkward to use with others in the room even with the tiny privacy screen provided.
Only had breakfast once. Average. Location was great. Free wifi which worked perfectly in the room. Funky paintings in our room.
Overall loved the old building and heat was not an issue in late September. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drusilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great hostel with old charm staff helpful and friendly the location is brilliant. Not good if you struggle with stairs. Would reccomend for a cheap stay. The shared bathroom perhaps not for evreyone but didnt present any problem.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back there is a little street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harris891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#138 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#140 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#94 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#236 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#172 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#181 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Property: Hotel Bavaria
Address: Borgo degli Albizi, 26, 50100, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#136 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Bavaria 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL BAVARIA, History and charm in Renaissance FlorenceA few steps from the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore (alias Florence's Duomo), immersed in the artistic treasures of Florence, on the third floor of the Palazzo Ramirez-Montalvo, Hotel Bavaria will frame your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing