We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Exhibition, Rude Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti

Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.66*
and up
The Private Residence of Medici Dinasty: Pitti Palace
Ranked #28 of 425 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
895 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
“Lovely Exhibition, Rude Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

The palace held a beautiful exhibition of women's Italian clothing and style in the 20th century. It was confusing to us that we paid for entry to the Boboli Gardens and at no point were told that this entry also gave us entry to the exhibition. After some discussion, we were allowed to enter. After about 20 minutes, an officious 'jobs-worth' woman approached me and demanded that I wear my rucksack on the front of my torso and not on my back. I explained that my valuables were secured elsewhere but no, I absolutely must change the position of the rucksack. Absolute madness. The ceiling paintings at the palace are remarkable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    290
    67
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
435 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Royal apartments nice for visiting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Included in the ticket is the pallatine part, mordern art and royal apartments. Art works are all classical, nothing modern there. Nice to see the royal part to get an idea how people lived here.
Unfortunately no time for visting the gardens.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank evz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing collection of renaissance art!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We liked this collection more than the larger Ufizzi Museum across the river. It was less crowded, just as awesome, and set in the residential rooms of the Palazzo Pitti.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RCFSRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another beautiful palace, the Medici's knew how to live!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Absolutely wonderful, you will need the whole day to do the Royal apartments, the museums and the gardens. So much to see, the porcelain museum is at the top of the garden, a very very steep climb but worth every step when you see the view from the top. Magnificent!!!! One major disappointment is the cafe. Service is non existent and the food and drinks are overpriced. We ordered coffee, water and food. We were lucky enough, after several reminders and requests, to get the coffee and the water. We never got any food. Take a bottle of water (or two) and some sandwiches with you, don't risk the cafe but enjoy the palace and all it has to offer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A stiff neck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Massively ostentatious and luxurious - the wealth of the privileged few in Medieval times was incalculable.
The Palazzo is huge and the gardens are also not to be missed.
However, the highlight for me was the ceiling frescos in room after room after room.They are absolutely magnificent and true masterpieces in their own right the time, effort, talent and workmanship required to create them is almost beyond comprehension. You too will get a stiff neck if you walk around with your head back and your eyes skywards!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peeceecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing