We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for exploring Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Santa Croce
Ranked #112 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ideal location for exploring Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is in the medieval part of the city and is a short walk from the major attractions. The staff are charming - very helpful and kind. We had a cool drink on our arrival and assistance with all our cases and bags. The only down side is that the hotel is on several floors and there is no lift, but there is a room on the ground floor if you need it. The breakfast is minimal, but the coffee is good and hot. The standard double room is extremely small, however, and the furnishings are a little tired.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on ground on first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Relais Santa Croce.
I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us but however I was sorry to read that you did not take advantage to use our two elevators which cover all three floors of our property.

Thank you again and I look forward to meeting you personally here at Relais Santa Croce in the near future.

A presto,

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    68
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
55
212
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is very sophisticated, elegant and luxurious. Our room was spatious, again very elegant and suited our needs and expectations for a 7 day stay. The staff were generally very friendly, helpful and in particular - Roberto - who was outstanding. We tried the hotel restaurant and found this to be very good, service was fine and the food was excellent. The hotel is ideally situated for all of the sites and is only a few minutes walk from most, including a good selection of restaurants and bars.
There is a 3 star Michelin restaurant on the ground floor (which we did not use) but is the reason I only gave a very good rating and stated the staff were 'generally' friendly and helpful. When this restaurant opened in the evening some of the hotel staff turned their attention to the restaurant's customers! on several occassions we were almost blocked entering the hotel (as I guess our faces did not fit), we had the main door shut in our face on one occassion in the eagerness of the staff to open a customers car door and generally ignored. However, not every one and only when the restaurant was open. As others have mentioned, the €14 per day charge for wifi was ridiculous as in all other 5 star hotels I have stayed is free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inikamozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your impressions about your recent stay at Relais Santa Croce.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in all aspects although I am sorry to learn that you had not a pleasant experience at the hotel entrance.
As you said, during the evening, Enoteca Pinchiorri restaurant is open therefore their personnel also looks after the main entrance together with our doorman.
I am sure some confusion occurred unintentionally but it is clear that we all did not perform at our usual high standard.
Please accept our sincere apologies for that.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Florence in which case I will be delighted to arrange your stay personally.

Arrivederci.

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darmstadt
Level Contributor
277 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is an exceptional hotel in an old palazzo. The common rooms are unique and beautiful. We had a well appointed room with a little terrace overlooking th roofs towards Santa Croce. Great location with all sights and places within walking distance, but away from the crowds. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful! The hotel has ist own parking which is an added plus. One of the best italian restaurants, the Enoteca Pinchiorri, is in the same building.

Negative: the dinner in the hotel restaurant was disappointing and the service was bad even though there were only 2 tables occupied. There was a EUR 14 a day charge for internet which I find unjustified, not to say ridicolous, considering the room rates and the fact that wifi was free in all the café s we visited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weinweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your excellent comments regarding your last stay at Relais Santa Croce.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I thank you again.
I am anyway sorry to read that you had a bad experience in our Restaurant although it is really appreciated among our Guests.
I am sure that night we did not perform to our usual standard and I am very sorry for that.

For your next visit I will be delighted to be contacted directly in order arrange personally your stay and to revise your negative impression of our Guelfi and Ghibellini restaurant.
Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to serving you in the near future.


Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in late 2012. Lovely hotel with luxurious ambience without being overly fussy or large. Felt a bit like staying in the private home of a wealthy owner - very relaxed and comfortable. Excellent breakfast every morning. Very good location: close to the Bargello, Santa Croce, the Duomo, and not far from the Uffizi and the Arno river. Only criticism: the IT charges were steep when paying this much for a room - should be included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for posting your positive feedback about your stay at Relais Santa Croce. Your excellent impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service.
Thank you very much again and I look forward to meeting you soon personally here in Florence.

Arrivederci.

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

great location and well worthy of being a 'relais and chateaux' property! we stayed here for 5nights and had an enjoyable stay!super attentive staff who helped us with everything we had asked for.

just a few negative comments, wifi is charged and not reliable (despite paying quite a bit for the room), no coffee making facilities in the room and the breakfast could have a bit more variety. but would stay here again

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lama s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you so much for your comments regarding your last stay at Relais Santa Croce.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Regarding your concerns for the Wi-Fi, I confirm you that now the system has been upgraded and it is definitely reliable in all areas and rooms.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Arrivederci.

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northallerto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is an exceptional hotel and more than lived up to the recommendations we had received. The hotel itself is steeped in history and offers a truly luxurious, unique experience. The rooms are wonderfully appointed and the food fabulous. I particularly enjoyed their IT facility which enables you to take a virtual tour of the Uffizi gallery. The service is absolutely impeccable - if you want a very special memory of Florence this hotel would be the perfect choice.

Room Tip: This was our second stay in the hotel - this time in a junior suite - the best feature of which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your last stay at Relais Santa Croce.
I will be delighted to share your comments with the entire team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
I am sure you know that we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations and we will be honored to be your "home away from home" for all your next trips to Florence.

Grazie and arrivederci.

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just back from 5 days at the Relais Santa Croce. This is a superb proper 5 star hotel. The Hotel itself is very well situated just outside the very hectic and packed touristy area - about a 2 or 3 minute walk and you are in the thick of it. The Hotel itself is a beautiful palazzo - if I remember correctly - built by a former treasurer to a Pope. The common areas are exquisite and almost a "sight" to see in their own right. The staff are very helpful and accomodating. The restaurant in the hotel is superb and service from Samuele excellent. I suppose one should really venture out and try different places to eat but the food was so good we opted to eat in most evenings. (A word of warning - there is a 3 star Michelin restaurant in the hotel - but NOT part of the hotel - suggest before you rush off there you look at the reviews on Enoteca Pinchiorri before booking)

The rooms themselves (we had a junior suite room 202) are superb and every evening there is a nice touch of fruit/cake. The rooms are in keeping with the character of the hotel but fully modernised eg the air conditioning actually works well.

The hotel is quiet and perfectly suited to couples looking for a few days rest and realxation but also wanting to see all the art and culture that Florence has to offer. The staff are very good at assisiting with any queries and nothing seemed too much trouble at all.

We have already decided to return next year and have convinced our parents to stay. For the first time on Trip advisor writing a review was hard on the basis this is such a great place we selfishly wanted to keep it to ourselves.

A small tip - there are hundreds of restaurants around the many squares. We ate lunch out every day and would really recommend the Circus restaurant which is nearby - I am sure the team at RSC can direct you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tireddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
I wish to thank you for posting your excellent review. Your kind words will certainly encourage all of us doing even better and we would be more than honored to be your "home away from home" for all your next trips to Firenze.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#141 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#18 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Hotel Regency
#142 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Croce

Property: Relais Santa Croce
Address: Via Ghibellina 87, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
#67 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#94 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Santa Croce 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect balance between the luxury of a bygone era and modern comforts In the historic centre of Florence, an eighteenth century residence hosts the exclusive, refined Relais Santa Croce, a luxury hotel in Florence. Surrounded by its sumptuous furnishings and frescoed ceilings, you will be assisted by highly professional staff of this hotel in Florence and delighted by the evocative nature of this truly extraordinary location in which luxury and refinement are the predominant features. It is the ideal destination for those seeking the intimacy of a private residence in Florence. The hotel restaurant, Guelfi e Ghibellini, offers innovative, seasonal regional menus. Furthermore, situated within the same building as the Relais Santa Croce is the Enoteca Pinchiorri, a three-star Michelin restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Santa Croce Florence
Relais Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing