We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Florence View B&B
Ranked #12 of 661 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Position absolutely fantastic with direct view on the Duomo and Battistero. Although the central location, the outside noise is not bothering (very good windows). The owners are very friendly and kind, paying a lot of attention to details. Rich breakfast served in the room. Clean room with AC. We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Try to get toom with the view over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miabirau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 502 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 lovely nights at this B&B in August. The family-owned B&B was comfortable, clean, at a great location (our room overlooked the Duomo!). The staff prepared a nice breakfast for us each morning, let us borrow their Rick Steeve's guide book, and they even helped us by printing our tickets to museums and for our flight home. Such a lovely experience...I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindseyKentParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really loved this B&B. It was ideally located on the square where the Duomo is.
Its easily walkable from the main train/bus station, just an easy 10 minute walk. Just look for the top of the Duomo and walk that way!

Everyone that worked there was so nice and very helpful. They had some good restaurant recommendations too.

The rooms were pretty big and very comfortable.
Breakfast was very nice with a choice of things to eat. Fresh fruit salad, yogurt, bread, pastries and eggs with tea and coffee and all served to your room. It was lovely.

We had a room which faced on to the courtyard at the back. We didn't have the view of the Duomo but that was ok as it was probably quieter than the ones that did. There were also some stairs to climb to get to the B&B so if stairs are an issue, maybe this wouldn't suit.

I would definitely recommend this place to everyone and would go back if I could.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel85Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved EVERYTHING about our stay at A Florence View and I understand and accept some of the negatives people have written about but none of these small issues were a problem for us and our entire 4 nights were a highlight of our Italian holiday.
As most have pointed out the location cannot be beat. Right on the square next to the Duomo is exceptional - it is a 8 min walk to the train station and about 8 min to Ponte Vecchio.
Guilliana was an wonderful hostess making sure we had a map, providing recommendations, making breakfast when we would open the door rather than booking a set time but at the same time never intrusive.
Our room looked over the square and yes you can hear people at night but it is not loud screaming or thumping music is it just a hum of tourists still around after dinner. We had no problem with this at all and the window has double glazing so it is muffled sound.
The room itself is beautiful - we had a little lounge room upon entering and then the bedroom with a small bathroom adjoining. So yes the bathroom was small and the configuration of the doors made them bang into each other a bit but lets face it - it is a REALLY old building converted to accommodate todays tourist expectations and it was more than adequate.
The breakfast was flexible and our hostess would confirm what our preferences were each morning offering mostly a continental spread but eggs were on offer if you wanted. You eat in your room and it is brought to you on a tray - and there is plenty!
The room was air conditioned and had free Wi-Fi which was reliable.
We loved our stay in Florence and would absolutely recommend A Florence View and would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shopgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Absolutely fantastic! We could almost touch the Duomo from our window. Hostess was very friendly and helpful. The room had a minibar which was nice.
Night-time was quiet and breakfast was really good.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kais T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited in mid June, 2013. The room was adequate and the view of the Duomo was spectacular. Best of all was viewing the Baptistry and Duomo before the turistas arrived in the morning and after they left at night. Our hostesses were helpful and accommodating and helped us with trying to drive into town.

We foolishly elected to drive into Florence and wasted at least an hour trying to navigate with our GPS, as the city streets were recently changed - some made into one way, others closed - and our GPS had not been updated. We eventually, and only by luck, found an underground parking garage a stone's throw from the Ponte Vecchio. From there it was a five minute walk to the B&B. If you are driving, consider parking your car outside of Florence and taking the train or bus into town. Also, if you are renting a car, GPS is absolutely essential, however the GPS we got from Eurocar was a TomTom and it cost us an extra $280 for 14 days. Check out buying a GPS at home and having it programed for whatever country or countries you intend to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimvogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a twin room. It's clean, simple and basic, nothing special, but the location is excellent. Open the front door and you're in the piazza looking at the Cathedral and Duomo.
As some other reviewers have pointed out, there is late night noise from the square below but we actually enjoyed the noise as it felt as if we were still outside enjoying the night.
As soon as it was bedtime, we closed the window and didn't hear a thing.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#11 of 661 in Florence
1,019 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#4 of 661 in Florence
359 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 661 in Florence
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Monte Oliveto
#2 of 661 in Florence
410 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 661 in Florence
953 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 661 in Florence
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Florence View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Florence View B&B

Address: Piazza di San Giovanni 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $104 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique location with an intimate number of exclusive rooms nestled in a 17th century palazzo overlooking the Baptistery, the Brunelleschi dome and the beautiful marble façade of the Duomo itself. B&B 'A Florence View' offers a charming atmosphere in a truly enviable position.In an ancient Florentine house with its sober and simple elegance but with all modern confort, most rooms offer breathtaking views of the splendours of this fantastic city. Living in a historic palazzo in Piazza San Giovanni could be an unforgettable experience. Please note: As the B&B is housed in a 17th century building, there is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Florence View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Florence View Bed And Breakfast
a Florence View Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing