We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,no AC”
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bavaria
Ranked #179 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed staying here during summer because of free wifi, good location, free breakfast, and it was quiet at night. The downsides were walking up many steps, shared bathrooms (only 2 toilet/showers between everyone so often had to wait) and that there was no AC so we melted during the night even with the windows open and the fan on. The manager was super friendly, kind, welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanamiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 499 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and it wasn't the best place to stay. You have to climb alot of stairs to reach this place and is the worst during Summer. The room was nice with basin and a fan and they also provided towels and shampoo (which was not refilled during our stay). The shared bathroom is so-so, it's sometimes not that clean as many people use it. During Summer, the heat is unbearable in the room and you have to open up the window to provide some kind of relief. However, when you open the window, you let in the mosquitoes and the noise from the street. You will just be constantly bitten by mosquitoes and the fan does little to help with the heat. At the end of our stay we had bites everywhere and it was the most uncomfortable stay I've ever had. The location is quite good, however Florence is a city where all the attractions are within walking distance. Do yourself a favour and avoid this place during Summer or suffer from the heat, mosquitoes and the street noise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The only downside was the shared bathroom but this is a minor issue because it was always clean and free. The hotel is quaint and very friendly and well situated. Highly recommended if you want a friendly hotel in a good location that has history and character

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very friendly staff who spoke excellent English and were eager to help in any way possible. They even allowed us to use their fax machine to contact a hotel we would be staying at later in our trip! The rooms are not air conditioned, but a fan is provided which we found to be sufficient. Excellent location - very close to the Duomo. We were pleasantly surprised to find a shower in our room; only the toilet was shared. The breakfast provided is plain, but no worse than any other B&B in Italy that we visited. The entrance could be better lighted at night, and the automatic door stays open a bit longer than one would desire for top security, but overall we were very happy staying here. Would definitely recommend this property to other travellers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Located in part of a converted palace, this amazing hotel is just like the pictures. We stayed in a triple room-No 15- at the back of the hotel overlooking the Duomo. 70 Euros/night. Large high ceiling room including sofa,desk,balcony with table and chairs.There is a communal lounge area with lovingly polished antiques! The room on the floor above the reception/lobby area, so even more stairs, which is fine if you're fit.Clean and quiet with private shower. The fan was essential as the day temp was 36*C. Adequate breakfast. The hotel sign is tiny-we almost walked past it! There is a great supermarket nearby- Pegna, and a lovely friendly pizza etc snack bar-Cucciolo.

Shared toilet rather busy in the morning, but to be expected and was aware of this when booking

Room Tip: Book room 15!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dona45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed for one night with family in May 2012 . We got a very big n spacious with 1 queen bed and 2 twin beds. It has a very nice bathroom and overall the stay was very comfortable with nice staff and their great service. We were able to cover all attractions in florence because of the hotel location about 5 minutes to main attractions. It is true that the entrance of the hotel is little bit hidden but not difficult. The train station is about 15 minutes and close by restaurants. I would definitely visit this place again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hima89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel staff and very friendly and helpful. The lobby is lovely and the location is very central. However, the rooms are dated and the bedding and beds themselves are worn and uncomfortable. We too had issues with the mosquitoes and being bit. This was very unpleasant and did not make us want to return. The breakfast was OK but not great, they could do a bit more to improve it. There are many steps to climb to reach this hotel and no elevators, so would not recommend to elderly or older people who have trouble climbing stairs. The price and location is what made us choose this hotel but we would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rexy_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#142 of 410 in Florence
674 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#223 of 410 in Florence
173 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#170 of 410 in Florence
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#92 of 410 in Florence
797 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#237 of 410 in Florence
235 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#185 of 410 in Florence
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Address: Borgo degli Albizi, 26, 50100, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#136 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $54 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Bavaria 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL BAVARIA, History and charm in Renaissance FlorenceA few steps from the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore (alias Florence's Duomo), immersed in the artistic treasures of Florence, on the third floor of the Palazzo Ramirez-Montalvo, Hotel Bavaria will frame your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing