We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price-performance ratio”
Review of Relais Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Relais Santa Croce
Ranked #113 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We used to stay at the 4Seasons in Firenze but since last time they charged us internet access on top of steep room prices we decided to go somewhere else. Well done, as the RSC is in an even better location and offers luxury at a much more affordable price. As with any city hotel in narrow streets you should not be overly noise sensitive even though the window of our room was quite sound-proof. Try to get a room not on Via Ghibellina but to the small court yard, or even better, go for room 308 with a small balcony and the by-far-best view any room here can offer.
The hotel services are great, the breakfast buffet is small but very good quality and internet access is free. Which has become a must for me!
Surprisingly there seems to happen a sea change in Italy, everybody in hotels, restaurants and shops in Florence was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating!
Since the hotel is small, only 24 rooms, the hotel bar is unfortunately empty all the time. But there are many alternatives right outside. There is a restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel, supposedly one of the best in Florence. Main dishes come at ridiculous EUR 80, target audiences clearly Russian and Arabic customers. What a waste.
Just around the corner is a pretty restaurant with good food and realistic prices, Osteria Caffe Italiano, try it, you'll like it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samuel80337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenio R, General Manager at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

first of all I want to thank you for your positive review regarding your stay with us at Relais Santa Croce.
Your suggestion are very appreciate from all of our Team , we can improve to get better service to our Guest.
I hope to welcome you in the next future again at The Relais Santa Croce.
kindest regards
Eugenio Rigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Relais Santa Croce
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 414 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel and the staff, especially Roberto, who offered his assistance in making future hotel reservations and dinner reservations. He has a positive attitude, as do all the staff and management. Our room was large, clean and bright. When we arrived, we were greeted by a staff who offered us a drink. Our only complaint is that wifi seems to be free one week and a charge applied the next week. Valet parking is 35 euro/day when, according to reviews, at one time it seemed also to be free. I understand the parking but the wifi should be free. Breakfast consists of a full buffet and eggs if you wish; this is included in the price. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The staff is very customer service driven. If you have an issue, they have no attitude and will wor...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenio R, General Manager at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

many thanks for your positive review, personally togheter with the Team are impressed for you comments, I understand your point of view regarding WIFI and i hope to modify the policy for WIFI in the next.
we Hope to welcome you in the next future at Relais Santa Croce.
Kindest regards
Eugenio Rigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in a beautiful suite and an equally beautiful junior suite (better view -- unobstructed view of sky, rooftops, and beautifully lit Santa Croce Church at night) in April 2012. The service was impeccable (very helpful and kind employees), the interiors lovely, and the location private (not touristy) but walking distance to all of the major sites. Especially enjoyed the professionalism of the staff, and the unique public rooms (felt completely private) for an afternoon or after-dinner moment in paradise to dream, talk (or smoke if you'd like, in a special room with big windows). The staff provided tickets for events and taxis right away. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the bathrooms immaculately clean with large bathtubs all the extras. It was a dream. I highly recommend this hotel. We popped into some other 5-star hotels, which were nice enough, but nothing as unique or grand as the Santa Croce.

Room Tip: DO ask for a room with a view of Santa Croce or on the top floor to have a view !
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexachrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenio R, General Manager at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

first of all thank you for your positive review, personally togheter with the entire Team of Relais Santa Croce we would like to thank you for staying with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the next future.
with kindest regards.
Eugenio Rigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Because we have had very good experiences with the Baglioni brand of hotels we thought we would try the Relais Santa Croce when I went to Florence with my 19 year old daughter in January. It was a wonderful experience! Talk about personalized service! They have a concierge station as you come in and it's almost like you are living in a big Villa with your own staff! We were given a lovely suite -- which was clean and modern -- orange leather furniture and light hardwood floors. The manager went out of his way to make sure we were taken of --as did the staff. The dinner we had was one of the best I ever had in my life -- and an amazing experience to eat in the surroundings that were at once historic and amazingly beautiful with beautiful music and superb service.
The hotel is made out of a historic Villa and you know it and feel it. The staff is warm, friendly, professional and knowledgable. We enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenio R, General Manager at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Sir,
thank you s0 much for your very positive comments , thank you for the nice picture regarding the Suite and our Reception Team, your comments is great motivation for all of us.
looking forward to welcoming you in the next future.
i remain with kindest regards.
Eugenio Rigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here in May 2011. The breakfast was amazing - best I've ever had in Europe, and the rooms were luxurious and large. I will have a hard time staying anywhere else next time I'm in Florence!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyJS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenio R, General Manager at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Lady,

I want to thank you so much for your positive Review , we are a Small Property in an old Palace in the heart of Florence , your words are a big motivation for all the Team
we hope to welcoming you again in the next future.
kindest regards.
Eugenio Rigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon and pretty much everything was perfect. The service we got from the receptionist/concierge was the best I've ever had in any hotel! The rooms were spacious and had a small walk in closet with room for our suitcase. The housekeeping service was just perfect. We would leave the hotel at 8 pm for dinner and come back and find our room tidied and towels changed. The only thing I would have preferred to have was more light in the bedrooms. Rooms were very dim which might be a positive thing for other people, but I prefer more brightness. The shower was also very complicated with water coming from all directions, but definitely not a big issue!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenio R, General Manager at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you again for having chosen Relais Santa Croce as part of your italian Honeymoon,
we are glad that you have enjoyed your visit and let us thank you for the positive comment about our Team and Location.
we have really appreciated your feedback and suggestion, that surely will help us to improve our level of service.
looking forward to welcoming you back soon, please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance you might need.
best regards.
E. Rigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

On arrival, we were walked to our room by a very professional lady at the reception.
We had a suite, that was more of an appartment, spacious, bright, comfortable, with beautiful furniture. And the bathroom, luxurious in every aspect.
The warm welcome, the knowledge of the receptionist and concierge, the breakfast layout and quality, the lounges, the decoration, the subtle Tuscan colours, the carved ceilings, the location: I just fell in love with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nour E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenio R, General Manager at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Lady,

first of all let me say thank you for your comments, I think you make a really Picture of our Property, I remain and hope to welcoming you in next future at Relais Santa Croce again.
best regards.
E Rigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#156 of 411 in Florence
149 reviews
Hotel Regency
#143 of 411 in Florence
347 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 411 in Florence
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#91 of 411 in Florence
953 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 411 in Florence
1,264 reviews
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Croce

Address: Via Ghibellina 87, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
#67 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#71 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#94 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $297 - $1,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Santa Croce 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect balance between the luxury of a bygone era and modern comforts In the historic centre of Florence, an eighteenth century residence hosts the exclusive, refined Relais Santa Croce, a luxury hotel in Florence. Surrounded by its sumptuous furnishings and frescoed ceilings, you will be assisted by highly professional staff of this hotel in Florence and delighted by the evocative nature of this truly extraordinary location in which luxury and refinement are the predominant features. It is the ideal destination for those seeking the intimacy of a private residence in Florence. The hotel restaurant, Guelfi e Ghibellini, offers innovative, seasonal regional menus. Furthermore, situated within the same building as the Relais Santa Croce is the Enoteca Pinchiorri, a three-star Michelin restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Santa Croce Florence
Relais Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing