We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean and good hotel”
Review of Hotel Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Embassy
Ranked #142 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed April 19, 2011

a walking distance from central station, new hotel with modern and contemporary design, small bedroom but comfortable bed, with good bathroom. VERY CLEAN hotel, the maid service is very good! But if u wanna go out at night, it's a bit far from city center

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polkadot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 869 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

As many other reviewers have mentioned, the Embassy Hotel is very near to the station and it is only a ten-minute walk away from all the main sites of Florence. The area seemed to be safe to walk around at night, but as in any city, there were beggars in the station concourse. We had a room overlooking the hotel car park and street. The road in front of the hotel is very quiet, apart from the trams that run frequently. With the windows closed we could only hear a distant rumble of the tram. We only slept with the window open one night – it was a Saturday night and we were kept awake by very loud music. I have no idea where it was coming from, as there didn’t seem to be any bars or night clubs in the area. The hotel is advertised as a four-star, but the service and facilities didn’t live up the standards of other European four-star hotels I have stayed in. The double room was very small (the bed took up most of the room) with very little storage space. As we were there for 7 nights we needed to unpack, but I ended up keeping most of my clothes in my suitcase, as there was nowhere to put them. There were two small wardrobes, but one of them had a strange smell inside it and it made my coat smell. The bed was comfortable and I found two spare pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. There was a TV in the room with two English-language channels (BBC World and CNN). There were slippers supplied in the room and the bathroom had shower gel, shampoo, a shower cap and a shoe shine kit. The bathroom was a good size and looked like it had been modernized. The shower was big and powerful (although the door leaked a bit). The first day there wasn’t a spare toilet roll, but there was on the other days. The heating/air conditioning in the room didn’t work on the last night, but the heated towel rail in the bathroom was most welcome (we needed to turn it on after the cleaner had cleaned the room, as she turned it off each day). The mini-bar drinks were similar prices to bars in the city. The walls between rooms are thin and noises carry – we could hear sounds from the toilet of a nearby room and voices from the room next door. There was no information in the room about what to do in the event of a fire or what time check out was (it was 11 am). The ‘Do not disturb’ sign is done electronically from inside the room, but the cleaner ignored it and cleaned our room while we were having breakfast. While we were there (early November) the hotel was having building work done and banging noises started at about 8 am. The hotel is advertised as having a bar, but the small area at the end of the reception desk had a very limited range of drinks on offer and the ‘bar’ seating area was about five seats (with no tables) in the reception area. One evening, at about 7 pm, we ordered two coffees from the receptionist (who seemed to act as bartender) and were told that she couldn’t make us a coffee, as there was ‘no water’. I feel that a four-star hotel should make the effort to ensure the customer is kept happy and even if they had to get two coffees from a cafe they should have tried to give us what we had ordered. There are snack bar-type cafes near the hotel, but the nearest one was shut by that time and we just wanted to relax in our hotel after being out all day. The day we did manage to get a coffee we only paid 1 euro per cup (compared to 3.50 euros in the centre of Florence). The breakfast (served until 10.30) is buffet style, with some hot food. There wasn’t a great choice and isn’t always replenished when something runs out, but a plus point is that the waitress will make you a cappuccino if you ask her, but we needed to ask her every morning.
We took day trips to Pisa and Siena by train. It is easy to buy tickets from the self-service machines. Click the ‘English’ option. The screen will tell you when the next train leaves and when it arrives. The tickets are reasonably priced. Florence to Pisa (a one-hour journey) cost 5.80 euros per person one way and Florence to Siena (a one-and-half-hour journey) cost 6.30 euros per person one way (the machines don’t offer a return ticket option). Remember to validate the ticket in the yellow machine either on the platform or in the station foyer or you may be fined, as there are often conductors on the trains checking tickets. The trains are frequent and run on time. The more modern trains are very comfortable.
Allow 60 euros per person per day for eating, drinking, entrance to museums, etc. Beware that bars are hard to find. We walked around the centre of Florence trying to find a bar to have a drink in after dinner, but were unable to find a nice proper bar (apart from in the very expensive five-star hotels). Finally, we found an Irish pub! Shopping is very good in Florence and prices of clothes are similar to the UK. Coin is a very good department store and the Florence branch of Zara is huge and has two stores on opposite sides of the road.
We flew into Florence airport and got a taxi to the hotel. It cost 25 euros.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Our travel agent found this hotel. We were happy with the price and the location was very near the train station, however, we determined that this hotel is too far away from the heart of Florence for our short stay. We had a limited amount of time in Florence and unfortunately spent a lot of it traveling from the hotel to the sites that we wanted to see. The breakfast buffet was good and there was plenty of it. Recommendations to local restaurants by the front desk were terrific. If you have lots of time to spend in Florence, and don't mind a lot of walking, this hotel would work for you. Otherwise, stay somewhere closer to the main sites in Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travels4funnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Hotel Embassy is conveniently located a few minutes walk from the main train station in Florence and is easy to find. My partner's GPS wasn't working again (apparently it's good for backgammon) so I pulled out the good old map and got us to the hotel 10 minutes after arriving.

Situated on a busy road, the room was at the back of the building and thus sheltered from traffic noise. Unfortunately the noise from within the hotel was at times pretty bad. Our room was on the first floor, the door was not sealed and so we heard every detail of everyone checking in and out at all hours of the night. And they picked some pretty odd hours to clean the marble stairs – the clatter and gong of vacuum cleaner on stone and metal bannister in the wee small hours was quite uncalled for.

And speaking of doors... when checking in we were told there was no number on our door as ours was the only room on the first floor. Just what had we booked here – the broom closet?

The Room With No Number was indeed small but not tiny enough to complain about. Lets say it was cosy. What was tiny though was the bathroom door. I'm not giant, but honestly, this thing appeared to be less than five feet high. Late head injuries seemed inevitable. At least they could have put the door knob closer to floor level to remind you in the darkness that you were staying at Bilbo Baggins' Florence holiday home. You step down into a normal sized bathroom so I'm guessing clever design of an odd, spare space was what happened.

And yet even the tiny little door and the cave-like bathroom was not enough to complain about. Indeed, it gave place a quirky charm. The bathroom and the hotel room itself were quite immaculate with polished granite finishings, air conditioning and fully stocked bar fridge. There was a small television and free wifi access (other guests had trouble with weak sgnal in their room but ours was fine). The bed was probably a little too firm and they need to replace those awful, hard, flat pillows.

Breakfast was more than satisfying for a cold buffet and good quality espresso coffee was available on request, with the cheerful staff remembering your order each morning.

Front reception was also very friendly and helpful and were happy to book tickets for us to the Uffitzi and the Accademia. Do make use of this service.

Trams and buses were right outside the front door but the many restaurants and almost all tourist attractions were within easy walking distance to the hotel. There was a local supermarket just up the road as well as a laundromat.

So would I stay at Bibo's Florence holiday abode again? More than likely, yes. I'd just pack ear plugs and a softer pillow.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackrainbow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

When I saw it in the internet I thought it would be a very good hotel. Unfortunately, I was wrong, but I needed to stay there to say that. I strongly advice everybody to AVOID staying there even if it seems the most reasonable choice. They speak no english, they are very rude, poor breakfast, not good service and not safe parking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariamusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

A small, modern, clean and comfortable hotel. Although it is 4-star on the Italian scale, it is more comparable to 3.5-star in the United States because it’s smaller, and there’s limited room for workspace and storage of your luggage. All of the front desk and the breakfast room personal were very courteous and professional. Good breakfast selections.

We would definitely recommend staying here. We had a 4-star time even if we had to adjust to a 3-star room size. The location is convenient because it’s located very close to the train and bus stations…and is a pleasant walking distance from many restaurants and Florence attractions.

Excellent over all for what we paid!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anchier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We returned again to Embassy, this time we coulod only get 4 of our 7 days. All services were excellent with attentive, intelligent staff.
Breakfast service was excellent; we were remembered from last year.
Rooms again were excellent, and well arranged.
Excellent arrangements for our 7 month grandson
For Florence location,service and price (although much more this year), we absolutley recommend Embassy Hotel Firenze.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLLEYSAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
C-Hotels Ambasciatori
C-Hotels Ambasciatori
#252 of 411 in Florence
171 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Diplomat
c-hotels Diplomat
#118 of 411 in Florence
282 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#173 of 411 in Florence
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#87 of 411 in Florence
540 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Club
c-hotels Club
#125 of 411 in Florence
866 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#109 of 411 in Florence
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embassy

Address: Via Iacopo da Diacceto 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $98 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Embassy 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing