We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely acceptable”
Review of Hotel Giappone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giappone
Ranked #277 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Location: Great. Very central, walking distance to SMN.

Access: 78 winding steps to get to the reception, skip this place if you have luggage.

Comfort: Very poor. 2 small beds pushed together and sold as a double, I always subtract 2 for that stunt. Beds also awful, felt like a sheet of MDF on a few old springs. I woke up each morning feeling worse than I did before bed.

Cleanliness: Room was sold as having a private external bathroom, but no hint of this on arrival. Shared toilet rarely had TP and was always dirty. I don't like to have to trek down the corridor and clean large amounts of dried yellow urine off the seat before I can use the toilet.

Safety: Power supply for air con unit is routed through the bottom of the shower cubicle. Risk of someone getting fried one day. Probably never inspected.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellingnerd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 97 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located! Right between the Duomo and the train station. It's on the 3rd or 4th floor- we were fine walking up the stairs but some people may struggle. The rooms were clean, and the lady that worked there was quite friendly. The biggest drawback would be the bathroom. There's only 1 toilet for the whole hotel, so essentially you had to wait fairly often to go the the toilet, slightly annoying, particularly in the middle of the night. A lot of rooms don't have showers, which means they use the shower in the same room as the toilet. Things get wet.
The rooms are also partial to noise made in the hotel (doors opening and closing etc). But, it's quite cheap for Florence and its really very good value for money. The location is unbeatable. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thisispants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

More than I expected from a 1 star hotel! I had the small corner room. The bed was comfortable, the heater worked, the toilet flushed, wifi was perfect, and the location is unbeatable. Some downsides were the 76 stairs to get up, the shower went between medium to warm heat (never really getting hot), there was no actual shower (just a shower head in the bathroom), checkout is at 10:30 instead of 12, and the fact that I could hear every time someone went in/out of their room. For budget accommodation, its pretty much as good as it gets. I highly recommend it for any solo traveler. The lady who owns it is very welcoming. I don't know why its called Japanese though...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank hakangeziyor
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great location and service. The place is really clean and the lady who owns it is very nice and helpfull.

Room Tip: There are rooms with bathrooms and shared bathrooms. I'd recommend to choose one room with bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Hubby and I stayed for 1 night in this hotel. We stayed in a double bed room with attached shower, but common WC. The place was well maintained and very conveniently located with respect to the railway station as well as the Duomo.
The only pet peeve we had was the number of stairs to climb to get to the hotel...it seemed never ending, but was ok for the 2 of us in 20's having to carry only our backpacks. It might be a huge concern if you have lot of luggage or have a person in your party that has difficulty climbing several stairs. Other than that, a very good accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juslyktht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed in room marked "privato" instead of a numbered room. It was fine for a night, and only 40 euro. There was a clean, shared bathroom, and the room had a sink. It's 76 steps up a winding spiral staircase, so it's not for people with heavy luggage. The manager was very kind and has been working there since 1974. She lent me an adaptor for the Italian wall socket with no deposit, and WiFi is free! Very close to the central train station, central market and Duomo. No breakfast. I stayed there because I was flying home from Fiumicino the next day, and the train from Florence takes only 1 hour, 45 minutes to Rome Termini, while Siena to Rome is more than 3 hours.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetertheJustOkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#269 of 410 in Florence
256 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#303 of 410 in Florence
242 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#123 of 410 in Florence
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#284 of 410 in Florence
53 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
#270 of 410 in Florence
178 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#201 of 410 in Florence
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giappone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giappone

Address: Via Dei Banchi 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $39 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Giappone 1*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giappone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giappone Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing