We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing View!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Florence View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Florence View B&B
Ranked #11 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Amazing View!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This B&B was amazing! As soon as we arrived at the B&B we were greeted kindly and taken to the desk so Giuliana could show us a few things. She pulled out a map of Florence and gave us a very detailed, helpful overview of the city, highlighting must sees. She showed us to our room (how to properly use all the keys) and we were instantly amazed by the view! The view of the Duomo was fantastic and the room was charming. We will be visiting this B&B again and will be recommending it to all we know visiting Florence!

P.S. Breakfast is served in your room whenever you decide to wake up and let them know you are ready to eat... anytime from 7am - 11am!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaLiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    63
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
264
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Giuliana and her brother greeted us warmly! Not only did she show us our room, explained our to use the keys, she also recommended various really good restaurants and gelaterias and marked everything on our map.The B&B itself is old ( according to Giuliana, it was built in the 16th century) but very clean and comfortable. Its location is right in the historical center and everything is in walking distance. It takes roughly 15 mins to walk from the train station, but if you have a lot of luggage you can also take a taxi and get there within 3-5 mins with the cost of 5 euros (this depends on your cabby driver tho, some may charge you more).

Breakfast was served in our room (we had a living room!!). It was rich, with croissants, homemade pastries(delicious!), yogurt, juice, coffee, muffins...Our tray was literally full of food! The coffee was so good that we had to ask where she got it from. We had a city tour after we checked out and Giuliana, of course, let us store our luggage there until we got back. It was a very memorable stay and we would definitely stay at A Florence View B&B again!
Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hui0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here for a week and couldn't have been happier about it. A colleague recommended it to me and I will do the same having now stayed here myself.

First of all, the location is perfect. Piazza San Giovanni, what could be better? I never got tired of stepping outside and seeing the Duomo first thing in the morning. It is within easy walking distance of everywhere you may want to go, which is what I wanted.

The owner is very friendly, helpful and courteous and made me feel very welcome. He also gave me some tips of where to go for great ice cream (Grom) and pizza (Yellow Bar) and a few other places that were all very much worth our while.

I stayed in a room on the courtyard, so in the back. The room was spacious and had a good-sized bathroom as well, with a bathtub and a bidet. The furniture gave it a rustic atmosphere. There was a kettle, which I greatly appreciated, for making tea/instant coffee. Always a plus.
There is also wifi.

Since the Piazza is in a pedestrian-zone, it was quiet at night (I don't know if that is different in the high season) except for the occasional sirens from the misericordia ambulances, which are stationed beside the Duomo, and the occasional peals from the Duomo bell tower. Sounds that belong to the environment.

I was here on business and therefore up and out early. Breakfast is served from about 8:15 onwards (they start getting it ready at 8), which was on the late side for me, as I couldn't sit down and really enjoy it. Breakfast is served in your room and is abundant. So this was a shame to have to rush through.

I don't think they do a thorough cleaning of the room every day, they did make the bed and it was always need and tidy, but I don't think the floors got a daily cleaning for instance and I would have preferred that.

I want to point out that the owners are not present on the location 24/7. They live elsewhere. They are on the premises from 8 am to around 2 p.m. It is wise to let them know your expected arrival time, should you arrive outside of this time bracket, so know when to meet you.

They leave their cell phone numbers so you can always contact them if you need anything during your stay, and this works well.

In such old buildings, there are no elevators, but they will help you carry your luggage up the stairs.

I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else should I return to Florence. I travel a lot for work and don't often have such a lovely stay.

Needless to say, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2crosspaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place was brilliant. Stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time. The staff were attentive, knowledgeable and made you feel very welcome. The location was right opposite the Duomo yet quiet. Rooms great. Everything great. Would definitely recommend it and if we are ever in Florence again will stay here without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Perfect central location with a view of Duomo! I mean it was literally right outside our window. Breakfast was brought to our room ever morning at a time decided by us! Fresh paninis and fresh fruit with some pastries. Very clean room and friendly helpful staff. Would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatDrinkTravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Florence was the best part of our three-city tour of Italy (Rome-Florence-Venice). A Florence View B&B was vital in that. The location is hard to beat, as it is right beside the Baptistry and the Duomo. It's a 5-10 minute walk to S.M. Novella (train station), Florence's Central Market, the Uffizi and other museums. The view of Santa Maria del Fiore is unbelievable (we stayed in room 22)! We traveled with our 4 yr old and 1 yr old, so spending New Year's Eve outside in the Piazza wasn't the safest. We enjoyed viewing the fireworks and festivities from the comfort of our room and still felt part of the celebration. Lastly, the proprietors are great. From giving us tips on where to buy Uffizi tickets w/o standing on line to helping us make restaurant reservations, Leonardo and his wife were all kinds of helpful. We already miss eating apple cake and sipping our coffee in the morning while looking out into the Piazza. 'Til next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had the most memorable time in Florence staying at this B&B. The location (+ view of the Duomo) is unparalleled...this was perfect as we had a ringside view of the New Year's Eve celebrations. Check-in was extremely smooth. Breakfast spread was more than enough...attempted to finish everything, but failed. Apple cake and croissants we polished off quickly though!!! Best of all is the service, which brings out the true character of this B&B. Coordinating with Leonardo was flawless. He confirmed our reservation and made special arrangements....took care of our luggages...checked us in...recommended great restaurants (and nearest laundry service!). He is an excellent host. Highly recommended. Will definitely stay here again. This is our "home" in Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Florence View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Florence View B&B

Property: A Florence View B&B
Address: Piazza di San Giovanni 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — A Florence View B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique location with an intimate number of exclusive rooms nestled in a 17th century palazzo overlooking the Baptistery, the Brunelleschi dome and the beautiful marble façade of the Duomo itself. B&B 'A Florence View' offers a charming atmosphere in a truly enviable position.In an ancient Florentine house with its sober and simple elegance but with all modern confort, most rooms offer breathtaking views of the splendours of this fantastic city. Living in a historic palazzo in Piazza San Giovanni could be an unforgettable experience. Please note: As the B&B is housed in a 17th century building, there is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A Florence View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Florence View Bed And Breakfast
a Florence View Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing