We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in Florence”
Review of Hotel Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Embassy
Ranked #145 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

During a 4 night taster trip to Rome and Florence we stayed 2 nights in the Embassy Hotel Florence having travelled to Florence by the SNC Express train standard class. With pre booked seats the journey was comfortable and clean in a modern Pendalino style.
The Embassy hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the station easily found by turning right outside the station entrance and by following the tram lines keeping them to our left until we reached the hotel. The hotel is very clean, modern and comfortable inside and the multi lingual staff are vey helpful. We stayed in a new extention at the rear in a well equipped room with a large queen size bed. The room has a mini bar but no complimentary tea or coffee making facility. There is a downstairs breakfast room but there is no restaurant.
However the Embassy is close to the major city paces of interest and restaurants start opposite the railway station and there a vast selection of others in the square and throughfares serving excellent meals both indoors and outside when the weather allows.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Embassy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 851 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

This Hotel is a good value Hotel close to the station in a quiet area. Rooms are good Breakfast is very good and Breakfast staff are excellent. They could do more with the bar to serve drinks in the evening. Overall excellent

Room Tip: Try and get room at back as there can be travel noise from trams in am
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickster1Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent 3 pleasant days at the Embassy. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were perfectly clean and the bed linen was changed daily. The breakfasts were good continental breakfasts with nice pastries.
However there were some niggles ranging from the significant to the purely trivial.
The bed was on the hard side of firm and the pillows were solid foam; they could be bent but, on release, would return to their fixed rectangular state. According to Reception and Housekeeping these were the softest they had.
The TV boasted (literally) several hundred channels. 1 was English speaking (CNN) and 1 French speaking. While I didn't want to watch too much TV, on the day it rained (heavily) and before bed time, a bit of choice would have been nice.
There was no internet terminal, for those of us who don't lug a laptop around but would like to check e-mails, the weather forecast etc. For those who do there appeared to be a €5 per day charge for the wi-fi password. This seems to me to be the 21st century equivalent of paying to take a bath.
On the rainy day mentioned above some of our clothes got wet. It would have been convenient to dry them on the 'heated' towel rail in the (spacious) bathroom...if only we could have got some heat.
Last, and by all means least, in the spacious shower with a good jet of warm water there was nowhere to put the soap/shower gel. You either showered with it in hand or put it on the floor in the pool of water waiting to make its way to the drain.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davedhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in Florence and were pleased with the hotel. The room was very clean and modern. The breakfast was also good - there were a variety of options.

The location had pros and cons - it was very nice in that it was extremely close to the train station, which was perfect when we had to catch an early train. However, it wasn't the best location if you're hoping to be in the middle of everything.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel - we were pleased with our stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kerrigan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I can't recomend this hotel because I had bad experience over there ... Staffs in reception are so sad!! and they can't speak English.
The positive point for this hotel is location ... no need for transportation from central station ... ~ 300 m far from it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Rooms were nice, very clean. Bathroom was big but had a small leak which kept the floor wet at most times. Tv was great, we had cable. However wifi was not free, it cost 5 euro per device per 24 hours.
Staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was very good and rich, the room was big.
Location was perfect, a 3 minute walk from Santa Maria Novela station.
Overall it was great and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glaspy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Excellent little hotel near the Firenze SNM station, use the right exit of the railway station and follow the tram line till it curves and you will arrive at Hotel embassy. The room was big, clean and the bathroom was very modern. This was the only hotel on my Euro trip that had good AC, it was a bliss to return to a cold room after a long day of sight seeing.

We had to catch an early train to Venice so the staff was very kind to pack breakfast for our train ride. The staff was excellent and made our stay very memorable. I will definitely return to this hotel when I visit Florence again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 84mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#115 of 411 in Florence
240 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#133 of 411 in Florence
1,162 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#90 of 411 in Florence
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#178 of 411 in Florence
1,284 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#201 of 411 in Florence
1,283 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#136 of 411 in Florence
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embassy

Address: Via Iacopo da Diacceto 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $105 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Embassy 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing